We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveler rating
112
132
54
31
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
112
132
54
31
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstraquair armsbeer gardenthe ownerlovely hotelfish and chipsfood was lovelystaff were lovelyhaggisexploring the areathe pubfamily roomfriendly welcomeshort breakfull scottish breakfastan evening mealhigh standardmountain biking
Filter
Updating list...
270 - 275 of 350 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We really enjoyed our short stay 10th/11th July at The Traquair Arms Hotel; as has been previously said it was spotlessly clean and comfortable and the added extras of water and toiletries in the newly refurbed room all added to the welcome.
we had dinner both evenings and the food was excellent also the whole place (bar, garden and the front) were quite buzzy with guests and locals so had a good atmosphere. The staff were all excellent and friendly. David told us of 2 good walks the scenery was immense, so nice to be in a hotel for a change that has character where the owner takes a real interest in your stay .
Traquair house and Dawyck Botanical Gardens well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirls22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Owner at Traquair Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thankyou for taking the time to write such a nice review. We pride ourselves on our friendly atmosphere and good home cooked food so it was nice to hear you approved. Looking forward to seeing you here again bery soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We are just back from a few days at Traquair Arms Hotel and cant speak highly enough of the staff and the hotel. The hotel and the room was lovely and spotlessly clean, we also appreciated all the added extras, water in the room and lovely toiletries in the bathroom. The food was fantastic, the hotel staff were also really friendly and this added to the family atmosphere. We also loved enjoying the sun in the private beer garden. All in all a great stay, thanks to David and his first class team of staff for everything. Will be definitely be back for another stay.

Marla & Colin Baird ( Ayrshire) visited 16-18 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bairdy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Owner at Traquair Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thankyou so much for your lovely comments.We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights of the 8th & 9th of July it was really fantastic,
the room was large and very comfortable, clean & tidy with everything we required. Food and service was excellent, the staff were very friendly. The beer garden is very attractive with plenty
of room for outside eating if required.

Room Tip: Front room with nice view of countryside in distance.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulineharding950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Owner at Traquair Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thankyou very much for your lovely comments. We are all so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were disappointed when we first saw the bedroom because it was very austere, but everything was clean and the bed was comfortable. There were two huge cracks in the ceiling and what looked like makeup stains on the curtains. We were provided with bottles of water, tea, coffee and sugar each day. However, there was no socket anywhere near the kettle and we had to boil the kettle sitting on the floor. The towels were of a good quality but unfortunately, the shaving light didn't come on in the bathroom.

As there were no vegetarian sausages, hash browns or potato scones, we chose scrambled eggs on toast. This was excellent on the first morning, but very disappointing the following day.

The staff were very friendly and approachable, the bar was good but we wouldn't choose to stay at the Traquair Arms again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Manager at Traquair Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review and I am sorry you found your stay less than satisfactory. We are an old old building with many cracks and creaks. We are slowly refurbishing the rooms but as we are so busy some jobs will be left until quieter times ie ceilings ! I will pass your comments on about breakfast and the availability of vegetarian foods. Hopefully you will come and visit the Scottish Borders again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My partner an I stayed for the weekend of 15/16 June 2013. The staff were welcoming upon arrival. The room was very large, clean and tidy. The evening meals and service were excellent and a healthy breakfast each day ensured we were ready for long walks during the day exploring the area. An ideal base to visit he surrounding local towns, Peebles in particular. Would certainly stop there again.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Owner at Traquair Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review after your stay. I am really pleased you enjoyed your time here and look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews