We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Forget about weather stay here"”
Review of Sandy Cove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandy Cove Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berrynarbor
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Had a lovely couple of days in this hotel. Once again everything was just perfect. All staff were very friendly. We had a sea view room which was nicely decorated and spotlessly clean with a most beautiful view. The food was delicious especially on Saturday night with the smorgasbord starter. It is nice to see a hotel that is not standing still as it is appears to always be updating with constant improvements. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Thank you so much for your review and for your lovely comments. We very much hope to have the chance of meeting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (640)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

585 - 591 of 640 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

Have just returned from a great weekend at this hotel. The room was comfortable with a great view. The food was delicious, good choice and good size portions, the smorgorsbord starter was amazing. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I look forward to going back again. I cannot comment on the pool as it was closed for refurbishment.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michellecfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is our second year celebrating New Year at Sandy Cove, and this year was even better than last year! The food was amazing, and the entertainment was great - casino night and disco. The hotel is set in a stunning location and our room overlooked the sea ceasing into the bay at Combe Martin. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating. Great opportunities for scenic walks if you're lucky with the weather.

Room Tip: Their family room 46 sleeps up to six and has the most stunning views, newly decorated and very spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CherylCrossman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for your review and your lovely comments. We do get a great deal of repeat business especially for christmas and new year. We are very glad that you enjoyed the casino night and the new year's eve smorgasbord & disco. We very much hope you will come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Sandy cove hotel was amazing, on the day we got there we took our dogs for a walk in the beautiful nearby cove down the little lane beside the hotel. It is amazing and if you do go definately ask for directions at reception. Talking of reception they are extremely helpful and considerate upon arrival and get you checked in and sorted in no-time! Then we walked up to are room and unpacked, the room was lovely a really comfy bed, tv, lovely bathroom facility's including a bath a shower a sink a toilet and plenty of towels. We then went down to dinner at our allocated time spot and we had their speciality the smorgasbord (however this only takes place on Saturdays) anyway it was delicious there was a cold buffet for starter and a choice of three meats and vegetables for main and finally a load of lovely desserts, yum yum! The next day we drove to wilacommbe beach which is three miles long and we all walked there and back so overall we walked six miles! When we got back we treated ourselves to the on-site spa facility's including a steam room a sauna two heated chairs and finally a heated swimming pool but this was not that warm because it was very cold outside. We then went to dinner which had a few options for each course on a menu that was changed every day and they were all yummy! The next morning we went down to breakfast and this consists of a cold buffet including cereals, fruits and yoghurts and also bread and then you can order a cooked breakfast or a continental. Unfotunately we had to then pack up and get ready to go home. But before we did we took a drive to Staunton sands beach which was beautiful there was massive sand dunes here which we climbed and the dogs somehow got up too! We then had a quick bite to eat at a café filled up the car and we were on our way and I will definately be coming back here next year see you soon sandy cove hotel !!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 047Nath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We have passed your comments on to all departments and are very glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to meeting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We arrived for our two night stay the day before New Years Eve. We received a warm welcome and were shown to our room which was very well appointed with lovely furnishing and a super bathroom. The room had a great view overlooking the sea. The hotel was warm and comfortable. The food was fantastic and we throughly enjoyed the gala supper on New Years Eve. I highly reccomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a view - our room was 48 - Room 51 was also lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay and in particular the new year's eve gala smorgasbord dinner and disco. Thank you very much for your recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Booked the 3 night Christmas break. There were 3 families which included 4 children and 2 dogs. Ages raining from 69 to 8 years of age. On arrival check in was smooth and easy. Our room number 46 was newly decorated and perfect for us (2 adults and 2 kids aged 11 and 8 plus a dog)The kids had their own room which had a single bed and one bunk bed, furniture was new as was carpets and decor fresh and clean. Food over 3 days was just amazing. Smorgasbord on Friday night had such a variety of different foods. Wine prices vary, the cheapest being the house at £16 per bottle. Christmas lunch was delicious. You get allocated a table which is yours for the stay - what fabulous view we had whilst eating. Staff are all so friendly, special mention to Andy and the cleaning ladies who could not be more helpful (they had to get rid of a lot of wrapping paper from our room) swimming pool was not quite warm after they had an engineer out but our kids still swam! Location of the hotel is great for exploring surrounding areas. We went for a lovely walk on Woolacombe beach on Christmas morning. I would definitely recommend this hotel, we could quite easily pop back in the summer for a mini break. I would like to see all the rooms being decorated as room 45 was a bit dated compared to ours.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Britski2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed your Christmas break and have passed all your comments on. We do hope you will visit again in the summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Couldn't believe the price for our long weekend break. An excellent deal to brighten up a dismal November and we were lucky with the weather too!
Staff very professional and helpful, all aiming to make our visit as good as possible with hints about where to go and what to do without being overbearing.
Only reason for not giving the full five was the standard of decor in our room, which was perfectly comfortable but not luxurious or plush and pet hair on the carpet which was not good. The glorious view of the cove more than made up for it. Very cosy bed and good quality linen helped too.
Food was plentiful, well presented and mostly generous. The Swedish Smorgasbord on Saturday night was expected to be a bit of a messy bun-fight as the hotel was full but it was a magnificent spread which was never over crowded and kept looking good until the last guests arrived. I would have been happy to have just made return visits to the buffet all evening as there was so much there to choose from that it was impossible to sample even a quarter of the dishes on offer. By contrast my duck main course was a bit small, but as part of three courses proved to be more than enough.
This is a lovely spot for walkers to enjoy the coastline and not have to bother with the car at all. Plenty to see in the local area if you do want to travel further afield.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We have passed all your comments on to the relevant departments and are very glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berrynarbor
3.2 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
459 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
860 reviews
9.5 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
902 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#15 of 20 in Ilfracombe
348 reviews
4.8 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Cove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Cove Hotel

Address: Old Coast Road | Combe Martin Bay, Berrynarbor, Berrynarbor, Ilfracombe EX34 9SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe > Berrynarbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berrynarbor
Price Range: $87 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Cove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Sandy Cove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Cove Ilfracombe
Hotel Sandy Cove
Sandy Cove Hotel Berrynarbor, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing