We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Definitely Stay Again!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berrynarbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smythen Farm Holiday Cottages
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed in the Honeysuckle cottage (2 adults and 1 toddler) for 3 nights.

Stunning views from the Farm, perfectly situated, 10-15 minutes to Ilfracombe and Woolacombe.

The cottage itself was very tidy and newly decorated bedrooms. On the website it does mention a pound meter for the electricity but there's no padlock on them so the money just drops straight back out (unaware if this was just within the cottage we stayed in). The cottage had everything we needed should we need to prepare meals. Both bedrooms had en-suite bathrooms.

On the Farm itself there's plenty to do, games room, outdoor play area, swimming pool (might be a bit too cold for babies), walks and the animals.

Thanks again to the owners for a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJWiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 91 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed here for the May half term, in Honeysuckle cottage. There was plenty of space for two adults and two kids, the kitchen was well equipped and there was even a washing machine (very useful when you have two little boys!). The cottage faced the courtyard (the swimming pool). Some of the cottages face onto the field, so have an amazing view.
The farm is lovely, there are animals to feed, a small heated and covered swimming pool, playground and play room. Kids instantly made new friends. Bill & Kathryn are very friendly and helpful. The local beaches were amazing. Would definitely recommend this farm.

Room Tip: Ask the owners which cottages face onto the field for the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeronikaVVT13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Excellent accommodation, stunning views and simply magnificent time I had down Smythern Farm. The Honeypot cottage provided outstanding comfort for me to work and relax. The beautiful countryside of North Devon that I simply fell in love with is the reason why I will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Honeypot is an ideal cottage/office for your business trip. Quiet place, big LCD screen on an arm to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have once again visited and stayed at Forest View part of Smythen Farm holiday cottages, what more can we say its great..The proprietors Bill & Kathryn really made us feel very welcome when we arrived, we took the horses to woolacome beach what an experience that was. As a family we have pets and horses and were able to bring some along with the children which made this a holiday with a difference. The location and facilities are first class with the locality so central to some wonderful attractions such as Woolacombe beach, watermouth castle just too many to mention. the pool is safe and just perfect for the little ones the games area keeps the kids entertained along with little Muffin the owners dog. The place is clean tidy well equipt for all your needs with shops in close location. The views are also fantastic with the animals including horses pigs Donkeys & sheep for the children to admire.This a place we intend to return to time & time again we rate this A+++++++

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have just returned from a short break staying in Honeypot Cottage at Smythen Farm. The cottage was very comfortable, clean and very warm and cosy. The owners put the heating on for us as soon as we arrived and gave us a very warm welcome. The views are beautiful and there is plenty of room for wandering around outdoors and meeting all of the friendly animals. We enjoyed the peace and quiet and the privacy. It was exactly what we were looking for to spend our wedding anniversary away together. I feel lucky to have found this wonderful little hideaway and yet it is relatively close to many lovely tourisic places. We would definately like to visit again in the future. Gill & Steve.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed in Honeypot cottage for a week in August. We were made to feel really welcome. The service and amenities for a young family we're excellent. The animals and pony rides were great. Overall a superb holiday in a great venue. Hoping to go back next year. Mark, Claire & George

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phipps10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed in fisherswood cottage and had a great time.

The Cottage was very clean and beds very comfortable . Great place for the kids to run round they especially enjoyed the use of the pool and the games room.

Ideal location to visit some great beaches at Woolacombe Croyde and Saunton must take my golf clubs next time as there are some great looking golf courses nearby.

Big thanks to Bill and Kathryn and the family and will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berrynarbor hotels
1.8 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
633 reviews
1.2 mi away
Langleigh Guest House
Langleigh Guest House
#1 of 3 in Berrynarbor
228 reviews
2.0 mi away
Watermouth Lodges
Watermouth Lodges
#5 of 8 in Berrynarbor
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sawmills Freehouse
Sawmills Freehouse
#2 of 3 in Berrynarbor
163 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Smythen Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smythen Farm Holiday Cottages

Address: Sterridge Valley, Berrynarbor, Ilfracombe EX34 9TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe > Berrynarbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Berrynarbor
Price Range: $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smythen Farm Holiday Cottages provides the ideal base for a luxury self catering holiday in North Devon. Located between Ilfracombe and Combe Martin, with stunning views of the North Devon Coast, we are perfectly placed for all the attractions that North Devon has to offer and close to the sandy beaches of Woolacombe, Croyde, Putsborough , Saunton and Braunton as well as being on fringe of Exmoor. Ideal for a family, walking holiday or relaxing break. On site facilities include, heated in door swimming pool, game room, free children's pony rides and WiFi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smythen Farm Holiday Cottages Berrynarbor, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing