We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mountain biking heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caddon View Country Guest House
Ranked #2 of 8 Innerleithen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Mountain biking heaven”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Wow what a fabulous weekend a pal and I just had in Scotland, topped off with the most amazing B and B ever !!

I won't bore you with the mountain biking except to say our bikes were tucked away safely at night which is great for us bikers and very important they are looked after as well as ourselves.

This B and B is amazing. Definitely worth the 5 star rating. Lisa you were the most friendly genuine host and it's clear you love your business.

The house is big and with character, decorated with style and makes for a lovely place to stay. Toasty and warm from the front door in which was very welcoming.

Dinner in the evening was purely restaurant style at the top, plenty of food but very nice I have to say and worth every penny of the £20 it cost. Lisa the owner dressed for evening dinner service and after drinks in the sitting room she took us into the dining room when dinner was ready.
Sounds pretentious the way I wrote that but it so isn't but was the best way to describe things !

We made the mistake of eating out on our second night...don't bother as there are hardly any restaurants in town so indulge again as guests is my recommendation.

Thanks so so much for looking after us and well done on a wonderful B and B.

Can't fault and highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mikerobinson68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caddon, Owner at Caddon View Country Guest House, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, we are pleased that you had a good stay and enjoyed your dinner too. As you say, dinner is a relaxed event, but we do think that it's best if Lisa is dressed rather than in her pj!'s - we tried that on one occasion and you wouldn't believe what people said on Trip Advisor.....

Thank you once again for your kind review and we hope to see you back again to explore more of the mountain biking hereabouts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    39
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
33
152
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunkeld, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We arrived after a fairly long journey to a lovely welcome and a chance to relax with a gin and tonic before a wonderful dinner. Very comfortable bedroom and extremely clean facilities. Breakfast was first class and Steve and Lisa obviously have their guests comfort at heart. An ideal place to have a break.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caddon, Owner at Caddon View Country Guest House, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you gin and tonic! We've just added sloe gin to our repertoire, and are planning a gin list which will make it's appearance as soon as we've finished the tedious sampling process. Hic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longhoughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay with Steve and Lisa; it won't be our last.
Extremely clean, our room was spacious and comfortable, a fantastic place to relax. What a treat to be offered a cup of tea and piece of Steve's fabulous cake in the drawing room in arrival! Dinner was absolutely fantastic, as was the breakfast - lovely fresh, homemade and local food.
If you're looking for a relaxing stay with great hosts, look no further!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2020yvesg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caddon, Owner at Caddon View Country Guest House, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
You're going to make us blush now. With respect to the cake, it's a well known fact hereabouts that Steve loves cake, I mean he really loves cake. You'd be surprised how little makes it to the guests, but I try and save some small crumbs for their enjoyment.

It was lovely to see you both again, and for something more restful than the Mighty Deerstalker too. Thanks for your comments, and hope to see you again.

Lisa and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Extremely friendly and helpful owners. Beautifully decorated room. Bed too soft for my partner. Room on the small side. Best breakfast I had in a long time. Only downside is that you had to book dinner two days in advance which we were not aware of when we arrived so we had to go to the local pub for a meal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caddon, Owner at Caddon View Country Guest House, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
It’s sometimes hard to keep a sense of humour when you have your livelihood and long working week summarised for you as 4/5 and 60 words, but we’ll try!!!

Thank you for your review, we are glad that you had a pleasant stay.

We are sorry that, like Goldilocks, the bed was a bit too soft for your partner. We have recently invested in what our supplier calls his ‘top of the toppers’ mattress toppers (he is one for alliteration) as this gives a luxurious feel and generally a good night’s sleep. But as always when something isn’t quite how you’d like it, if you’d let us know we could have removed this with no fuss and the firm mattress underneath would have restored your partners comfort seamlessly. We’d even have tucked you up, offered a hot water bottle and read a goodnight story if that had made you happy; anything to satisfy our customers’ needs.

We’ve recently dealt with room choices and size and would refer you to the extensive response given to Nos6 somewhere below this. We think it’s worth a read.

Which brings me to your ‘downside’ of needing to book for dinner in advance. Sadly, our powers of Extra Sensory Perception are not up to the standard that would have seen us investigated by Mulder and Scully so we do ask people to let us know in advance (just the day before you arrive is normally fine). We do this because some days we’ll have a dozen in for dinner, some days just two, and on some days no-one at all. We need to know how many people want to dine with us so that our local suppliers can harvest the right quantity of mouth-wateringly fresh ingredients that we lovingly craft for those who have asked to dine. This is all on our website, if a guest books by phone they are asked about dining, and every booking without fail receives an email or letter entitled ‘Caddon View - please read’ which lets them know about our ESP problem and that they need to let us know their intentions vis a vis dinner. It’s not in our nature to pick up the rubber truncheon and interrogate every customer with where they intend to eat, and why, though perhaps we should start this. If the email is not read, or as in the case where someone recently provided us with ‘the email address I don’t use’, then again our ESP lets us down. Sorry, we’ll try harder (sits down cross legged and goes into a trance).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

This is an absolute gem of a place, offering wonderful hospitality, great rooms and fine food and drink. And all served up in one of the most beautiful parts of the country. Only downside was that one night wasn't enough...

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank DrWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caddon, Owner at Caddon View Country Guest House, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Caddon View. Please feel free to book in and stay for as many nights as you can - we'd obviously be delighted to see you again.

Lisa and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

I was given a warm welcome and the room was excellent.

The guest house is ideally placed for a quick walk into town.

Location only let down by it being in the town and not on the edge of a mountain - which is purely my personal taste.

The proprietors are refreshingly young and pay great attention to details.

The breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kramdrazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caddon, Owner at Caddon View Country Guest House, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind review - especially the bit about being 'refreshingly young'! So pleased you had a good stay, and with compliments like that, we'd obviously be pleased to see you again.

PS Don't think we can move the mountains, but you can at least see some big hills in all directions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
298 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Caddon House on the back of previous Tripadvisor reviews. We had dropped a relative off at Edinburgh Airport having been staying much further north in the Highlands and wanted somewhere reasonably near for an overnight pit-stop before continuing our journey south.
Caddon View is quite an impressive building and apparently was a Doctors surgery in 1860's.

Our room was at the back of the building, not huge but big enough and clean etc ( apart from the aerosol can of Sure deodorant under the bed!). En-suite bathroom modern, bright with a reasonable albeit electric shower.

We had dinner in the Guest House that evening which was reasonably priced and of a good quality with nicely cooked venison for the main. It's licenced with a resonable selection of wines. We got the impresion that Innerleithen is not over burdened with restaurants.

Breakfast the following morning was good and freshly cooked. We thought the portions slightly disappointing ( "eggs" for example served in the singular, one rasher of bacon etc) and the juice was clearly from a carton. Extra toast was served upon request without any bother.

All in all no problems and we enjoyed our stay here. The service we received was friendly and efficient. Innerleithen itself somewhat underwhelming and don't think we would hurry back but we did discover nearby Traquir Castle which really made our stay in the area and if you like mountain biking the Gkentruss Forest nearby, with coded bike paths and bike hire if lacking your own looked like a worthwhile thing to do.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nos6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caddon, Owner at Caddon View Country Guest House, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
It’s been a long season so forgive us if we have fun with our response.......

Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are not certain who you are and when you stayed so we cannot raise the issue of the errant deodorant can with the relevant lady who does the rooms. Perhaps you’d be good enough to contact us directly and let us know so that we can have her flogged. In any case, thank you for finding it, we were beginning to smell a little.

We are also not sure which room you were in, though from your description it would appear to be a classic double. We do have superior double rooms available as well, though these do cost a little more as they are larger and have better facilities and views. We would always advise guests who are proposing a long stay, or who are planning on spending a great deal of time in their room or who need extra space to swing off the chandeliers that it might be a good idea to invest those extra few pounds to ensure their room meets their needs.

Innerleithen itself is a village of just 3000 souls, and there are a limited number of Michelin starred restaurants within a five minute walking distance of our door (6 minutes and you’d be out the other side of the place). There is an excellent Indian restaurant, two Chinese takeaways, a chip/kebab shop, four pubs, three clubs and a couple of pie shops which means there is plenty of choice. The reason we serve the food that we do is because it’s different from what else is available, so ‘you pay your money and take your choice’. But experience has taught us to ask that you eat any smelly take-aways elsewhere for the comfort of all of our guests – nobody wants to come down to a breakfast room which smells of chicken tikka, well not many people do.

We serve a choice of breakfasts with one, two or even three eggs,or no eggs at all. We conduct our breakfast on a normal customer service basis (unlike utility companies and don’t even get me started on BT); the customer asks for what they would like and we do our best to meet their needs. Sometimes we are floored by a request for a left handed quail’s egg, but we find this approach generally works well.

We are about to change our menu to serve the juice of succulent Scottish Borders oranges, freshly pressed between the thighs of the local shepherd, which we feel sure would be a draw for everyone, and make up for the tourist desert hereabouts.

Which takes us to the local attractions, which your analysis shows to be lacking somewhat. I thought I would add the following:

The countryside over towards St. Mary’s Loch is just an overgrazed desolate wilderness; you’ll meet nobody, see nothing but wildlife, and hear no cars. Nothing to amuse a tourist here.

And the Tweed Valley is notoriously disgusting to look at and the Salmon fishing the worst in Europe by all accounts – nobody comes here for that!

Abbotsford House, home of Sir Walter Scott is just awful now they have built the visitor centre telling his story, serving great food, and the house showcasing his collection is just full of old junk.

Bowhill, Floors Castle, Thirlstane, Mellerstain, Manderston, Paxton House – all rubbish.

Jedburgh, Drybrugh and Melrose Abbeys – just piles of stones. Not to mention Kelso Abbey, so I won’t.

Robert Smail’s print works, boring history of a small inconsequential town, and an old letter press (snort).

Crichton Castle, Flodden Battlefield, Hermitage Castle, Phillipaugh, Smailholm Tower, Rosslyn chapel, the John Buchan centre, Roman Trimontium, Mary Queen of Scots house, Jedburgh Jail – there’s no history of Scotland worth telling here.

And as for the gardens at Melrose, Monteviot, Little Sparta, Kailzie, the botanic gardens at Dawyck – all just weeds and trees.

And for the other worldy, the Tibetan monastery at Samye Ling is just full of hippies.
Sports – the Melrose Sevens are not, repeat not, the birthplace of Rugby Sevens and definitely does not host one of the oldest rugby festivals in the world.

The common ridings are just a few hundred horse riders and town festivals – who could possibly enjoy that, and nobody will ever go.

And don’t even get me started on Eyemouth and St. Abbs, the diving there cannot possibly be better than the barrier reef despite what David Bellamy says. And people never, ever go surfing there.

Nope, nothing worth seeing around here at all apart from Traquair House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Innerleithen
7.8 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
5.6 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
16.3 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
9.6 mi away
Glen Hotel
Glen Hotel
#2 of 5 in Selkirk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caddon View Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caddon View Country Guest House

Property: Caddon View Country Guest House
Address: 14 Pirn Road, Innerleithen EH44 6HH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Innerleithen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Innerleithen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Caddon View Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1850's, Caddon View is an award winning 4* country guest house and restaurant which provides luxurious accommodation in the beautiful Tweed Valley. Relax in our comfortable drawing room with a glass of wine or a dram from our carefully selected list and then dine in our award winning restaurant. Why stay anywhere else when you can have everything you need under one roof. In the morning start your day with a choice from our breakfast menu, even a glass of Bucks Fizz if it's a special occasion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Caddon View Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caddon View Country Guest House Innerleithen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing