We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“perfection!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of ROSE COTTAGE

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Port Logan, Mull of Galloway, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

whatapex
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“perfection!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

What can I say? Our 2 week stay at rose cottage was wonderful, great hosts,the cottage was perfectly clean in all respects, a great location for walking, cycling, fishing, birdwatching etc. Plenty of nice, fluffy towels, nice hot shower, well equipped kitchen, lovely living room with nice TV, DVD, CD player, loads of well selected books, CD's and DVD's. Not that we watched much TV, far too busy walking and fishing! The garden is beautiful with a who's who of garden birds visiting. Great to sit out, access directly from the back of the house is down several steps which we had no problems with despite us both having knee problems. If steps are an issue then you can access the garden through a gate and across a lawn, simples! Can't wait to go back!

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, so relaxing!
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind.....
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2015
Many thanks for a great review. So glad your holiday was a success.

Kind regards Steve and Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 25, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: location
Liked least: steps into garden
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 26, 2013
I am sorry you were unhappy with the access. You never mentioned anything during your visit.
We do have easy access at the front door with seating at the front of the cottage.
Thank you for your review we will checkout the wording and change to suit.
Regards Steve and Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ray S
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sheer Bliss”
Reviewed August 21, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage was well equiped and very clean with a king size bed.
We were pleasantly surprised at the total quietness of the area.
Nice panoramic view of open fields to the rear of the cottage and well kept Garden.
A bird watchers paradise with a pair birds constantly feeding their young in a hole in the garden wall.
It was a 10 min walk down to the Beach of flat sand and a few sand dunes. and a 20 mins walk back
Everyone we spoke to in the area were very friendly.
All in all a very relaxing break We will return to this cottage in the future.

Date of stay: May 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Total peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2015
Many thanks for your kind review.
We always appreciate our customers feedback.

Kind regards Steve and Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emgeef
Halesowen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect location for all of our holiday requirements.”
Reviewed May 24, 2011 for a stay in May 2011
3
people found this review helpful

Rose Cottage was clean,tidy & well equipped with everything you need.
Situated in a quiet & peacefull location this is an ideal base for exploring this lovley area with plenty of walks,beach's,gardens & many other items of interest to visit.
Helpful & friendly owners ensure you have a warm welcome & a enjoyable stay.
We shall return!!.

Date of stay: May 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2013
Many thanks for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Rose Cottage.

Kind Regards Steve and Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALEKSANDR...
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2020 for a stay in August 2020
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2020
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United States
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.