We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Traquair Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Innerleithen
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We really enjoyed our short stay 10th/11th July at The Traquair Arms Hotel; as has been previously said it was spotlessly clean and comfortable and the added extras of water and toiletries in the newly refurbed room all added to the welcome.
we had dinner both evenings and the food was excellent also the whole place (bar, garden and the front) were quite buzzy with guests and locals so had a good atmosphere. The staff were all excellent and friendly. David told us of 2 good walks the scenery was immense, so nice to be in a hotel for a change that has character where the owner takes a real interest in your stay .
Traquair house and Dawyck Botanical Gardens well worth the visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirls22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Owner at Traquair Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to write such a nice review. We pride ourselves on our friendly atmosphere and good home cooked food so it was nice to hear you approved. Looking forward to seeing you here again bery soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    108
    47
    24
    16
See reviews for
31
179
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ayrshire
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We are just back from a few days at Traquair Arms Hotel and cant speak highly enough of the staff and the hotel. The hotel and the room was lovely and spotlessly clean, we also appreciated all the added extras, water in the room and lovely toiletries in the bathroom. The food was fantastic, the hotel staff were also really friendly and this added to the family atmosphere. We also loved enjoying the sun in the private beer garden. All in all a great stay, thanks to David and his first class team of staff for everything. Will be definitely be back for another stay.

Marla & Colin Baird ( Ayrshire) visited 16-18 July 2013

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bairdy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Owner at Traquair Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thankyou so much for your lovely comments.We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarisbrick. Ormskirk
2 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights of the 8th & 9th of July it was really fantastic,
the room was large and very comfortable, clean & tidy with everything we required. Food and service was excellent, the staff were very friendly. The beer garden is very attractive with plenty
of room for outside eating if required.

Room Tip: Front room with nice view of countryside in distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulineharding950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Owner at Traquair Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thankyou very much for your lovely comments. We are all so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were disappointed when we first saw the bedroom because it was very austere, but everything was clean and the bed was comfortable. There were two huge cracks in the ceiling and what looked like makeup stains on the curtains. We were provided with bottles of water, tea, coffee and sugar each day. However, there was no socket anywhere near the kettle and we had to boil the kettle sitting on the floor. The towels were of a good quality but unfortunately, the shaving light didn't come on in the bathroom.

As there were no vegetarian sausages, hash browns or potato scones, we chose scrambled eggs on toast. This was excellent on the first morning, but very disappointing the following day.

The staff were very friendly and approachable, the bar was good but we wouldn't choose to stay at the Traquair Arms again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Manager at Traquair Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to write a review and I am sorry you found your stay less than satisfactory. We are an old old building with many cracks and creaks. We are slowly refurbishing the rooms but as we are so busy some jobs will be left until quieter times ie ceilings ! I will pass your comments on about breakfast and the availability of vegetarian foods. Hopefully you will come and visit the Scottish Borders again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

My partner an I stayed for the weekend of 15/16 June 2013. The staff were welcoming upon arrival. The room was very large, clean and tidy. The evening meals and service were excellent and a healthy breakfast each day ensured we were ready for long walks during the day exploring the area. An ideal base to visit he surrounding local towns, Peebles in particular. Would certainly stop there again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Owner at Traquair Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to write a review after your stay. I am really pleased you enjoyed your time here and look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed in one of the self contained converted stables for 2 nights. The accommodation was very roomy but lacked a sense of real quality. The surrounding area was great, perfect for cycling (all ability levels) and the staff at the Traquair Arms provided some useful information about suitable routes. We ate in the bar / restaurant area on the evening we arrived and were slightly disappointed with the food - scampi that was a bit soggy and cottage pie that could have done with its top browned.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HansG73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Owner at Traquair Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thankyou for your comments after your recent stay with us. I have just undertaken a refurbishment of the cottages so hopefully they will be more to your liking. I am disappointed that you didnt enjoy your food as we pride ourselves on our homecooked meals. I will pass your comments onto the Chefs. Hopefully we will see you back here again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blyth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at the above hotel last weekend for two nights and upon arriving thought the outside of the building looked a little austere but once inside our opinion changed immediately as the welcome we received from Christian was very friendly and accommodating. We went to our room and were amazed at the size of the bedroom and bathroom and the decor and cleanliness were very good. We had our evening meals in the restaurant and the food was excellent as was the service. All the staff were pleasant and helpful and we will have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and would definitely stay there again ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emandclive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Owner at Traquair Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thankyou for your lovely comments following your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on our warm welcoming hospitality and good food so it is pleasing that you enjoyed your stay and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Innerleithen
5.0 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
1,920 reviews
5.4 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
8.9 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
740 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
413 reviews
14.2 mi away
Black Bull Hotel
Black Bull Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lauder
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traquair Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traquair Arms Hotel

Property: Traquair Arms Hotel
Address: Traquair Road, Innerleithen EH44 6PD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Innerleithen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Innerleithen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Traquair Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traquair Arms Hotel Innerleithen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing