We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very welcoming stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caddon View Country Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caddon View Country Guest House
Ranked #2 of 9 Innerleithen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
“A very welcoming stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed at Caddon View along with our dog. My partner left early for work each morning whilst I went walking. Steve and Lisa were very warm and welcoming and recommended a number of dog friendly places to visit as well as a number of lovely walks. The breakfasts were delicious and rooms were very comfortable.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and Buck particularly enjoyed the extra attention he received.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buck b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caddon, Owner at Caddon View Country Guest House, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your words, we were pleased to meet you again, and to meet Buck too. Next time you'll have to arrange for your partner to not be at work (so we might actually see him!). With our very best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    38
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
33
151
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newport -Trefdraeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I had booked on the strength of the previous TA reviews which majored on the warmth of hospitality, comfort and quality of food and wasn't disappointed, I was truly impressed.

From the moment we arrived Lisa and Steve and Lisa made us feel very welcome in their lovely home, nothing was too much trouble. Although my room was on the road side of the building and above the front door it was incredibly quiet, tastefully furnished and had many of the little extras that make being away from home so easy and pleasurable.
No coincidence that most of our fellow guests had been there before. We are already booked in there for the same fishing dates next year so don't leave or sell up please!
Lisa did most of the 'front of house', always cheerfully (still often not the case in Scotland) and very efficiently remembering our little foibles effortlessly. Steve , whilst "Mr Kitchen", was much in evidence and contributed to the welcome and added to the banter as well. He knows how how to cook too, serving imaginatively presented food using carefully sourced local food where possible.
Their "green" credential are excellent too, this couple believe that we can all make a difference if we behave responsibly; they helped us to achieve their goals without it being too much of a chore.
As one of the others said, " See you again next year". Much looking forward to it.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms likely to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jtaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I had a lovely time at Caddon View. The house is elegant and cosy, the rooms are perfect and quiet, the food is exquisite and Linda and Steve are wonderful hosts. Guests also were really interesting sharing conversation in the beautiful library. What a charming place.
24/10/12 Marie H.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We first visited Caddon View not long after Steve and Lisa took on the business and we have returned several times since. From the outset it was obviously their intention to establish a house of quality and style but with a totallyrelaxed atmosphere. They have achieved this and it is underpinned by their genuinely warm hospitality.
All the compliments paid to the comfort and cleanliness of the bedrooms and of the house in general are well deserved as is the praise for the food, both breakfast and dinner. The fixed time for dinner may seem a bit restrictive but with such a small operation one can well understand the reasoning if standards are to be kept high and if you are lucky with the mix of fellow guests a really pleasant dinner party atmosphere may be the result. If it does or roesn't a delve into the well-chosen wine list will help..Never yet had anything less than excellent.As regards breakfast the black pudding and Steve's porridge almost justify a visit on their own.
Our next visit will be like visiting friends and you can't give higher praise.

Room Tip: Have only had one of their superior rooms and they are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Attended a wedding in August and our stay was the icing on the cake. Room were exquisite, food delicious and nothing was too much for the owners. Would thoroughly recommend a stay at the Caddon View. A hidden gem and a pity all B&B's can't reach this standard.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MayLittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I booked at the Caddon View to fulfill my wife's 40th birthday wish. Good food and walking in Scotland. This is the nicest guesthouse we ever stayed in and we have seen many. It gave us lots of new energy but also a calm and relaxed state of mind. I hope this stays with us a forever thinking of Steve and Lisa and the best time we had at Caddon View. I do believe Steve is a better chef than he thinks with his excellent choice of local products and creative and high standard cooking. Lisa is an exceptional host making you feel very welcome and at home. They are both very helpfull and had great knowledge about the walks and sights in the area. We would love to come back some day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Would recommend a stay here if your in the area, Staff are very friendly and helpful. Dinner was good in a relaxed environment. The rooms were well looked after and tastefully decorated.Have no complaints and will stay again when in the area

Room Tip: Dinner is from 7-7:30 would recommend it, however if this doesn't suit there are other places to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claverhouse1689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Innerleithen
5.6 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
7.8 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
8.9 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caddon View Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caddon View Country Guest House

Property: Caddon View Country Guest House
Address: 14 Pirn Road, Innerleithen EH44 6HH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Innerleithen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Innerleithen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Caddon View Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1850's, Caddon View is an award winning 4* country guest house and restaurant which provides luxurious accommodation in the beautiful Tweed Valley. Relax in our comfortable drawing room with a glass of wine or a dram from our carefully selected list and then dine in our award winning restaurant. Why stay anywhere else when you can have everything you need under one roof. In the morning start your day with a choice from our breakfast menu, even a glass of Bucks Fizz if it's a special occasion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Caddon View Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caddon View Country Guest House Innerleithen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing