We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveler rating
117
137
54
31
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
117
137
54
31
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews traquair arms beer garden the owner lovely hotel fish and chips food was lovely full scottish haggis family room exploring the area the pub enjoyable stay great night friendly welcome excellent breakfast porridge mountain biking
Filter
Updating list...
280 - 285 of 362 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here with my partner and our dog for the Saturday and Sunday (13/14 July). Our room was spotless but wee bit on small side for the 3 of us. That said we were rarely in it so managed fine. Very friendly, cosy hotel. Food was excellent and staff very helpful and also friendly. Had a lovely weekend, lots of walking and frisbee games with the dog and relaxing with a cold one in the very pretty beer garden. We will DEFINITELY return before the end of summer. Well done!

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsDocherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Owner at Traquair Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thankyou for your kind comments following your stay with us. We all look forward to welcoming you all back here again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My wife and I had a short break here last week, I cannot state how highly this hotel performed, everything was excellent, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the room excellent. We SHALL be returning.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thepigpen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Owner at Traquair Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thankyou for your lovely comments and I am very happy you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to welcoming you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We really enjoyed our short stay 10th/11th July at The Traquair Arms Hotel; as has been previously said it was spotlessly clean and comfortable and the added extras of water and toiletries in the newly refurbed room all added to the welcome.
we had dinner both evenings and the food was excellent also the whole place (bar, garden and the front) were quite buzzy with guests and locals so had a good atmosphere. The staff were all excellent and friendly. David told us of 2 good walks the scenery was immense, so nice to be in a hotel for a change that has character where the owner takes a real interest in your stay .
Traquair house and Dawyck Botanical Gardens well worth the visit.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirls22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Owner at Traquair Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thankyou for taking the time to write such a nice review. We pride ourselves on our friendly atmosphere and good home cooked food so it was nice to hear you approved. Looking forward to seeing you here again bery soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We are just back from a few days at Traquair Arms Hotel and cant speak highly enough of the staff and the hotel. The hotel and the room was lovely and spotlessly clean, we also appreciated all the added extras, water in the room and lovely toiletries in the bathroom. The food was fantastic, the hotel staff were also really friendly and this added to the family atmosphere. We also loved enjoying the sun in the private beer garden. All in all a great stay, thanks to David and his first class team of staff for everything. Will be definitely be back for another stay.

Marla & Colin Baird ( Ayrshire) visited 16-18 July 2013

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bairdy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Owner at Traquair Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thankyou so much for your lovely comments.We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights of the 8th & 9th of July it was really fantastic,
the room was large and very comfortable, clean & tidy with everything we required. Food and service was excellent, the staff were very friendly. The beer garden is very attractive with plenty
of room for outside eating if required.

Room tip: Front room with nice view of countryside in distance.
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulineharding950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Owner at Traquair Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thankyou very much for your lovely comments. We are all so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews