We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Millwheel cottage”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Logan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kirkbride Farm Holiday Cottages
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Millwheel cottage”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The best 5 star self catering accommodation I have stayed in. In fact compared to some of the others it deserves a 6 star rating. Friendly helpful hosts, a great location and a superb property. How I wish that all deemed 5 star properties were as good it would make choosing where to stay a much more pleasurable experience but very few will match Kirkbride Farm Cottages whichever property you choose. Eating out in Portpatrick and Sandhead (Campbells and Tigh Na Mara) is superb. All in all a wonderful place to have a holiday.

Room Tip: I think that Millwheel cottage has the best views but all are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We've just returned from two weeks staying at the Dundrum Cottage. The cottage is well-deserving of its five star rating, well-equipped, modern and spacious yet cosy at the same time. It's one of the very few cottages we've stayed in which completely matches its marketing photos and description! The spa bath, Wifi, Sky subscription and wine chiller all work!

We stayed as a group of two adults and two children (6 and nearly 3). The children were constantly entertained by the cows who regularly trotted by the cottage (safely behind a sturdy fence!), as well as the odd hare which appeared from time to time. They also loved playing with the owners' children who were very hospitable, sharing their trampoline and showing them around the farm. They also enjoyed learning about the animals as Aileen kindly told us all about them and encouraged them to get involved.

The area itself is very quiet and a true 'get away from it all' destination. It's not the place to visit if you want to have constant 'entertainment' at your finger tips. But it is a place to visit if you like quiet, sandy beaches, beautiful walks, fresh air and relaxation!

We had a few day trips, including visiting the Cocoa Bean Company (which was very popular with the children as well as us, so much so that we went twice!). The Galloway Forest Park was well-worth the trip too. It was a beautiful place with lots to see.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 007Marshmallow007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Quite simply the best self-catering package we have experienced.
Attentive and welcoming hosts - accomodation superb - views stunning.
Aileen and Matt are a dynamic couple and make a great team.
Matt is sensitively developing a nature trail and path for families to enjoy adjacent to the Farm at the Grennan Plantation - this is a real plus for guests as it will join the Mull of Galloway Trail running along the East coast of the Rhins shortly. A perfect introduction to Western Galloway for us and an ideal coastal retreat. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have just spent a long weekend at the Cotthouse - perfect for me, my husband and our 2 whippets. It was a dog-based break and was fantastic - lovely weather, great beach walks, a wander round the very picturesque Ardwell pond, picnics and a really nice meal at Tigh na Mara in Sandhead. The cottage was lovely, warm and well designed for maximum views of the beautiful coast and countryside. Ailleen showed us around the stunning Inchmalloch house as well - we'll definitely be back with the whole family!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BevAskew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic time in this fabulous house. We were staying as a family of five with a 7yr old, 2yr old and a 6 week old baby plus grandparents. The house had everything we needed and more. Aileen and Matt were lovely and our boys made firm friends with Ivan and Rhett. We've already booked to come back, but to be honest we didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petermaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just returned from a short break at Millwheel cottage which was simply stunning! Warm welcome on arrival by Aileen which immediately made us feel at home - can't thank yourself and Matthew enough for the time you spent with us and giving us an insight into farm life - we were in our element, especially Katy (she had a ball). Amazing cottage, views, weather and hosts - we had it all! Can't wait to return!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Clare0481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013

you will not find better hosts than Aileen and Matty, they are the nicest people you'll ever meet, even in the middle of a water supply disaster affecting most of southern Scotland, they came up trumps!, and their property lives up to all expectations. We holiday as a group of friends often and were all over the moon with our stay in Dundrum. Everything we needed was at hand and the spa bath was a welcome treat at the end of the day. The views are lovely, even in the mist and our invite to join the locals at their Burns' Night was a fantastic experience.
Good dining just up the road in Portpatrick and Stranraer a little further.
Come, stay here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 1974facup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Logan
11.4 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
331 reviews
6.2 mi away
Tigh Na Mara Hotel
Tigh Na Mara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandhead
195 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mull of Galloway Holidays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkbride Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkbride Farm Holiday Cottages

Property: Kirkbride Farm Holiday Cottages
Address: Kirkbride Farm, Port Logan DG9 9NP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Mull of Galloway > Port Logan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Port Logan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first Five star self-catering properties in Dumfries and Galloway with fantastic sea views, situated in the heart of a dairy farm with,large fishing ponds, ancient woodland and superb countryside walks. The Dundrum and Inchmalloch have four bedrooms, two with en suite. The Millwheel is a three bedroom one with en suite and a open plan living space.The Cotthouse is a cosy two bedroom cottage all with sea views. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing