We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, warm and very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St John's House B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Cononley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We searched for a nice bed and breakfast in the Skipton area, before travelling onto the Tempest Arms in Elslack.
What we didn't expect was such a fantastically warm and friendly place as St Johns in Cononley. From the moment we arrived, Kath made every effort to make our short stay a memorable one.
Our room on the top floor was stunning, with a wonderful shower area and immaculately clean bathroom and bed space. Whilst we were very impressed with the room and house in general, what made our stay special was the little extras the owners provided, such as home made cakes in the room, super comfy bath robes and very posh toiletries !
I fully recommend St Johns b&b as a wonderful place to stay in fantastic surroundings.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireBoy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath C, Owner at St John's House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

What a lovely review! Thank you very much for taking the time to write one. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments. Best wishes, The Clarks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 196 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

We spent 3 lovely days at St John's. On arrival, Kath made us feel very weclome. After showing us to our beautiful room with fantastic views and a very smart bathroom, she ran back up with a tray of homemade biscuits and milk for our tea. The next morning we enjoyed a great breakfast with gorgeous ginger fruit compot whilst watching Doug dig the garden down by the hens. Biscuits or cake were offered each day .... we couldn't refuse they were too nice!! Overall, a lovely place to stay - thank you - and thanks to Evie and Fergus for helping out at breakfast. We would definitely recommend this B&B for its location as well as comfort.

Room Tip: There are two rooms, One has is for families and has been subdivided so the children have their own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizandGuy500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath C, Owner at St John's House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you so much for the smashing review....a day in the life of the Clarks! We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay - we enjoyed having you to stay. All the best, from all of us x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed for three nights and would really recommend St John's House B&B. The family room was brilliant for us and our daughter: spacious and spotless with marvellous views and plenty of toys for her. We were very well taken of and greatly enjoyed our breakfasts every morning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath C, Owner at St John's House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We're delighted you had an enjoyable time with us and that the family room met all your needs. We enjoyed having you to stay and send our best wishes to you all x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Our 9 night stay at St Johns Guest House was so comfortable and welcoming. We really enjoyed ourselves, the location was perfect, situated in a beautiful village with good rail and road links for exploring the Yorkshire Dales and getting to Leeds and Harrogate. Our room was amazing - it was spacious, clean, well-equipped, with lovely views and excellent Wifi. We would certainly recommend it. The breakfasts were lovely. We especially enjoyed the homemade biscuits and cakes - they were divine. Special thanks to Fergus for his excellent service skills over the weekend. April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJC44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath C, Owner at St John's House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you very much for the wonderful comments and for taking the time to write a review. We're delighted you had a restful time with us....and enjoyed the biscuits and cake! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Very best wishes, from the Clarks x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I rarely write reviews but this B&B is exceptional and people deserve to know about. I was travelling alone on this occasion and felt it was a safe and welcoming place to relax and enjoy some home comforts. The accommodation is beautiful and the location great. Rooms are light, airy and very clean. Lovely view over the valley and excellent breakfasts. Can highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: Although I was travelling solo I had to take the family room as the double room was booked. Bonus fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath C, Owner at St John's House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

You're very welcome! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I'm so pleased you had a comfortable stay. Thank you for taking the time to write the lovely comments and hope to see you again soon x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed for one night, whilst visiting Skipton. A lovely spacious room with great views. We had home made biscuits to go with the tea & coffee in the room. A great breakfast with home made bread. Far better than staying in a hotel chain. Couldn't fault it, and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath C, Owner at St John's House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for the wonderful comments.. We're delighted you had a lovely stay with us. Best wishes, the Clarks x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

I took my husband away for one night as a surprise for his birthday and our anniversary, we found this lovely B and B! I would highly recommend this place with its beautiful location and lovely owners. The room was spectacular and had all necessities you could ever need and more. The breakfast was a first class English breakfast, the B and B is faultless!!! The location is only 5 minutes walk to the train station for all near attractions. Thank you to Kath and Dug for a brilliant stay,I can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph-ashton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath C, Owner at St John's House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you very much for the lovely comments. We really enjoyed meeting you both and thank you for staying with us on your special day. We'd love you to come back! Best wishes from the Clarks x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cononley
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Skipton
Travelodge Skipton
#4 of 4 in Skipton
220 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,205 reviews
3.0 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Throstle Nest Farm Bed and Breakfast
3.0 mi away
The Woolly Sheep Inn
The Woolly Sheep Inn
#3 of 33 in Skipton
688 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#6 of 33 in Skipton
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St John's House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St John's House B&B

Address: St. Johns House Crosshills Road | Near Skipton, Cononley, Skipton BD20 8LA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Cononley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cononley
Price Range: $104 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Both of our rooms benefit from stunning views across the Aire Valley. The emphasis is on comfort and quality. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided, along with fresh milk and home-made cakes/biscuits served daily. Each room has flat screen televisions and free Internet access. The en-suite shower rooms are spacious, light and airy with high performance showers. We have private parking and secure cycle storage. We are a short walk away from a mainline train station, two pubs serving food, village shop and children's park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your St John's House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St John's House B&B Cononley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing