We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“excellent”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Poppies

Poppies
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Poppies
Kitchen/dining area Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
Poppies
Kitchen/dining area
Lounge
Kitchen
Bedroom
Shower room
Double shower
Floor plan
Garden
Garden with decking
Berrynarbor, Village Centre
Berrynarbor, Pub and distant sea view
St Peter's Church, Berrynarbor
Berrynarbor
Watermouth Harbour
Little Hangman
Ilfracombe Harbour
Verity, Ilfracombe
Lantern Hill, Ilfracombe
Great Hangman (from Holdstone Down)
Woody Bay - winter scene
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Berrynarbor, Ilfracombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
DISGRACE2...
Burnley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

, cottage 1st class Andy and Alison perfect hosts
lovely village in a beautiful part of the country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review of Poppies. Hope to welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roderick...
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect for recharging the batteries.”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

A wonderful relaxing holiday made all the more so by the beautiful cottage and its air of peace and tranquillity. Beautifully presented with all one could need to make the holiday perfect, plus all the little extras including cream tea and the doggy treats on our arrival. We thoroughly enjoyed the company of daughter Sophie and Mabel the dog, as did our collie dog Pixie. Our thanks to Andy and Alison for their very warm welcome.

Roderick & Pauline Ovey, East Devon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: When everything is so good it is difficult to pinpoint any one thing as best.
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2014
We're so grateful for such a lovely review. We did have two grumpy girls when you departed (the two legged one AND the four legged one) so do come back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueandKen...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect holiday cottage for us”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a wonderful week at Poppies. The accommodation was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We were welcomed with a cream tea and a vase of fresh flowers. Andy and Allison did not intrude, but we knew they were available if we needed anything. A perfect retreat and we have already recommended it to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and comfortable bed
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2014
Thank you for such an amazing review, and also for the recommendations (don't forget the discount we offer!!!). Hope to welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramblers...
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relax after a long day's walking”
Reviewed May 23, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

As keen ramblers, we wanted a base in North Devon that offered challenging walks which rewarded us with stunning views. We arrived at Poppies to a cream tea and fresh flowers, cosy accommodation with most necessary mod cons (shame no washing machine as we did get muddy!). Our week started with a walk up The Hangman Hills (Coombe Martin) and in the following days we visited Hunters Inn (nestling deep in the valley in magnificent woodland), followed by Lynton and Lynmouth (Victorian grandeur-be sure to take a trip up or down the cliff railway, followed by a delicious pasty at a the local bake house). Next we visited Woolacombe beach, breathtaking and unspoilt, we really were struck by the lack of litter and general tidiness of all the towns and villages in this area. By the end of the day, all dedicated walkers enjoy a nice meal. We can't recommend visiting the Sandy Cove Hotel, food is average and as non residents we were charged £20 for a mediocre main course which did dampen the views. Sadly the tea room in Berrynarbor is up for sale and the food is well below par. We didn't bother with 'Ye Olde Globe' as it seemed to be permanently empty. Instead try Pack 'o Cards in Coombe Martin, decent pub grub, reasonable price, friendly and relaxed. For something lighter why not take a seat in the hill overlooking the little cove, watch the sun go down with fish and chips from Black and White takeaway chippy, washed down with a glass of red (maybe that's just us!). Sadly our trip ended on a rainy note but not before a drive to the village of Clovelly (note: admission fee is approximately £7.00 per adult) and finishing up in possibly the best tea room at the The Old Corn Mill, Hele, Ilfracombe. Overall our trip was a 10 out of 10. Thanks to Alison and Andy, we had a lovely break and hope to visit North Devon again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility of location
Liked least: Lack of washing machine, we did get pretty muddy on a couple of walks on our last days
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to provide such a brilliant review. Thanks also for the feedback about the laundry facilities available, which we will make future guests more aware of.
Really appreciate all your recommendations for local sights and eateries - particularly the chips / red wine combo on the beach, sounds perfect!
Hope to welcome you back to Poppies again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 16, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2014
Wow, what a great review!! Thank you so much! Look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alan W
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

On arrival there was a very friendly greeting from the owner. On entering the cottage it was immediately noticeable that everything was clean and tidy. On the kitchen counter was a welcome basket with scones, jam and cream (they didn't last long!) and a pint of milk in the fridge. A good size TV with a Sky topbox and use of the owners wifi made for easy planning of days out and keeping in contact with family and friends. Unfortunately BT Mobiles do not work but that is where the wifi came into it's own. We would not hesitate recommending this property and plan on returning ourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just a great cottage
Liked least: I prefer a slightly deeper, softer mattress. But not a complaint!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review, and for being so complimentary about our little cottage!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel G
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“everything a holiday cottage should be and more”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

step inside poppies and you have the wow factor its everything you want for the perfect holiday stay. equiped with everything you need from bin bags to wifi, you are also spoilt with flowers and the most amazing cream tea. Andy, Alison, and Sophie are very warm welcoming people, it feels as though you have allways known them, and of coarse the lovely maybel is adorable, whilst on your stay take a walk around Berrynarbor and see how many flowerpot peaple you can find, weve had a brilliant holiday hope you enjoy yours .

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2014
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay at Poppies. Thank you for such an amazing review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing