We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average... But bubble man amazing!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ye olde globe

Ye olde globe
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Traditional Village Pub based in the heart of Berrynarbor. Serving good food and fine ales. Family friendly and dog friendly.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
128 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Average... But bubble man amazing!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Average pub with average microwaveable food. We were ushered out of the bar area as, children were not allowed in, well may I suggest not stocking the bar area with games then, I have yet to see two grown ups play Connect Four in a pub!
On a more positive note we visited on a Tuesday when The Bubbleman was there to entertain the troops. I'll be honest I don't normally go for this sort of thing, but he was amazing! Trapping children in bubbles ( in a nice way!) and making square bubbles too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maruskaberuska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    78
    31
    16
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Bikerman”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Lovely pub in a Really picturesque village. But that's all its got going for it
Inside was cramped and a bit too rustic, Tiny sticky table for six (booked) with no table cloth Had to put our drinks and condiments on shelves around the dartboard as no room for everything on the table. Musty smell of dog when entering, I think there were about four there during the evening.
Must say that the food was quite good if a little badly presented. Had to send coffee back because it was quite cool. But then the staff were pleasant and helpful and service reasonably quick.
Quite good, but could do a lot better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colin1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awful Service, Awful Food”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We ordered a ploughmans, cheesy chips and a tuna,avocado and olive salad...the food took ages to arrive, when it did the avocado was absent.....in an avocado salad!! I asked the rude waitress for some avocado and they bought out 2 single thin slices of rotten and black avocado. When I complained she first ignored me then decided to speak to the chef. She came back and asked if I wanted a free dessert - which I did not accept because the rest of the food was so bad. I eventually spoke to the bar supervisor who was very nice but only agreed to refund me half of the cost of the dish which was pathetic. I would not recommend this pub at all as the whole experience was aweful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Benpharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lots of character and kid friendly”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great old character pub, ramshackle and yes the beer garden is rustic and a but messy but that's what I liked about it! Child friendly and a lovely location. This is a proper old English pub that hasn't been prettified for tourists or turned into a gastropub with extortionate prices. Would recommend a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SJV68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Character pub with good value restaurant”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Ye Olde Globe, Berrynarbor EX34 9SG
Very popular pub and restaurant in the heart of Berrynarbor between Combe Martin and Ilfracombe, N Devon.
Best steak and kidney pie I have ever tasted, tender steak with not the slightest sign of gristle or fat and the kidneys just melted in the mouth; full of flavour and not dominated by pastry. Friendly staff, small restaurant but adequate, other bar-area eating; same menu choices. Good value. Highly recommended. Food choices – traditional. Slightly disappointed with the way plaice was presented. This is a delicate fish with delicate flavour but for my palate was swamped by too much pepper garnish. Parking in this very picturesque village is very limited. Anyone with walking difficulties may find this a problem.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye olde globe also viewed

 

Been to Ye olde globe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing