We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely holiday , excellent location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berrynarbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smythen Farm Holiday Cottages
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A lovely holiday , excellent location”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Lovely holiday cottages, clean and had everything you need. The owners were lovely nothing was too much trouble . Our son loved the games room and enjoyed playing football with the owners sons. Lovely views peaceful and quiet, ideal location for days out. We were made to feel very welcome and would definitely recommend . Our older daughter loved the ponies and pool, SMythen farm had something for everyone. We all had a really enjoyable time and will return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
62
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to Smythen Farm Cottages.Bill Carless kindly arranged for our large family group to have two recently refurbished cottages near to each other.We had a bottle of wine on arrival and nothing was too much trouble.We will return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We've just got back from a week's stay in one of the cottages, the "Sea View" - which did have a lovely view from the bedroom window, between hills, to the Bristol Channel and Welsh coast beyond.
We were made very welcome by our hosts, who with their four delightful children were really pleasant to chat to.
The cottage itself was very clean, comfortable and tastefully furnished with living room separate from the kitchen/dining room, and had all the facilities we needed for self-catering. It also has a separate games/play area for kids, and a heated covered swimming pool much appreciated by my wife.
The place is well located for accessing a wide range of points along the beautiful coastline to the north and north-west, with great walking opportunities (which is what we mainly went for). The immediate surroundings are pleasantly rural, with a number of atmospheric pubs (Berrynarbor, Combe Martin) serving good local food within ten minutes' drive or so, and Ilfracombe and other bigger places not far away either.
A really nice place - heartily recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK - London
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Smythen Farm has gone through some major refurbishment works to the front cottages, new furniture, beds, kitchen, bathrooms and carpets really feels like home now the fresh air gave me some of the best nights sleeps ive had in ages.

i loved this place even more than last time we where here, have booked for next year the evening walks across the fields with the dog were awesome, we even had a BBQ one night wish we could have stayed longer.

bill and family couldn't have made us more welcome, we feel like part of the family we had a welcome pack, EGGS from their hens and a bottle of wine.

the car fee area is a bonus, and with the planned relocation of the swimming pool and games room next year i cannot wait as the pool area is a little dated ATM.

see you next year smythen

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tegdag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Just return from a great stay at Smythen Farm Cottages. In 'Sunalways', which had been refurb'd, great, clean, spacious and fantastic views from upstairs lounge and kitchen areas.
The owners and their 4-kids were very hospitable, my 7yr old boy got on great with their kids and other holiday makers. Nice pool and games room to keep the kids busy. The other reviews are very accurate. Love Devon and will hopefully be returning to Smythen Farm Cottage's next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We have just enjoyed a fantastic summer holiday at Smythen Farm and have already booked to return next year. It was a great base to explore the local area, with its fabulous beaches & loads of fun places to take the kids. Our cottage was spotless and the owners & their 4 children could not have been more welcoming. With the swimming pool, play area, pony rides etc, our children (aged 2 & 6) had a great time, giving us the chance to relax & enjoy the stunning scenery. Highly recommended!"

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2011

smythen farm cottages is great for the family, its quiet, plenty for the kids to do around the cottages. we will certainly book again. we stayed in the seaview cottage, it was the cleanest place i have ever rented, fully equipped. the owners are lovely and very helpful. i recommend it 100 percent x

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank il-brigatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berrynarbor
6.3 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
820 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
107 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
565 reviews
8.6 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
1.2 mi away
Watermouth Lodges
Watermouth Lodges
#5 of 8 in Berrynarbor
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smythen Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smythen Farm Holiday Cottages

Property: Smythen Farm Holiday Cottages
Address: Sterridge Valley, Berrynarbor, Ilfracombe EX34 9TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe > Berrynarbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Berrynarbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smythen Farm Holiday Cottages provides the ideal base for a luxury self catering holiday in North Devon. Located between Ilfracombe and Combe Martin, with stunning views of the North Devon Coast, we are perfectly placed for all the attractions that North Devon has to offer and close to the sandy beaches of Woolacombe, Croyde, Putsborough , Saunton and Braunton as well as being on fringe of Exmoor. Ideal for a family, walking holiday or relaxing break. On site facilities include, heated in door swimming pool, game room, free children's pony rides and WiFi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smythen Farm Holiday Cottages Berrynarbor, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing