We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveler rating
112
132
54
31
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
112
132
54
31
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstraquair armsbeer gardenthe ownerlovely hotelfish and chipsfood was lovelystaff were lovelyhaggisexploring the areathe pubfamily roomfriendly welcomeshort breakfull scottish breakfastan evening mealhigh standardmountain biking
Filter
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 350 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed in one of the self contained converted stables for 2 nights. The accommodation was very roomy but lacked a sense of real quality. The surrounding area was great, perfect for cycling (all ability levels) and the staff at the Traquair Arms provided some useful information about suitable routes. We ate in the bar / restaurant area on the evening we arrived and were slightly disappointed with the food - scampi that was a bit soggy and cottage pie that could have done with its top browned.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HansG73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Owner at Traquair Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thankyou for your comments after your recent stay with us. I have just undertaken a refurbishment of the cottages so hopefully they will be more to your liking. I am disappointed that you didnt enjoy your food as we pride ourselves on our homecooked meals. I will pass your comments onto the Chefs. Hopefully we will see you back here again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at the above hotel last weekend for two nights and upon arriving thought the outside of the building looked a little austere but once inside our opinion changed immediately as the welcome we received from Christian was very friendly and accommodating. We went to our room and were amazed at the size of the bedroom and bathroom and the decor and cleanliness were very good. We had our evening meals in the restaurant and the food was excellent as was the service. All the staff were pleasant and helpful and we will have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and would definitely stay there again ourselves.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emandclive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Owner at Traquair Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thankyou for your lovely comments following your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on our warm welcoming hospitality and good food so it is pleasing that you enjoyed your stay and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed there 2 nights in a huge room. Very clean, unobtrusive but pleasant and friendly service, private, good quality tv and the food - the salmon we had for dinner was first class! A very pleasant stay in lovely scenery and loads to do in the area. I'd be happy to visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRB5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Owner at Traquair Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay. I am really pleased you enjoyed your time with us and would love to see you return in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Cannot comment on hotel as we stayed in "cottage", I.E. very shoddily converted stable at rear.
The overall impression was that these buildings have been very cheaply furnished with poor standard of furnishings and fittings considering the (not cheap) rates.
On approach, weeds and dead plants, wires sticking out of unfinished light sockets, bird droppings on windows and worn, frayed and unsafe doormats. Had to try key in all locks as no numbers on doors.
Inside were the cheapest of futons and flat pack furniture, one tiny pedal bin for whole cottage, empty used shampoo and shower gel bottles left on floor and not even a proper wardrobe in bedroom.
The Welcome Pack advertised on the website was not provided.
Staff in main hotel were friendly and helpful, however we were left feeling ripped off. We have stayed in cottages in an establishment not far away for the same rate several times over the past 18 months and facilities were vastly superior.
We did leave this feedback on our departure, however the owner appears disinterested.
Would not recommend or return.

Room Tip: Do not stay in cottages as they are not of an acceptable standard.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Owner at Traquair Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

I am disappointed that you found your stay less than satisfactory.I took all your comments on board from the note you left at the front desk and have just undertaken a refurbishment/ review of the cottages and have redecorated and bought new equipment and furnishings as per some of your suggestions.
I would be happy to see you return to have a look at what I have done in response to your criticsims.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I have never stayed overnight at the "The Traq" but have stopped by for a beer many times. It sells reat local ale, provides good service, and in winter has a roaring fire to greet you. My idea of a pub; can't fault it.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Chiantibeatle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Owner at Traquair Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thankyou for taking the time to add such a lovely comment about our Pub/Hotel. Look forward to seeing you again very soon and hopefully when its warm and sunny.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews