We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding guest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandy Cove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandy Cove Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berrynarbor
Bideford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding guest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

I recently attended a wedding at Sandy Cove and found the whole experience beautiful. The views are wonderful, a perfect back drop for a relaxing and peaceful get away. The staff worked so hard throughout the day and night and were very friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and we all enjoyed the facilities. The evening reception was held down at the marquee which is again a wonderful venue. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel, we are so pleased that you enjoyed the Wedding that was held here and we will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to the staff. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the evening event in the Marquee and we hope that the Bride and Groom enjoyed themselves too. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    104
    83
    50
    33
See reviews for
149
286
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as my Parents were celebrating their 60th wedding anniversary ,The room was spacious and the view was lovely from the windows -- overlooking Combe Martin bay, however the beds in the room were rather hard and uneven (lumpy) making sleep a bit awkward, I myself only slept 2-3 hours each night which is unusual for me.
The hotel included free Wifi on the tariff however I found it impossible to get a stable or consistent signal anywhere in the room and also I know Combe martin doesn't have a good mobile phone coverage but I couldn't even get a signal in the hotel having to go outside to get one!
The food was OK and varied,but not too much choice for a vegetarian tho'. My main criticism was when we checked out (by the hotel owner / manager) we asked if we could leave our cases as we were catching a late train, and were told they don't have anywhere to leave them, but we could leave by the wall in the entrance lobby (for anyone to help themselves to my laptop and camera) he didn't even offer to put them behind the reception counter as most hotels would do if they didn't have a storage room!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your review we are glad you liked your room, however we are surprised you found the bed uncomfortable as it is a 'hypnos bed' which has some of the best reviews for beds in Hotels.
There is free WiFi in the Hotel - the dining room and the lounge have a very strong signal and this is why we allow it for free for all guests.
With regards to your phone signal I am afraid that this is down to your service provider and Vodafone does have a mast nearby and a very strong signal, but we cannot account for other providers.
We apologise for the inconvenience of the suitcases - it is something that we have taken up and will be changed in the future.
We do hope that you will give us another chance and we thank you again for your review as we take all of these very seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Wonderful sea views from the superior bedrooms. Staff friendly and efficient. Food high quality and varied. Dog friendly. Can't understand other reviews that have slated this hotel. Will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Superior rooms with sea views are the ones to have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C0untryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel, we really appreciate the lovely feedback and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for our wedding anniversary, leaving our little boy at home, hoping for a relaxing night in the hotel making full use of the pool and spa. We were very disappointed. The hotel is in a lovely location with great views and our room was ok. Clean and tidy with a good view of the sea too. However, the 'spa' which is pictured on the website, to look beautiful was nothing of the sort. The pool and pool area were both dirty and looked like they hadn't been cleaned in a long while, the jacuzzi was cold. The steam room was cold and the sauna was also not very good. The 'spa' area is outdoors and not linked to the hotel so you have to keep getting dressed and undressed to use the facilities and get back to the hotel. The changing rooms and communial areas were also very dirty. You cannot see the sea views from the pool as advertised as the glass over the pool is so dirty and unkempt.The restaurant staff were attentive and the food was good, nothing special though. For the price we paid we would have expected a much higher standard of cleanliness. Overall, very disappointed with our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Midwifemolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the pool. In the summer when the pool sides are drawn back you can see the view and it then becomes an outdoor pool which has many advantages in good weather. The disadvantage is that the pool dome has perspex sides which the sun fades and this is what causes the problem, for health & safety reasons we could not have a glass dome but we feel there are far more benefits to having this. The sauna & steam-room have switches to turn them on and there are signs explaining how these work, you can select the amount of time you want them to run for and then they automatically turn off. We are very sorry if this was not clear to you. The pool lining is fibre-glass which is faded and this may make it appear dirty. Only 2 weeks ago we had a routine inspection by environmental health for quality of water and hygiene and everything was passed satisfactorily. We are extremely sorry if you were disappointed with your stay but would love you to give us other chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Service was poor: load of disinterested youngsters
We sat at our table for ages waiting to be served
Big hole in bed room floor
Decor shabby
Extension done on the cheap, with no noise reduction
What a shame - cos it's a great location
Swimming pool ok, mini spa area nice - but not at this price!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jehward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay and we will try to answer all your points. Firstly, concerning the extension it certainly was not done on the cheap, it cost £400,000 - the room you were staying in was not in the new extension - it was in the older part of the hotel. All new rooms are on the top floor. We have checked the floor in the room you stayed in and there was a floor-board which had broken but which we have now replaced, so we are very sorry about this. There is a feedback form in the room as well as a letter, which asks people to report any problem that they may have, this way we can rectify any problem immediately or change you to another room. We are very sorry for any problems you had with the waiting staff and we have taken this up with the Restaurant Manager. We do try very hard to keep our pricing competitive, we have been told by the AA that we are top-end 3 star and could apply for 4-star rating, but we prefer to be top-end 3 star and our pricing does reflect the 3-star status, compared to other 4 star hotels in the area. We are glad you loved the location and the pool and mini spa area. We always welcome feedback as it will help us to improve our service in the future so thank you for taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

First time in Sandy Cove Hotel and not sure what to expect after reading some experiences on TA we turned into the hotel and the view is to die for
The room( No 27 ) overlooking the sea was a good size and the decor to a good standard the bed was very comfortable the ensuite was large only comment the window needs to be obscure or plain glass or you need the blind down all the while and the reason I did not give it 5
The restaurant was very nicely arranged most with views over the sea
The food and choice of daily menu's was very good
We had DBB and was well worth the money
Overall we had an excellent visit and have no hesitation in recommending

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smax307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and got to enjoy our views from your bedroom and that you also enjoyed the food. It is so nice to hear that you thought that the dinner bed and breakfast was good value for money and we hope that you will come and visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

My husband and myself stayed at this hotel last December 2012 for our Anniversary, The receptionist was frosty to say the least, when I booked I was not informed of a Christmas disco throughout December, she took great delight in telling us "it would not be a quiet evening" also no fine dinning, smorgasbord only, so we went elsewhere to eat, the glasses in the room were filthy, so asked for them to be replaced, they were just as bad....the room was dusty one towel between 2 people, cold brewed coffee was given on two occasions so gave up on that also, really spoilt our Anniversary I was very upset......I did write to the hotel when we got home but they never had the manners to reply.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. In December we do do very reasonable and cheaply priced rates as we run christmas party nights - some rooms would be as low as £25 per person for bed & breakfast. Christmas parties are advertised on our website. We are sorry you did not eat with us as we do have an AA Rosette awarded restaurant. The Smorgasbord is only a starter table, we have been doing this for 35 years and are now well-known for it. The Smorgasbord table consists of seafoods, salmon, fish, cold meats & salamis, homemade salads, quiches, cheeses and a selection of homemade desserts and what is unusual with this is that you can visit the table as many times as you like. The Christmas party nights are very popular and we have people that have been coming to us for many years but we are sorry you were disappointed. We are sorry you were only given one towel, this is completely wrong, and if you had informed reception this would have been rectified immediately. We do have feedback forms and a letter in each room asking you to notify us if you do have any problems. We do take all reviews very seriously, but as you have written the review 10 months after your stay, we may well have different staff and so it is very difficult to reprimand them. We have looked through our files and cannot find a letter from you so we are very sorry if we did not receive it. Thank you once again for writing a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berrynarbor
7.1 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
9.5 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
2.2 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Cove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Cove Hotel

Property: Sandy Cove Hotel
Address: Old Coast Road | Combe Martin Bay, Berrynarbor, Berrynarbor, Ilfracombe EX34 9SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe > Berrynarbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berrynarbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Cove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Sandy Cove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Cove Ilfracombe
Hotel Sandy Cove
Sandy Cove Hotel Berrynarbor, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing