We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place to stay”
Review of Traquair House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Innerleithen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Traquair House B&B
Ranked #4 of 8 Innerleithen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Beautiful old fairy tale house with large grounds, excellent tea room, driftwood crafts, silver crafts, peacocks, a maze, and run by a lovely lady, Helen who manages the b&b. Accomodation is in luxurious en suite rooms done out with antique furniture. Breakfast is amazing - porridge, full scottish with haggis, as much as you want and absolutely delicious.There is an ancient chapel, a gift shop, and their very own brewery! Also riverside walks.
It is quite pricy but worth it for a special occasion or weekend break. Would be great for a honeymoon. We stayed 2 nights and wished we could have afforded longer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debsi50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 92 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent just one night in this jewel of a house, but are definitely going back for another visit. Despite being the oldest house in Scotland, it is beautifully decorated, clean and very spacious. It is dripping with history-Mary, Queen of Scots stayed here along with many, many other notables of history. Along with the dazzling landscape, maze, gardens and quaint nearby village, it also is a museum! The best thing about Traquair house was Helen-the house keeper and chef. Breakfast was fantastic! We will definitely being staying here on our next visit to Scotland...but not just for one night!

Room Tip: You can view all rooms online to decide which one is just right for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Had a delighful informative and thoroughly enjoyable short break in this inspiring home. Situation is a joy, historic setting quite dramatic and house itself a national treasure. The family history alone is worth the stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blackcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had the opportunity to stay at Traquair House for 2 nights and it was amazing. We received a warm welcome from Helen and was shown to our room (The Blue Room) which was just out of this world. Lots of little touches to make our stay special. Also loved the fact we could enjoy the drawing room next door when the house was closed to the public.
The breakfast was fantastic and had a great variety for all tastes. I can recommend the kippers!
The house is very interesting and the grounds were really stunning. Hopefully we will be able to go back one day as our stay went too fast.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blue Room and it was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeeWillieWilkie0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We very much enjoyed the house and grounds and our daughter particularly enjoyed the maze, one of the best we have ever seen.

However, we regretted eating a light lunch in the restaurant. The small portions of soup were ridiculously over-priced and the children's lunchbox was both far too expensive at over £6, particularly as it contained Happy Shopper branded juice etc.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Lancastrians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have visited a couple of times now on trips back to Scotland with my parents and it is a place we all love. Its our favourite historical place to visit and the house has such a lovely feeling when you're in it. Definitely planning to stay next time we visit from New Zealand.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
Thank Jacqui R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This is one of the oldest inhabited houses in Scotland. Fortunately, one of the ancestors ran out of money and so, unlike many similar properties, this one was never Victorianised. That is what makes it unique.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank spycatcher007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Innerleithen hotels
0.6 mi away
Traquair Arms Hotel
Traquair Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Innerleithen
305 reviews
0.8 mi away
Caddon View Country Guest House
0.8 mi away
The Old Town Hall B & B
The Old Town Hall B & B
#6 of 8 in Innerleithen
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tweedside Hotel
Tweedside Hotel
#5 of 5 in Innerleithen
25 reviews
0.8 mi away
Glede Knowe Guest House
Glede Knowe Guest House
#1 of 8 in Innerleithen
363 reviews
0.7 mi away
St Ronan's Hotel
St Ronan's Hotel
#7 of 8 in Innerleithen
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traquair House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traquair House B&B

Address: Innerleithen EH44 6PW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Innerleithen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Innerleithen
Hotel Class:4 star — Traquair House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Traquair House B&B Innerleithen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing