We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect relaxation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Logan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kirkbride Farm Holiday Cottages
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We stayed for a week in the millwheel cottage and had the most wonderful time. The cottage is beautiful with every need catered for. The views from the living room and sun room are breathtaking and it was a struggle to leave! Port Logan is a lovely little village and the sunset from the Port Logan Inn beer garden made a perfect end to the day! Great base for exploring the area and the climate is so un-scottish that we barely had any rain! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annenelson50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Kirkbride Farm Holiday Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 70 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2010

This is our seventh visit to Kirkbride Farm but our first stay at the brand new Milwheel Cottage. For us it is magic because it has the best views so far and marvellous accommodation. The open plan style of living is really conducive to creating a thoroughly social atmosphere and we just love it!! The tiled floors throughout give a really spacious feel to the cottage and any chilly days would soon be transformed thanks to the underfloor heating, the log burner and the ample supply of logs.

We have stayed previously in the Cott House and Inchmalloch House and for different reasons we have loved our holidays in both of them, hence the reason that we keep coming back. There is no doubt that the views from all the properties are superb and whilst the Cott House is cosy and charming, Inchmalloch is pure luxury on a grand scale.

When we arrived we were welcomed with the usual complimentary champagne, chocolates and flowers but a highlight of this visit was the egg delivery by the ‘lesser Kirkbride eggman’ alias Rhett. Aileen and Matthew have made us as welcome as ever and provided all the usual finishing touches i.e. denby crockery and glasses, robes and slippers, endless fluffy towels together with all the everyday necessities such as kitchen rolls, kitchen foil, dishwasher tabs and washing tabs - the list just goes on and on !!

Frank has yet again enjoyed the trout fishing in both the top and bottom pools and has even ventured into Luce Bay on his newly acquired sit on fishing Kayak. We have eaten at our usual favourites the Tigh Ne Mara at Sandhead, the restaurant at Corsewall Lighthouse and the Waterfront at Port Patrick but this time we have also tried Campbells at Port Patrick and the food was superb, in particular the avocado and crab starter, it was to die for. We have visited most of our usual haunts such as the Mull, Port Patrick and Stranraer but this time we have also driven up to Girvan and Ayr and as well as walking on the beaches at Drummore, New England Bay and Ardwell Bay we have enjoyed exploring some of the more inaccessible beaches such as Broadsea Bay and Drumbreddan Bay.

We have had such a good time in fact that we booked Milwheel Cottage for our next holiday prior to leaving.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrankandJacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

This is our fourth visit to the superb 5 star accommodation of Inchmalloch House and the views from all the rooms continue to amaze us, the accommodation is pure luxury and the facilities are fantastic. We particularly love the social space in the kitchen, we have had some great times sat around the big table eating, drinking and talking and during these times we have enjoyed looking out at the magnificent views whilst eating and drinking from the lovely Denby crockery and Denby wine glasses.

There is nothing nicer on a sunny morning than to relax in the sun room with a cup of tea or coffee whilst reading a good book and listening to some music or in the evening to catch up with a bit of television in the lounge. During our winter breaks we loved the feel of the tiled floors on our bare feet, which is thanks to the very efficient under floor heating which can be controlled room by room, and we also loved the log burning stove as this made the large lounge feel very cosy.

Many of the fixtures and fittings in Inchmalloch have the wow factor but particularly the vaulted ceiling and the floor length window in the lounge and the slipper bath and the other fittings in the main bathroom.

Aileen and Matthew make you feel so welcome and the complimentary bottle of champagne, chocolates, fresh eggs and flowers waiting for you when you arrive are a really thoughtful and welcoming touch. They have catered for your every need and nothing has been forgotten even down to the supply of such mundane items as dishwasher and washing tablets etc. In fact to Aileen and Matthew their guests enjoyment and well being are paramount and nothing is too much trouble for either of them.

If you don’t want to go far you can enjoy a leisurely stroll along the beach at Port Logan followed by a drink and a meal at the Port Logan Inn or if you want to go further afield try a drive up to the lighthouse at Corsewall and have a superb meal in the cosy ambience of the hotel’s dining room, or take a day trip to Belfast from Stranraer. The coffee shop at the Mull and the tea room in Sandhead are both worth a visit as is the Tigh Ne Mara restaurant in Sandhead and you could also try the Clashwhanon in Drummore. We would also highly recommended the farm tour as it is really interesting.

All in all this is truly a fantastic place to spend a holiday and we will definitely be back again for more.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvansHarbronClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

We stayed at Inchmalloch House, and it was sensational. We were warmly welcomed by a lovely family, and introduced to the house. No expense has been spared here, and no wonder it has five stars. Nothing has been forgotten. A wine cooler; underfloor heating; fabulous tiled flooring; a state-of-the-art woodburner.........the list is endless. Free-range eggs seem to be part of the deal, as is the farm trail in a 4-wheel drive, and fishing in the lakes.

The views from the house are of two different seas, on one side the Irish Sea and out of the other windows is Luce Bay which looks amazing at night with the beacons and buoys flashing. The sky has more stars than Hollywood.............and all you can hear is.....nothing!! What a place for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baronessSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2010

This is our second visit to the charming cosy Cott House and the views from all the rooms and in particular the conservatory have taken our breath away yet again, the accommodation is really comfortable and the facilities are superb everything you need to make a holiday enjoyable either staying in or being out and about, whatever the weather. Everything is provided for your everyday needs including logs for the fire, kitchen rolls, dishwasher tabs etc, in fact you don't need to bring anything with you, other than clothes, toiletries and any food you want to eat.

Matthew and Aileen make you feel so welcome and they really encourage you to take an interest in the farm and its surroundings, in fact during our first visit and thanks to Matthew, my husband re-kindled his love of fishing. Using the fishing tackle supplied for the use of guests he had a really enjoyable time and managed to catch 4 superb rainbow trout from the top pool. He gave the biggest one to Matthew and Aileen as a thank you, two were put in the farm freezer so we could take them home in our cool box at the end of the holiday and one was eaten fresh during a lovely evening sat out on the patio and it was delicious. During this visit my husband has yet again enjoyed his early morning and late evening fishing sessions however, this time with his own newly acquired fishing tackle and this time he has also tried the delights of fishing the bottom pool.

We really enjoy our days here walking our dogs on one of the lovely beaches in the area, visiting the different attractions such as the lighthouse at the Mull of Galloway, the many gardens including Logan Botanic Gardens and the Logan Fish Pond etc. We also enjoy visiting the other little towns and villages such as Sandhead, Drummore, Port Patrick and not forgetting Stranraer where you can get a ferry for a day trip to Belfast. After a bracing walk on the beach there is nothing nicer than stopping for a pint and a spot of lunch at the Port Logan Inn or after a tour of the Mull lighthouse calling in at the Mull coffee shop for a latte and a snack.

In the evening we enjoy either eating out at one of the local restaurants such as the Tigh Ne Mara at Sandhead or just staying in and having a barbeque on the patio or a meal in the conversvatory looking out at the magnificent views. Whatever you choose to do, we feel you will enjoy it just as much as we do.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankandJacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

What a beautiful place.........the cottage is even more stunning than the website portrays. The cottage is modern throughout and the furnishings are top notch; there is every luxury you would expect of a 5 star hotel and more. Lovely robes, slippers, fluffy towels and beautiful linens. The Kitchen is 1st class, and there isnt anything you could want for. Every appliance, every piece of crockery & every piece of cutlery is top of the range. The living room has stunning views and is made all the much better by the beautiful wood burner and comfortable sofas. There is wooden floors throughout, which give the house a real warmth. The two ensuite bedrooms are a plus, and the master bathroom has a fabulous Spa Bath in it!
The Sun room is stunning, I spent every morning in here having my first cup of tea of the day, just watching the world go by, which is mainly made up of cows, hares & the horse. You can see the sea from just about every window, and where it isnt the sea, it is the beautiful rambling hillsides. Aileen and Matt are the most welcoming hosts, nothing is too much.........our kids loved being able to walk down to the farm each day, go pick up fresh eggs, feed the lambs and would love to see if another calve had been born. Aileen makes sure that you want for nothing. The champagne, chocolates and fresh flowers on arrival add that special touch. This is like no other cottage I have stayed in before and cant wait to go back. Aileen and Matt have put so much effort into what they do on the farm, and they should be very proud of it. Heavenly!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thompsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2010

We stayed at Dundrum Cottage in January 2010 for a week. We can only agree with all the comments in the other positive reviewers - but we particulary loved the high quality showers, the views, the log stove and especially the generosity with which the owners have set up this cottage (we loved drinking champagne from crystal glasses while admiring the view from the sunroom).
One thing which hasn't been mentioned is the nearby Galloway Forest Park which was recently awarded Dark Sky Status. It's worth noting it is an easy drive of under an hour to get to the heart of the park from the cottage. Here is a link to some info about stargazing in the park : http://www.forestry.gov.uk/darkskygalloway
Highly recommended.
Jacalyn Leedham & Kieran Sweeney

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Choosytraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kirkbride Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkbride Farm Holiday Cottages

Address: Kirkbride Farm, Port Logan DG9 9NP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Mull of Galloway > Port Logan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Port Logan
Price Range: $514 - $2,230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first Five star self-catering properties in Dumfries and Galloway with fantastic sea views, situated in the heart of a dairy farm with,large fishing ponds, ancient woodland and superb countryside walks. The Dundrum and Inchmalloch have four bedrooms, two with en suite. The Millwheel is a three bedroom one with en suite and a open plan living space.The Cotthouse is a cosy two bedroom cottage all with sea views. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing