We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”
Review of Watermouth Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Watermouth Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
portsmouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We recently stayed at watermouth lodges with our 13 month old daughter. The cabin was clean and cosy. Staff friendly and helpful and location and setting is lovely. We will definitely be returning here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EMMC78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wmlodge, Manager at Watermouth Lodges, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    71
    27
    15
    13
See reviews for
138
40
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

My family and I have stayed at watermouth lodges for many years.

Lodges vary from basic to luxurious but all are clean and well equipped.

The surroundings are stunning.

The staff are friendly and helpful.

The site is dog friendly which is a bjg thing for us and well behaved dogs are allowed in the restaurant. Food is plentiful for reasonable prices.

There are two pools and an outdoor play area for younger children which my grandchildren love.

Lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathm654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wmlodge, Manager at Watermouth Lodges, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are really glad to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay.
See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Was disappointed from the go place was dirty and appliances dated. Sofas in lodge was full of god knows what stains.on the plus side actual site is ok and the food and drink was good. Would only recommend if your not expecting to much.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wmlodge, Manager at Watermouth Lodges, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are sorry you were disappointed! We are upgrading our lodges all the time, we have refurbished 4 of the Beeches this year, and we continue to do more next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Booked a short break (mon-fri) 2nd June with my family but were allowed to book an extra day for a very reasonable price so value was excellent. This was our fourth or fifth trip to Watermouth Lodges and have always felt welcomed and relaxed on every visit.
We stayed in Cedars Lodge No 24 and was perfectly adequate for a family of four with two teenagers. Everything was clean and we had everything you would expect for a self catering holiday. The facilities around the site are geared for a relaxing time so don't expect music and karaoke blasting out until all hours as you won't get it. (John Fowlers if you want that sort of holiday :-( ). The food is tasty and great value in the club house with offers if you are on a budget.
The two pools are excellent. The indoor is deeper if you want a proper swim and has jacuzzi and a sauna. The outdoor is great for a splash about, especially with the fantastic weather we had as it is a lot shallower and great for kids. Regards one recent review somebody said the pool was too cold but the person didn't actually go in?? Every pool in the country is cool until you actually get in and get used to it, that is part of the fun!!
As well as the fantastic views of the sea from the clubhouse there are lots of places to visit within a ten mile radius so you don't waste much of your day in the car. Croyde beach and Saunton sands are well worth a visit if you get the weather.
All in all Watermouth is a great place to stay if you want a relaxing place to stay with good food and great facilities but just as good is the range of things and places to visit nearby. Thanks to Mac and the family for a great stay once again!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cwelch69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wmlodge, Manager at Watermouth Lodges, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments! we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Watermouth, and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just returned from a long weekend, lodge was ok but dated and not that clean windowsills not touched and needed air freshners everywhere. Indoor childrens area a joke filthy and smell in there was gross. Outdoor play area falling to bits and weeds every where . Shop a few shelves next to bar !!! Nothing really for children or adults only book if you want a base to explore, if not book else where

Room Tip: Don't book
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Just come back after another fantastic week Been comming here on and off for the last 15 yrs big thank you to all the staff Made my stay even better Hope to see you all soon keep up the good work food , lodge, facility's , all excellent . Dont understand why people complain about this site read your welcome pack and your tems and conditions it tells you everything stop whinging over petty things and enjoy your holidays

Room Tip: Lodge 2 own hot tub and wifi outdoor pool sun trap dont bother with the beach get a lounger and ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wmlodge, Manager at Watermouth Lodges, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments! we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have just returned from a week at Watermouth Lodges. 25th of May - 1st June 2013. The site is very quiet and pleasant, and is located in a fantastic location behind Watermouth Castle. We found staff to be friendly and pleasant, not at all as described in previous reviews (you reap what you sow I guess). The facilities where great for the kids, once in the play area only one way out so no disappearances. We used all of the facilities, and only one minor complaint would be that of the temperature of the pools. The kids love swimming, but where unable to stay in the pool for very long due to the cold temperature. Even so it was a pleasant venue to stay at, and we will be making further bookings in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4Shan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wmlodge, Front Office Manager at Watermouth Lodges, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Watermouth Lodges, in regards to the pool temprature we are now dealing with this so that it is more satisfactory.
We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berrynarbor
0.8 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
558 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
377 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#1 of 25 in Ilfracombe
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
1.2 mi away
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
#6 of 7 in Combe Martin
563 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Lodge Country House
The Lodge Country House
#2 of 4 in Berrynarbor
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermouth Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermouth Lodges

Property: Watermouth Lodges
Address: Watermouth, Berrynarbor, Ilfracombe EX34 9SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe > Berrynarbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Berrynarbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With truly magnificent views overlooking the beautiful Watermouth Harbour and its famous castle, our holiday park is situated in an outstanding location that offers a host of facilities on well-tended grounds.A very warm welcome awaits you at our family-run Holiday Park, where we are committed to making your stay with us as enjoyable, pleasant and relaxing as we possibly can.For those of you that do not want to cook in our well-equipped lodges, especially after a hard day spent at the beach or discovering the many attractions and activities that North Devon has to offer, there is always our superb restaurant and bar, where all the family is welcome.Whilst relaxing over a cool drink you can choose from a selection of simple bar snacks or from a varied menu with daily specials and separate children's menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Watermouth Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermouth Hotel Berrynarbor
Watermouth Lodges Berrynarbor, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing