We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“everything a holiday cottage should be and more”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Poppies

Poppies
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Poppies
Kitchen/dining area Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Poppies
Kitchen/dining area
Lounge
Kitchen
Bedroom
Shower room
Double shower
Floor plan
Garden
Garden with decking
Berrynarbor, Village Centre
Berrynarbor, Pub and distant sea view
St Peter's Church, Berrynarbor
Berrynarbor
Watermouth Harbour
Little Hangman
Ilfracombe Harbour
Verity, Ilfracombe
Lantern Hill, Ilfracombe
Great Hangman (from Holdstone Down)
Woody Bay - winter scene
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Berrynarbor, Ilfracombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Nigel G
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“everything a holiday cottage should be and more”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

step inside poppies and you have the wow factor its everything you want for the perfect holiday stay. equiped with everything you need from bin bags to wifi, you are also spoilt with flowers and the most amazing cream tea. Andy, Alison, and Sophie are very warm welcoming people, it feels as though you have allways known them, and of coarse the lovely maybel is adorable, whilst on your stay take a walk around Berrynarbor and see how many flowerpot peaple you can find, weve had a brilliant holiday hope you enjoy yours .

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2014
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay at Poppies. Thank you for such an amazing review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie B
Devon, Pennsylvania
1 review
“the nicest, cleanest & best equipped holiday rental we had been to in 50 years of winter holidays.”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

the nicest, cleanest & best equipped holiday rental we had been to in 50 years of winter holidays. poppies is a little gem set in Berrynarbor the jewel in the crown village of the stunning North Devon coast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2014
What a fabulous review! Thank you so much for your comments. We do hope you choose to come back to Poppies soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeasonedT...
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

As all the other reviews have said this is a little gem, in a great location and everything you need to make a great holiday. Andy & Alison couldn't do enough for you and have put a lot of hard work into the property and it shows. Thanks for the very enjoyable week, we hope to return sometime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spotlessly clean home from home
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2013
Many thanks for such a fabulous review. So glad you enjoyed your stay - you were wonderful neighbours!! Love to see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
999anno
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Could not have wished for a better place to stay, lovely cottage.”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We had a lovely holiday at Poppies. The cottage was beautiful, very clean, cosy and comfortable, with a lot of thought and care having been taken by the owners to ensure that their visitors really enjoyed their stay. The fresh flowers, scones, jam and Devonshire clotted cream wer ejust a few of the personal touches which made our arrival very welcoming after our journey, and we had a lovely welcome from Allison and Sophie on our arrival, not to mention Mabel, their lovely chocolate labrador. Andy and Allison were extremely helpful with their local knowledge and we found the information booklets extremely interesting and useful when planning our stay. Having wi fi was a real bonus, as was the extra Sky channels. There were lots of walks for us to take Shep our Border Collie, but a real bonus was the dog exercise field a short distance up the lane, which we used everyday. We made good use of the Community Shop and found that they had a really good selection of most things that we needed, and that they were able to order in specific items ready for the next day. Shep also behaved very well, especially when we went out for lunch. Most of the local pubs allow dogs in the bar area which is not a pastime which he is used to I might add, but he took it all in his stride, which was an added bonus for us, and meant that he could always be with us. We would certainly recommend Poppies to anyone looking for a nice relaxing holiday in North Devon, and very much hope to return in the not too distant future. Good Luck Andy, Allison, Sophie and Mabel you are a lovely family and made exceptionally good neighbours.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was really good, no complaints whatsoever.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2013
What a fabulous review, thank you so much. We are so pleased you (and Shep) enjoyed everything North Devon has to offer. Look forward to welcoming you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra M
U.K.
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

So many previous visitors have said how lovely Poppies is. The cottage, the location, the very helpful owners, etc., etc. I completely agree with everything that’s been said before. All I can add is that the tech provision at Poppies is particularly impressive. The comprehensive Sky package includes Sky Sports and Sky Movies, the Wi-Fi signal is strong and fast throughout the property, and the iPod dock is a nice additional touch.
We had such a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly and helpful owners.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review; we are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday in North Devon and hope to welcome you back to Poppies soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south east
Reviewed June 18, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bedroom
Liked least: No bath [a personal preference although shower excellent]
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review, we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope to welcome you back to Poppies soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bath
Reviewed June 16, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2013
So delighted you enjoyed your stay at Poppies. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back later in the year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$70
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing