We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Guest House!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glede Knowe Guest House
Ranked #1 of 9 Innerleithen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Guest House!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Myself and my two sons had an excellent stay at Glede Knowe recently! Alison and Bill looked after us well - and the breakfasts were fantastic. They are all geared up for bikers, walkers, in fact everyone! Many thanks! We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisoninnerleithen, Owner at Glede Knowe Guest House, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of Glede Knowe. We are delighted you and your sons all enjoyed your stay and also the great mountain biking here in the Borders.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
132
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were a group of 3 couples who stayed for 2 nights at Glede Knowe to do some walking and exploring of this beautiful area. What a find! Accommodation was first class: bedrooms and public rooms are very well appointed, spotless and comfortable. The location is wonderful, beautiful views and so quiet at night, yet close enough for short walk into town for evening meal. We were made to feel most welcome. We were given tea and biscuits in the beautiful lounge when we arrived which was unexpected and lovely. The little extra touches like bottles of water and generous hospitality trays really help to make Glede Knowe stand out from the rest. Breakfasts, as mentioned by others, were fresh, tasty and satisfying. As a group of friends we have stayed all over Scotland and north of England on short breaks and this without doubt is one of the best B & Bs we have been in. What's more we will return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irf20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisoninnerleithen, Owner at Glede Knowe Guest House, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your very positive review of Glede Knowe. We are so glad you enjoyed the walking here in the Scottish Borders as we ourselves do.It was a pleasure to meet you all and we hope to see you again at some future date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here after a 7 day touring Scotland. My husband had already been a few years previous whilst cycling and was eager for the rest if the family to see it. We were not disappointed. Everything from the welcome, the coffee in the lounge, rooms breakfast and departure were world class. I firmly believe you get what you pay for and we truely did. We will going back very soon

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill7398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisoninnerleithen, Owner at Glede Knowe Guest House, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of Glede Knowe. We are delighted that your husband enjoyed his first stay with us and returned with his family and we hope to see you all again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We booked at short notice but had a lovely welcome and a great room. A perfect location for walking and mountain biking not to mention a delicious breakfast. Exceptionally clean and comfortable. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisoninnerleithen, Owner at Glede Knowe Guest House, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write a review of Glede Knowe. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and also the excellent outdoor activites in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is without a doubt the nicest and best B&B I have ever stayed in. B&Bs simply don't get any better.

Alison and Bill are wonderfully friendly and helpful. The house is beautiful. Our room was very spacious and immaculately clean with a superb bathroom and a shower to die for!

The place is very biker friendly with a garage for safe storage and also bike cleaning facilities

And the breakfast? Well, superb. And the little egg cosies are an amusing touch! On the subject of food, the new tiny Indian restaurant in Innerleithen (Saffron?) served probably the nicest curry that we've ever had and the service and surroundings were great. Highly recommend.

We would recommend Glede Knowe without hesitation and will most definitely be visiting again soon.


  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janey_Babes1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisoninnerleithen, Owner at Glede Knowe Guest House, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of Glede Knowe. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and also that you found our little egg cosies fun! We would be delighted to welcome you back to Glede Knowe any time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

On a trip to the Innerleithen music festival in the Scottish Borders I spent a very pleasant three nights at the Glede Knowe guest house. Although I booked online and had nothing to go on other than a feeling this could be the right choice, I was not disappointed. I was welcomed on arrival with a cup of tea and biscuits/cookies in the lounge, brightening a cloudy afternoon. The common room (with books, games, CDs and tourist brochures on local attractions) as well as the guest rooms and bathrooms are tastefully decorated and comfortable, the service excellent. The breakfast (several choices) is copious and delicious, the owners friendly and helpful. The location on a hill overlooking the town is tranquil and the view over the town is stunning.

Room Tip: Some rooms have good wifi connectivity, others less so. There is also a computer in the upstairs hal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hercouthiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisoninnerleithen, Owner at Glede Knowe Guest House, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you for your review of Glede Knowe. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and also the Music Festival which was running over the weekend. We hope you arrived home safely and that we might welcome you back to the Festival next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in a twin room with views to die for;and dogs rabbits and buzzards!Most comfortable and homely rooms with excellent breakfast and tourist facilities. A must for walkers , cyclists or shoppers as Peebles and other Border towns so handy, and gardens such as Kailzie , Traquair or Dawyck. Thank you Bill and Alison.Pat and Nina. Edinburgh.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisoninnerleithen, Owner at Glede Knowe Guest House, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write a review of Glede Knowe. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and also your friend's play at Traquair House. We hope we might welcome you to Glede Knowe again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Innerleithen
5.3 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
7.6 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
4.9 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Best Western Pus Scottish Borders Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
0.3 mi away
Caddon View Country Guest House
2.6 mi away
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glede Knowe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glede Knowe Guest House

Property: Glede Knowe Guest House
Address: 16 St. Ronan's Terrace, Innerleithen EH44 6RB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Innerleithen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Innerleithen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Glede Knowe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Glede Knowe, friendly, high quality accommodation in the village of Innerleithen, near Peebles, in the Scottish Borders. The house sits on an elevated site in an acre of quiet landscaped gardens with ample on-site parking. Rooms are spacious and furnished to the highest of standards and we provide a fresh cooked Scottish or continental breakfast. Ideal centre for touring castles, museums, gardens or a visit to Edinburgh, the capital of Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Glede Knowe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glede Knowe Guest House Innerleithen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing