We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Poppies

Poppies
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Poppies
Kitchen/dining area Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
Poppies
Kitchen/dining area
Lounge
Kitchen
Bedroom
Shower room
Double shower
Floor plan
Garden
Garden with decking
Berrynarbor, Village Centre
Berrynarbor, Pub and distant sea view
St Peter's Church, Berrynarbor
Berrynarbor
Watermouth Harbour
Little Hangman
Ilfracombe Harbour
Verity, Ilfracombe
Lantern Hill, Ilfracombe
Great Hangman (from Holdstone Down)
Woody Bay - winter scene
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Berrynarbor, Ilfracombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
771yorkie...
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We found Poppies the ideal relaxing holiday with lovely facilities and therefore not having to worry about anything.
Our hosts think of everything and it is perfect for visiting the holiday sights.
We would certainly recommend to anyone and this is a genuine review something that I sincerely felt I wanted to write.
The fact that we will look to return next year says it all.

Chris and Carol Bagshot

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness
Liked least: Not applicable
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back next year (don't forget the 10% discount we offer for returning guests!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs Doree...
1 review
“Poppies in Barrynarbor - A beautiful cottage everything you could ask for.”
Reviewed June 23, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Poppies was our first time visit, what a lovely cottage it certainly had the wow factor We have been visiting Berrynabor for many years but never had anything has lovely as this. We certainly will visit again A very big thank you to Andy and Alyson for making our holiday such a wonderful time. Melvyn & Doreen S.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to go back home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2015
Thank you for such a glowing review! Really pleased you enjoyed your holiday at Poppies. Look forward to you coming back to see us again (don't forget we offer 10% discount for returning guests!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah F
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed June 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Once again our stay at poppies has been one to remember for all the right reasons!!!! Andy and Alison warmly welcomed us to this beautiful clean cottage. Nothing is too much trouble and you instantly feel settled and relaxed in this sleepy spot. Although the owners are nearby you would never know it as this lovely cottage is really private and has a private garden to sit out in. The only sounds you hear are bird song and church bells in the distance its so peaceful here. Very close to lovely places such as ilfracombe, woolacombe and combe martin. Our second visit to poppies but certainly not our last! Thank you Andy and Alison for everything.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2015
We're so grateful for yet another 5* review, thank you. Really pleased you had such a great holiday. Look forward to welcoming you back to Poppies again soon, x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
89Neil
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely little cottage.”
Reviewed June 7, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Perfect cottage in a lovely location. Andy and Alison made us very welcome. Scones and jam on arrival was a lovely touch. Close to many beaches or great walks. Second time we have been there and already thinking of our third visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2015
It was lovely to see you again, thank you for taking the time to write a review. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave T
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed May 23, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Had a very enjoyable and pleasant stay although cottage is joined on to the owners house they did not interfere in any way but it was very pleasant to know they were there should any problems arise in the cottage on arrival there was a very nice fresh cream tea awaiting us and would very like to visit again some time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2015
Wow, what a fabulous review, thank you so very much for taking the time to provide the feedback on your stay. We'd love to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnydale...
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Well worth the money”
Reviewed April 24, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A gem of a property that is worth every (very reasonable) penny. Its well located for both the coast and Exmoor and I was spoilt for choice where to go walking.

Poppies was clean, comfortable, warm and well-equipped with reliable wi-fi and convenient parking.

Fresh flowers and a cream tea on arrival were very thoughtful. The owners live next door and whilst you are made to feel most welcome and assured that help/advice is on hand should you need it, they property is relatively private and they did not intrude.

I'd have been very happy to spend a second week there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2015
Thank you for your lovely review, we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodfan
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect little cottage in a delightful village setting”
Reviewed April 3, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We both enjoyed a relaxing stay in this most delightful cottage.Set in a very quaint and quiet village with a small general store and welcoming pub,in which we had a lovely 2 course Sunday carvery lunch,definitely recommended,as is the cottage itself.
Our thanks to Andy,Allison,Sophie,and not forgetting Molly the Dog

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2015
Thank you for your lovely review and for choosing Poppies for your holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing