We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay!”
Review of Watermouth Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Watermouth Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Completely love Watermouth Lodges. The staff are lovely, accommodation is perfect, food is delicious, swimming pools, sauna and lodges are kept to a high standard. We cant fault this place.
We have been visiting at least once every year as a family for the past 15+ years. The last 4 years we have returned just as a couple and took along some friends last month. They were totally inlove with the place as much as we are. This time we treated ourselves and stayed in the seaview with the hot tub. Couldn't fault it. So luxurious!
Please carry on doing everything you are already doing! We cant wait to return next year. If we had our way we would be practically living there!
Thank you for a excellent weekend away and for the last 15+ years. We look forward to staying with you next year.

Room Tip: All lodges are beautiful and to a very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kellis2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wmlodge, Manager at Watermouth Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for your review and kind comments. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay at Watermouth Lodges, and hope to see you again shortly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 237 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

just returned from weekend break,stayed in newly refurbished lodge,and it was very roomy,4 adults and 2 kids and still plenty of space.lovely view over castle grounds from our balcony.very quiet and peaceful.the boys loved the zipwire.have stayed in lodges before but never as big as this one ,can imagine in summer months it would be very cool as plenty of windows.unfortunately weather got cooler the weekend we were there .ate in restaurant on 1st night which was a good meal.but sat night drove into ilfracombe and got a Chinese takeaway from millennium house which was great,on the sunday we stopped of at quackers in combe martin and had the best carvery ever,seems like always eating but we did have busy days out inbetween.would definitely return but hopefully for a week next time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wmlodge, Manager at Watermouth Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thank you for your review and comments, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Watermouth.
hope you see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is my third visit to Watermouth Lodges (this time there were eight of us in the party) and stayed in Amberwood 39. The lodge was very well equipped with a nice view, although I think it could have benefitted from some tlc with regards the general cleaning (sweet wrappers from previous occupiers behind bedside cabinets and next to bed and also there was a smell of cigarette smoke when we first went into the lodge(?). The outdoor pool was closed as just out of season so we used the indoor one which was lovely. We also ate in the Watermouth Inn a few nights and the food is of excellent quality and great value. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The weather was good to us so we were able to go on the beach - Woolacombe Sands is a lovely sandy beach. All in all, we had a lovely relaxing time and will be back again next year!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wmlodge, Manager at Watermouth Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thank you for your review and comments. We are always trying to uphold high standards of cleaning, we are sorry we didn't get it right this time.
We hope you see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great time had at watermouth lodges.
The lodge was clean and spacious 3 bedrooms including ensuite.
Pools were clean and warm.
Staff were all very friendly and attended to any problems.
Whether you are looking for a holiday to explore the area or just relax and enjoy the sun at pool or sitting outside your lodge this is ideal.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wmlodge, Manager at Watermouth Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments! We are always pleased when our guest have a good time at Watermouth Lodges. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Had read a lot of the reviews of watermouth lodges before we went and we were a bit nervous!! I hope this is an honest and helpful review for the budget Pines lodges,
To start the park is situated right inbetween Ilfracombe & Combe martin ( 5 mins drive either way) and about 15-20 mins from the fabulous Woolacombe beach ( a must), Watermouth harbour and the south coast path are 5 mins walk away,
The park is quiet and clean with great views over to south wales, it has 2 pools The indoor one is a bit nicer than the outdoor, The pub/clubhouse is good and it always had seats available, the food is good value pub food fayre (maybe avoid the curry night poor value for money)
The staff on site were really nice and helpful and made you very welcome.
The pines lodge we stayed in is the budget lodge and to be honest it showed. It is very small (prob smaller than a static caravan) but as its only a base for us us 2 adults 2 Children & a dog we managed,
I now come to my only real gripe - The bathroom!! It really needs ripping out and a new one put in!! The bath has brown rusty looking marks on the side of it, the shower screen is not the best and setting the the shower via the mixer tap is an art form,theres a tile missing on floor behind the door looks like its collecting dirt, We cleaned the bathroom with antiseptic wipes but it never really felt clean in there.

I would definately go back to watermouth lodges but book one of the better lodges (which looked really nice)
I

Room Tip: book the best lodge you can afford, the budget models really are basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cloud1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wmlodge, Manager at Watermouth Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for your review! we have taken note about the comments made about the bathroom, and have now decided to refurbish the lodge including a new bathroom. Work will commence in 4 weeks time. We hope you return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I honestly think the people who have moaned about this place must have stayed somewhere else?!

We stayed in lodge Amberwood 38, which was clean, spacious and well equipped. It has a twin room, double and second double with en-suite shower and toilet room. The main bathroom had a lovely jacuzzi bath and the lounge/kitchen diner was a great family space. I can honestly say I couldn't think of much more I would have wanted/expected from the accommodation.

The on-site facilities we found fine and the staff were always helpful. Unfortunately the weather didn't treat us well enough to brave the outdoor pool, but there are so many things to do in the surrounding areas, I don't think we would have had a chance to do everything we wanted to do in 2 weeks, let alone 1!!

All in all, this place certainly gets the thumbs up from us!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank p4nda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wmlodge, Manager at Watermouth Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comment! we are really glad you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have just come home from a brilliant family/friends holiday, we wanted a holiday that the children wouldn't be bored and could play safely (without having to follow them around 24/7). There were 6 in our party and we all stay in one lodge, this can tell you that the lodge we stayed in was very well spaced, we did have a problem with the hot water but we went and spoke to reception, they were quick on the problem and fixed it straight away (you cant expect everything to be prefect). We had a few rainy days which didn't matter as they have a indoor swimming pool and a soft play area with some arcade games which kept everyone happy. The location was brill lots of things to do beaches, dinning and attractions but be prepared for walking up and down hills. The food in the restaurant was very good for the money you pay, they have themed night as well so u wont get bored from picking from the same menu every night, they also do a takeaway service which was very handy when you don't want to cook but want to eat in. They have a shop on site for you basics which was handy when you need a loaf of bread or some milk. Over all it was a lovely holiday and would got again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wmlodge, Manager at Watermouth Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Watermouth Lodges! Thank you for your kind comments. We hope to see you again soon!
Watermouth Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berrynarbor
0.5 mi away
Grattons Cedar Lodges
Grattons Cedar Lodges
#11 of 25 in Ilfracombe
115 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
649 reviews
0.8 mi away
Langleigh Guest House
Langleigh Guest House
#1 of 3 in Berrynarbor
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sawmills Freehouse
Sawmills Freehouse
#2 of 3 in Berrynarbor
167 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Watermouth Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermouth Lodges

Address: Berrynarbor, Ilfracombe EX34 9SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe > Berrynarbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Berrynarbor
Price Range: $83 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With truly magnificent views overlooking the beautiful Watermouth Harbour and its famous castle, our holiday park is situated in an outstanding location that offers a host of facilities on well-tended grounds.A very warm welcome awaits you at our family-run Holiday Park, where we are committed to making your stay with us as enjoyable, pleasant and relaxing as we possibly can.For those of you that do not want to cook in our well-equipped lodges, especially after a hard day spent at the beach or discovering the many attractions and activities that North Devon has to offer, there is always our superb restaurant and bar, where all the family is welcome.Whilst relaxing over a cool drink you can choose from a selection of simple bar snacks or from a varied menu with daily specials and separate children's menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Watermouth Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermouth Hotel Berrynarbor
Watermouth Lodges Berrynarbor, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing