We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Traquair Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Innerleithen
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stay fri 19th and sat 20th July the hotel was very nice though the front could be nicer there's a lovely beer garden at the back but the front could be better, room was clean and comfortable on suite was very nice with clean towels every day. We ate dinner on sat in the bar food was very good. The only let down was the service at breakfast on sat morning we were the second people down for breakfast and were last to be serve after having to ask if they had forgotten us we were served and told the young waitress had forgotten to put our order in, then sunday was even worse dirty tables every were very little left on the buffet table twice we were asked what we had ordered we complained on leaving to a scruffy dress gentleman who when ask if he was the manager he replied that he was sort of what this means who knows listening to our complaints he just made excuses that the young waitress had been train and had to be leave alone at some point and told us there had been complaints on sat that we're being addressed therefore he was aware but still didn't turn up till after 9.30am I would have thought he should have been on hand to see that it didn't happen again. This spoiled a very nice weekend. The town itself was very nice and the local people very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Owner at Traquair Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review and for your comments. I am really sorry to hear of your bad breakfast experience and will make sure that doesnt happen again. Looking forward to seeing you here in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 303 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here with my partner and our dog for the Saturday and Sunday (13/14 July). Our room was spotless but wee bit on small side for the 3 of us. That said we were rarely in it so managed fine. Very friendly, cosy hotel. Food was excellent and staff very helpful and also friendly. Had a lovely weekend, lots of walking and frisbee games with the dog and relaxing with a cold one in the very pretty beer garden. We will DEFINITELY return before the end of summer. Well done!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsDocherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Owner at Traquair Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thankyou for your kind comments following your stay with us. We all look forward to welcoming you all back here again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My wife and I had a short break here last week, I cannot state how highly this hotel performed, everything was excellent, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the room excellent. We SHALL be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thepigpen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Owner at Traquair Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thankyou for your lovely comments and I am very happy you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to welcoming you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We really enjoyed our short stay 10th/11th July at The Traquair Arms Hotel; as has been previously said it was spotlessly clean and comfortable and the added extras of water and toiletries in the newly refurbed room all added to the welcome.
we had dinner both evenings and the food was excellent also the whole place (bar, garden and the front) were quite buzzy with guests and locals so had a good atmosphere. The staff were all excellent and friendly. David told us of 2 good walks the scenery was immense, so nice to be in a hotel for a change that has character where the owner takes a real interest in your stay .
Traquair house and Dawyck Botanical Gardens well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirls22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Owner at Traquair Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thankyou for taking the time to write such a nice review. We pride ourselves on our friendly atmosphere and good home cooked food so it was nice to hear you approved. Looking forward to seeing you here again bery soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We are just back from a few days at Traquair Arms Hotel and cant speak highly enough of the staff and the hotel. The hotel and the room was lovely and spotlessly clean, we also appreciated all the added extras, water in the room and lovely toiletries in the bathroom. The food was fantastic, the hotel staff were also really friendly and this added to the family atmosphere. We also loved enjoying the sun in the private beer garden. All in all a great stay, thanks to David and his first class team of staff for everything. Will be definitely be back for another stay.

Marla & Colin Baird ( Ayrshire) visited 16-18 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bairdy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Owner at Traquair Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thankyou so much for your lovely comments.We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights of the 8th & 9th of July it was really fantastic,
the room was large and very comfortable, clean & tidy with everything we required. Food and service was excellent, the staff were very friendly. The beer garden is very attractive with plenty
of room for outside eating if required.

Room Tip: Front room with nice view of countryside in distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulineharding950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Owner at Traquair Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thankyou very much for your lovely comments. We are all so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were disappointed when we first saw the bedroom because it was very austere, but everything was clean and the bed was comfortable. There were two huge cracks in the ceiling and what looked like makeup stains on the curtains. We were provided with bottles of water, tea, coffee and sugar each day. However, there was no socket anywhere near the kettle and we had to boil the kettle sitting on the floor. The towels were of a good quality but unfortunately, the shaving light didn't come on in the bathroom.

As there were no vegetarian sausages, hash browns or potato scones, we chose scrambled eggs on toast. This was excellent on the first morning, but very disappointing the following day.

The staff were very friendly and approachable, the bar was good but we wouldn't choose to stay at the Traquair Arms again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Manager at Traquair Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review and I am sorry you found your stay less than satisfactory. We are an old old building with many cracks and creaks. We are slowly refurbishing the rooms but as we are so busy some jobs will be left until quieter times ie ceilings ! I will pass your comments on about breakfast and the availability of vegetarian foods. Hopefully you will come and visit the Scottish Borders again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Innerleithen
5 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
2,113 reviews
8.9 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
5.3 mi away
The Park
The Park
#5 of 8 in Peebles
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
9.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
7.7 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traquair Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traquair Arms Hotel

Address: Traquair Road, Innerleithen EH44 6PD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Innerleithen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Innerleithen
Price Range: $66 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Traquair Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Traquair Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traquair Arms Hotel Innerleithen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing