We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgusting”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Ye olde globe

Ye olde globe
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Traditional Village Pub based in the heart of Berrynarbor. Serving good food and fine ales. Family friendly and dog friendly.
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Staff very unfriendly and rude, condescending. As for the food it was bloody awful, not fresh ( microwaved) my son had chicken korma it tasted of fish and made him very ill. No I would not recommend this pub to anyone, mac Donald's is fresher and more value for money, the nicest thing about this place was walking out the door.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Mich-3702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    78
    31
    16
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We turned up looking for a good pub meal on our Devon holiday and we had a brilliant night. Even though it's nestled in what felt like the middle of nowhere there was entertainment for the kids. We had good english food which was good value and in the middle of our meal the Exmoor Morris dancers turned up outside and entertained us for over half an hour. My daughter aged 5 joined in and absolutely loved every minute. A very picturesque little quaint location.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank nicole3chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Having eaten at Ye Olde Globe on a number of occasions I had no qualms about recommending it to my family and friends on our recent visit to North Devon .
How very disappointing , the main meal itself was ok , nothing to shout about but adequate none the less . As for the dessert , well , all I can say is what a disappointment all round . It was awful , from frozen waffles to stale / dry fudge cake , totally inedible .
From the moment we arrived we felt the staff had a very superior , non customer friendly attitude . This continued throughout the meal .
Table numbers and orders were confused , a very disorganised team . I shall not be recommending Ye Olde Globe to anyone in the future and certainly wont be returning there myself . Very disappointing.

Helpful?
2 Thank Trudi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts, england
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“pretty pub”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

we stayed in the glorious langleigh guest house apposite this pub so had to pop in a few times. went there for a sunday roast which sadly finished at 2 so chose from the menu. nice duck spring rolls to start and steak pie. we did hav to ask for the mash pots which they seem to have forgotten but did then bring them. it has a nice garden area and a soft play area for kids. also very dog friendly, iv never seen so many dogs in a pub before!! very nice olde worldy pub.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nessaHerts_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely little pub in a beautiful village”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Had a very pleasant meal in here. Didn't book and we were lucky to get a table (mid week). It was very busy on the night and it took a while for food to arrive but the steak specials we ordered were cooked beautifully and we were not disappointed. It is a charming pub so having a bit of extra time to savour the wine and beer was no bad thing. Also nice to see that they are both child and dog friendly. Overall would definitely go again.

Helpful?
Thank JimandLoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye olde globe also viewed

 

Been to Ye olde globe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing