We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic weekend 10th wedding anniversary”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandy Cove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandy Cove Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berrynarbor
Somerset uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Romantic weekend 10th wedding anniversary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Breath taking views very scenic, over looking the sea. We had a superior sea view room & would definitely recommend this room. big picture window amazing view, large room big built in wardrobe, lots soft lighting, bathroom big but needed a good chrome polish & the loo brush rusty which was not pleasant & paint peeling on top of toilet so let it down just a tiny bit,towels very clean if not bit thin. Large kettle (unfortunately it still had water in it not sure how long) lots of coffee tea & hot chocolate .Big bed plenty of draw space. Would recommend this room it was lovely.

We had a late sandwich on arrival lovely & more than just a sandwich included salad & chips reasonably priced.
We dined Saturday night buffet starter which was fantastic Fresh salmon prawns cold meats pasta salad rice salad salads egg mayonnaise -all help yourself. I had the Beef bourgeon melted in your mouth with French grain mustard mash. My husband had the fish in batter & was very disappointed dry tasteless & not much fish in it although it was very large. Help yourself to desert
3 course meal very reasonably priced -the price wasn't on the menu so at the time didn't realise how much it was going to cost but it was £43 for 2 for 3 course meal & coffee.
The downside it was busy we were sat at a claustrophobic very wobbly table & chairs ,it was very hot in the room & uncomfortable.
We were sat at the table not asked if we would like a drink & it was over 10 minutes until asked & even longer to order food.Apart from this it was a very pleasant evening.

Outside view of the pool with the cover on was a bit shabby but don't be put off ,we used it & very warm lovely ,shabby tiling at waters edge of pool. The warm sun loungers lovely & the steam room & sauna looked very modern & clean. No lockable lockers avaible but cubby holes on the wall to put clothes ,towels available at reception.NO toilet roll in the toilet at the pool not even a spare which was very poor. You also need to get a pass to enter.
Main areas needed tidying up the lounge area was dark ,lovely walled dark panelling but green bush needs throwing & needs modernising, some areas need paintwork.

The downside there was a wedding party-& as it rained they took over the whole lounge guest area so nowhere for guest to sit & you made to feel like you were gate crashing the wedding a lot of other guests we very unhappy -we were paying quite high prices for 3* .The terrace area lovely but it rained the whole time we stayed so couldn't use it.. The hotel everywhere was uncomfortably warm ,did ask for a window table & was told no.
Sleep wise although thewedding reception was in a marquee away from hotel the guest when it was finished chatting well into the early hours under our bedroom -it was to stuffy to shut the windows so not a good night sleep.
Breakfast was disappointing bacon hard sausages tasteless & over cooked over long wait ,main waitress seemed to have got out of bed the wrong way. & had an attitude about her when again said it was to hot & we had table in closed in area. She did offer to open the windows but we were so far away we would not have got the benefit -should have opened some early let air circulate. Lot of other guest said they couldn't wait to get out of restaurant as it was so airless.

Would highly recommend this hotel for a romantic get away, but check that there is not a wedding on.3 * hotel bordering on 4* prices so get a deal
Definitely stay again Staff were very helpful & friendly plenty of staff about. Shame about breakfast .

Room Tip: 33 sea view superior "semi detached"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are pleased that you did enjoy some aspects of your stay. The negative aspects we do take very seriously and we have informed the relevant departments and we do apologise for the points that you have raised. We do hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    106
    84
    50
    33
See reviews for
148
293
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel has a view over the North Devon coast that most hotels would die for, it is truly breathtaking and if you pay for a room with a sea view it's definitely worth it! The pool area and all the outdoor facilities, on a good weather day are fabulous. Pool is great, steam room and sauna all clean and well kept! Lovely grounds - no issues here at all.
Would echo what others have said that in places the hotel feels a little tired and sometimes is a little old fashioned. It is understandable that it is a 3 star, but with the facilities of a 4 star. This is reflected in the staff too, who are all very polite and friendly but they just feel as if they are working in a hotel from the 80's. We didn't eat in the restaurant, only because we went out most evenings but we did have food on the "decks"which is the best location to eat albeit the menu needs some excitement, is basically traditional pub food and not necessarily well cooked.

Our room was a superior sea view. I am not sure it was particularly superior in any way, maybe just a wee bit bigger. Room was cleaned every day, perfectly acceptably but didn't have anything in the room which was anything above a 3 star. This was a room on the top floor, which looked new to be honest but still the grouting on the floor in the bathroom was missing in places. I would go back though just maybe not stay as long next time and not pay extra for a superior room!

Room Tip: Choose a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LifelongChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As you rightly say we are a 3 star Hotel & have been told by the AA that we could try and go for 4 star but we prefer to be a top end 3 star. We are delighted you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. We are suprised about your feedback on the superior rooms as we have had very good comments on them and we do have 2 with balconies. We believe there is a small problem with the grout on the bathroom floor in this room as it is a new build and the builder says that, as it is a wooden floor, there is slight movement but this will settle down soon, we do however constantly grout. We very much look forward to meeting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level Contributor
134 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

First of all the good points. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was large with a beautiful view, cleaned daily and the bed was comfortable. It was quiet. The food was good, especially at breakfast. The pool was really warm with a movable roof so you felt as if you were half outdoors. There was plenty of seating outside with a well kept lawn. Easy to walk along the coast path or to the nearby village of Berrynarbor. Large TV with a good picture. Nice lounge you could sit in and lovely view from the restaurant. We would really have liked to have chairs in our bedroom so we could sit and admire the view from there.
Bad points: There was wi fi but very intermittent and it didn't work in our bedroom. No O2 signal that I could find. The food portion sizes were variable at dinner, (fish and chips ok but the fish meal on the menu was tiny) the Saturday night buffet did not include much of the types of seafood/ fish that were advertised. The cream tea contained the most dry,tasteless scones I have ever had. The pool roof was ugly especially in such a beautiful surrounding and the inside part was quite dirty with toilets out of order and some mould. What worried me more was that it would be very easy for a small child to run away and fall in the pool (say at a wedding reception) as the sides were open and the gate to the enclosure left open. Our bathroom had a dirty floor and the shower/hot water pressure was quite weak but the water was warm enough.
The weather was lovely which helped everything.

Room Tip: Lovely views from the seaview rooms
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerkMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review- we are pleased that you did enjoy your stay with us and are pleased to hear the good points of your visit. However we do take all reviews seriously so we have let the relevant departments know of your negative points that you have addressed. And we hope that you will come back and visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

I know it is old and that's ok but why does it have to be so unclean , I don't think our bathroom was clean at all for years ....the floor was horrible , you cannot open the window due to the dirt ...and the best part was that the used towels we put on the floor to be replaced were folded and put right back in the shower.
Very very overprice.

Overall stay away.
The very positive thing is the view , breathtaking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gisel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
This review is written by an ex member of staff and we have notified Trip Advisor of this and asked for removal of the review. We have proof that this is an ex staff member. The Hotel has recently undergone a £450,000 refurbishment and we have no rooms that windows cannot be opened etc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I can understand why there are mixed reviews but I think the positive reviews give a truer picture. I was delighted that the "family room" was in fact two interconnecting rooms with two bathrooms (large corner bath) giving more space. Breakfast was good, similar to a Premier Inn with a good choice of everything cereals, fruit, prunes, yeo valley yoghurt, dried fruit, croissants, cooked breakfast, juices, toast etc The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Lovely little pool with modern clean changing area & shower, the reception staff give you towels for the pool. The bar area also looks refurbished with a good choice of menu for evening bar meals, large portions, lovely. Comfortable lounges with sea views. The negatives are only in the finer details, little things like the carpets looked very old and worn, some old cushions on the bed as decoration looked grubby, one tv not working, a missing remote, a broken grubby kettle, a cracked mug, the UHT milk in the room made drinks taste of plastic. The wifi was free but only useable in one of the lounges (no service for O2...). We had to change rooms due to having two last minute rooms on booking.com and found the beds in the second room very hard indeed(23) but the previous room (19) had not been so bad. On the whole I would be happy to go again beautiful location :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainydays2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel- we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We have passed on your comments to the chef regarding the breakfast choice and we are pleased that you enjoyed our variety of options. And that you were pleased with your family room and our pool. We are in the process of refurbishing our Hotel and we have also recently just brought new beds for our rooms so we hope you will come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel has breathtaking views it has everything you need when you are on holiday especially with children ie swimming pool , jacuzzi and lovely beaches near by Woolacombe being the best but closer Combe Martin . we had a family room which was at the back of the hotel but was lovely we had French doors which went out onto a decked area ,most of the hotel downstairs is modern and fresh but the original wood panelled sitting area with its comfy leather chairs is really charming .The food was delicious both breakfast and evening meals and the staff were very friendly and took the time to have a chat and give you ideas on where to go in the local area .My main concern was that it wouldn't be child friendly but it really was and there were quite a few children .we will definitely return and will book early so hopefully we can get a sea view

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank low086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review- it is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay we us. We are very child friendly here and are proud of our 'children stay free' offers- so we are pleased that you got to enjoy this. We will pass on your comments to our staff as it is so lovely to hear that they were so helpful, and we are so pleased that you enjoyed our AA Rosette awarded food. We shall look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringmer, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Chose to ignore the bad reviews gladly, as this hotel was stunning. Location and views gorgeous. Comfy beds, peaceful, lovely breakfast, warm welcome and swimming pool. Just wish we'd had more time there to enjoy garden. Could find fault as other people do in minor details but we live in the real world. Not sure how a family hotel who accept dogs can be spotless all of the time! Well worth a visit and we will be going back.

Room Tip: Sea view definitely worth the little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxineMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a lovely review, we are so pleased that you gave us a chance after some negative reviews and liked what you found. We hope you will get an opportunity to visit us again soon to be able to enjoy our Gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berrynarbor
7.1 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
9.5 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Cove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Cove Hotel

Property: Sandy Cove Hotel
Address: Old Coast Road | Combe Martin Bay, Berrynarbor, Berrynarbor, Ilfracombe EX34 9SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe > Berrynarbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berrynarbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Cove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Sandy Cove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Cove Ilfracombe
Hotel Sandy Cove
Sandy Cove Hotel Berrynarbor, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing