We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Watermouth Cove Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location, which is what makes this park!
On arrival you are escorted to your pitch which is a great. They ask questions like what side your door is on etc to make sure they park you correctly. Alot of thought goes into it like where the sun rises etc, and this is a touch I have not experienced with camping before! But OMG when you get to your pitch that's where the greatness ends..... Although the pitch wasn't small you feel so cramped, everywhere you look it's, caravan, tent or motorhome. I have never felt so hemmed in before. I know it's peak weeks and it was pretty much full but the way the site is laid out it gives you this feeling of claustrophobia!! However it was amazingly quite quiet by the usual 11pm bedding down time and people didn't start stirring till 8am ish. I did have to wait for a shower and the showers are small but lovely hot water.
That is where the negativity kinda ends. The walks around the harbour are lovely, we also went to their private little cove where everyone was having fun kayaking etc. Unfortunately tide was in so didn't walk round to the caves but the next day we went on a boat trip and it looks like some fun could be had exploring the nearby coves and caves. We also saw Dave the bottle nose Dolphin who has taken up residence in the bay. The cafe looks nice but didn't experience anything. 2 pools, a small shop and a few arcade games are also on site.
Oh and there is a vending machine by the shower block selling snacks and hot and cold drinks.
We had probs finding a waste water drain for a motorhome, but eventually found one at the top of park just sat in the middle of the road, just hope that no one wants to pass you.... Cause they won't!
So all in all, a mixed report, I may go back but out of season when the pitches will hopefully be quieter because the setting and surrounding areas are beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank loulou090669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 323 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have been to this park every year since 2009 (excluding 2012) and have had a great time on every visit. We could only stay for one night this time due to work but booked for two as this gave us two full days at this lovely site.

We arrived at midday and were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who gave us some information about the site and that we were to be taken to our pitch. Jim arrived on his quad and took us to our pitch which was very spacious and gave us some more information and to tell him if he could help us in any way. A very friendly and polite man! The site didn't feel cramped and it was near full. The shower and toilet block never seemed crowded.

We enjoyed our usual walks over the headlands and through the caves, always watching in amazement at the change in tides and what a difference it has on the landscape. Everyone on the site was very friendly and the meal we had in the bar on the second evening was very tasty and very reasonably priced. We also loved the coffee vending machine outside the shower block.

The new reception and shop inside the bar which itself has been re-designed to a beach bar theme is a great improvement and it had a great atmosphere inside. The ice cream counter was much needed in the hot weather

All in all another great stay and we can't wait to come back next year. I even have sunburn which is a first for any camping trip we have been on.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We booked for a 7 day stay on the 20th July, we stayed in Lilly chalet, it was very clean with lovely white towells and a hospitality tray which we thought was a nice touch. The shower was fantastic, the beds were very comfortable and had fresh white duvet covers. The park is small but very friendly, they have a small shop for morning papers and things you might have forgoten to bring. The rest of our family had a caravan pitch which they thought was great, the location could not be faulted, there is a private beach and also a lovely harbour with great views, to which we would go every evening for a stroll. The bar food was tasty and good value for money, although as mentioned in previous reviews and closed at 9pm most evenings. The children made the most of the swimming pool and used it every day. There is pub a few minute's walk away which we made use of. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and would come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I made a late booking on line for a all weather pitch, this booking was accepted and I paid the full amount. The next day I had a phone to call to tell me that it was an error with the booking system but as we had a motorhome this pitch was not accessible with our motorhome and they could offer a grass pitch but not the all weather pitch. I was advised if I did not want this I could have a refund. As I had spent ages looking for a site and would not have much time to look again I accepted the grass pitch. When we arrived at the site and again asked if they had any cancellations so that we could have the all weather pitch this was ignored and we were taken to the pitch. This was Friday at midday. We were told any problems come and let us know. Friday afternoon all the people that had booked for the weekend began to arrive. We had two families with tents put in the pitches in front of us. They put their tents up and they were overhanging the pitches they had been allocated they had children that played football close to our motorhome, they were loud and all the adults smoked. I am asthmatic and my husband went to ask if we could move as the smell of the cigarettes was really strong and how the tents had been set up was quite intrusive. They said it was not possible due to the bookings they had. We had booked for 3 nights and wanted the all weather pitch, this was booked on a Wednesday, an elderly couple booked on the Thursday and had been given an all weather pitch and talking to him he wanted some extra nights and went to see if he could have them, he obviously got them as he did not have to move his motorhome. The whole weekend we saw empty all weather pitches, we could have had one but for some reason we were not offered one although we saw people that arrived for just one night given them. The swimming pool is supposed to be for the paying guests and you are not allowed to push anyone in, we'll this is okay if you work at the site and you are a family member. Some small children got out of the pool as both the pools were being used by this group of teenagers that work on the site. The grey water waste sites are not user friendly areas, we saw one beside some ones pitched tent and another on a sloped road coming off the top of the site. We decided to go for the sloped road waste disposal but found that 2 cars parked behind us and were not pleased that we had parked to let off our waste water, we thought that this was nicer than parking beside someone's pitched tent and giving them the aroma of waste water. The site,s. pitches are too close together and speaking to other campers this was the general feeling. The staff may say please come and tell us if you have a problem, but this is something they say but do not mean. I would advise if you want a nice site and your own space, book the site next door. The swimming pool is not that great and you can visit the pub beside the other site or go to Combe Martin for take always or to purchase food. The site shop does not open till 9am. A lovely area to visit and we will again but not at this site.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights camping with a friend in 2 tents in the Headland field £11.50 per night per tent (July). Location of site is excellent for visiting various places locally. site has good Toilet and shower facilities thou they don't like filling their soap dispensers up! Camping area has some flat areas but most are on slight inclines, bar/café seems ok. thou Bar closes early :-( sometimes 7pm but most times 9pm at the latest, we were of the opinion that it was to much trouble to stay open any longer. luckily their is a pub The SAWMILE only 4 minute's walk away from campsite :-) Brilliant food and well priced. excellent choice of beverages including good Real ale :-)) the landlord and his mother were very friendly and helpful people. you can do Sea fishing off the rocks at the Campsite. they also hire Canoes which is a nice touch. their were a couple of Dolphins In the campsite bay while we were their, and It was talk of the campsite. if staying in the camping field you have to watch your kids as the top of the field has quite a large drop off the cliff edge down onto the rocks. most is fenced off and with long grasses to stop kids getting through. its just something you should be aware of. overall a nice site. good facilities. except Bar opening hours. polish lady at reception very friendly but lady owner not to keen on Smiling. thou ground staff were a good bunch of friendly lads and willing to help people if requested.

Room Tip: TIP: If phoning to book a tent/tents in. request a level pitch and with sea views ( thou these are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrDixonMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here for two nights last week, whilst attending a wedding at Tunnels Beeches.

We stayed in one of the chalets, Buttercup to be exact, and were over the moon with our accommodation for the money we paid. Very clean, very tidy, nice patio area with a private BBQ if you want to use it, tea coffee and milk were also available in our chalet, provided FREE from the staff, also a kitchen fully stocked with cutlery and utensils, good parking right outside our door, excellent swimming pool area, (2 pools) - also the food available at the reef bar was very tasty as well! The staff were very helpful, when we checked in we were shown to our chalet by Jae, and made awear of the facilities available, also the staff in reception and the bar were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay here.

The views and setting are to die for, especially if your used to the hustle and bustle of Greater London, Also there are some water sports available such as Kayaking and Banana boat rides etc. if you want to have a go.

We liked this place so much, we plan to return next year for a longer stay.

Well Done Watermouth Cove!! :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GrahamM1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just returned home with our touring caravan after staying 8 days at this fab site. Great staff ,views and amenities. Very dog and family friendly. Cant wait to come back next year if not sooner. Great harbour views ,watched the Dolphins from the headland and met some very friendly people.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berrynarbor
2.6 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
456 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
633 reviews
0.2 mi away
Watermouth Lodges
Watermouth Lodges
#5 of 8 in Berrynarbor
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#3 of 25 in Ilfracombe
450 reviews
14.3 mi away
Beachside Holiday Park
Beachside Holiday Park
#1 of 9 in Westward Ho
454 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beach Cove Coastal Retreat
Beach Cove Coastal Retreat
#2 of 25 in Ilfracombe
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermouth Cove Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermouth Cove Holiday Park

Address: Watermouth, Berrynarbor, Ilfracombe EX34 9SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe > Berrynarbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Berrynarbor
Hotel Class:3 star — Watermouth Cove Holiday Park 3*
Also Known As:
Watermouth Cove Holiday Park Hotel Berrynarbor
Watermouth Cove Holiday Park Berrynarbor, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing