We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not great” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Watermouth Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Watermouth Lodges
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Was disappointed from the go place was dirty and appliances dated. Sofas in lodge was full of god knows what stains.on the plus side actual site is ok and the food and drink was good. Would only recommend if your not expecting to much.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wmlodge, Manager at Watermouth Lodges, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are sorry you were disappointed! We are upgrading our lodges all the time, we have refurbished 4 of the Beeches this year, and we continue to do more next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    71
    26
    15
    11
See reviews for
135
38
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Booked a short break (mon-fri) 2nd June with my family but were allowed to book an extra day for a very reasonable price so value was excellent. This was our fourth or fifth trip to Watermouth Lodges and have always felt welcomed and relaxed on every visit.
We stayed in Cedars Lodge No 24 and was perfectly adequate for a family of four with two teenagers. Everything was clean and we had everything you would expect for a self catering holiday. The facilities around the site are geared for a relaxing time so don't expect music and karaoke blasting out until all hours as you won't get it. (John Fowlers if you want that sort of holiday :-( ). The food is tasty and great value in the club house with offers if you are on a budget.
The two pools are excellent. The indoor is deeper if you want a proper swim and has jacuzzi and a sauna. The outdoor is great for a splash about, especially with the fantastic weather we had as it is a lot shallower and great for kids. Regards one recent review somebody said the pool was too cold but the person didn't actually go in?? Every pool in the country is cool until you actually get in and get used to it, that is part of the fun!!
As well as the fantastic views of the sea from the clubhouse there are lots of places to visit within a ten mile radius so you don't waste much of your day in the car. Croyde beach and Saunton sands are well worth a visit if you get the weather.
All in all Watermouth is a great place to stay if you want a relaxing place to stay with good food and great facilities but just as good is the range of things and places to visit nearby. Thanks to Mac and the family for a great stay once again!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cwelch69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wmlodge, Manager at Watermouth Lodges, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments! we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Watermouth, and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just returned from a long weekend, lodge was ok but dated and not that clean windowsills not touched and needed air freshners everywhere. Indoor childrens area a joke filthy and smell in there was gross. Outdoor play area falling to bits and weeds every where . Shop a few shelves next to bar !!! Nothing really for children or adults only book if you want a base to explore, if not book else where

Room Tip: Don't book
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Just come back after another fantastic week Been comming here on and off for the last 15 yrs big thank you to all the staff Made my stay even better Hope to see you all soon keep up the good work food , lodge, facility's , all excellent . Dont understand why people complain about this site read your welcome pack and your tems and conditions it tells you everything stop whinging over petty things and enjoy your holidays

Room Tip: Lodge 2 own hot tub and wifi outdoor pool sun trap dont bother with the beach get a lounger and ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wmlodge, Manager at Watermouth Lodges, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments! we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have just returned from a week at Watermouth Lodges. 25th of May - 1st June 2013. The site is very quiet and pleasant, and is located in a fantastic location behind Watermouth Castle. We found staff to be friendly and pleasant, not at all as described in previous reviews (you reap what you sow I guess). The facilities where great for the kids, once in the play area only one way out so no disappearances. We used all of the facilities, and only one minor complaint would be that of the temperature of the pools. The kids love swimming, but where unable to stay in the pool for very long due to the cold temperature. Even so it was a pleasant venue to stay at, and we will be making further bookings in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4Shan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wmlodge, Front Office Manager at Watermouth Lodges, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Watermouth Lodges, in regards to the pool temprature we are now dealing with this so that it is more satisfactory.
We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We are still enjoying our holiday here, going home tomorrow. Having read some reviews, i wanted to get my twopennorth in. Re the staff... I have found without exception that the staff are polite, friendly and helpful.
Our lodge was No 11, very clean..maybe a tad small for two adults and two children but we managed fine. The sofas were a bit low and soft for my liking, but that's personal taste. Yes, the shower was a bit dribbly and hard to control the temperature. We notified reception and they changed the tap washers and put on a new showerhead, which helped. The poor water pressure is no doubt because the lodge is at the top of the hill.
I can recommend the cream teas..homemade scones and reasonably priced. We ate once in the bar..basic pub food but well cooked and well presented.
The setting is beautiful...very peaceful and the grounds are well maintained. My husband uses a wheelchair which was a bit of a challenge on the slopes! There is disabled parking, but quite often this was being used by cars not displaying a blue-badge which was a bit annoying.
Pools are clean, but cold..i didn't partake! All in all, a great place to stay and we will visit again...some of the other lodges look VERY posh!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wmlodge, Front Office Manager at Watermouth Lodges, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay here with us at Watermouth Lodges. In regards to the disabled parking we are now in the process of reminding staff members that they are not permitted to use the parking bay to load and unload and we are ensuring that guests are also aware of this and that they need to use the main parking areas provided.
We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

The location of these lodges is lovely. It overlooks the beach and harbour and is tucked behind the castle so a beautiful approach. Lodges were adequate. Very good value for money as we booked a weekend with a discount. This was the first time I had been on a 'hoseasons' break and they didnt provide even one dishwasher tablet which was is not usually the case. Bit tight there ! We had a bbq one night but were told half way through that we were not allowed to. There was no sign stating this on the veranda which would have been helpful .

There was one member of staff who had an amazing attitude. Not in a good way ! When I called before leaving to check our booking I was greeted with a very frosty reception. I was asked why they would not have our booking ... Ifelt like I had to justify myself to this lady when , to be honest who else would travel halfway across the country and not check first that their booking was all confirmed ? For the three minutes I was on the phone the lady was very condescending and rude which was a shame as it gave a poor impression before we even arrived.

On the sunday we decided to use the pool. My partner , son and I went to reception to ask where it was. We were given a serious dressing down by the lady on reception as we had brought with us towels from the lodge to use. We were 'told' that this was written somewhere on our booking info and we had not seen it . I understand that this may be a policy ( not sure why but we didnt wait to find out ) and we didnt mind at all if we were told that lodge towels were not to be used. But there is a way of telling/giving information to customers without giving them a real telling off. We were incensed at that lady's attitude and I could tell immediately that it was the very same lady who gave me a dressing down for asking about my booking on the phone.

I do wonder why people who have no social skills end up working in hospitality . We shouldnt have let this lady's vile attitude bother us, but unfortunately poor customer service will always impact on a stay somewhere.

I would recommend staying anywhere else, there are lots of nicer places with good customer service where you will leave with a smile :D .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank vivmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wmlodge, Front Office Manager at Watermouth Lodges, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We are sorry that you experienced so many problems whilst staying with us here at Watermouth Lodges. I would first like to apologise for there not being any dishwasher tablets in your lodge, as we do provide all guests with these.
Secondly i would like to apologise on behalf of the staff member who dealt with you and provided you with behaviour which we do not agree with, this member of staff is now undergoing further training to improve on their customer service skills, however it does state in our terms and conditions that the towels provided are not permitted to be used in the pool, this is also stated in the welcome pack which was left in the lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berrynarbor
0.8 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
4.4 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
1.7 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#2 of 26 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermouth Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermouth Lodges

Property: Watermouth Lodges
Address: Watermouth, Berrynarbor, Ilfracombe EX34 9SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe > Berrynarbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Berrynarbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With truly magnificent views overlooking the beautiful Watermouth Harbour and its famous castle, our holiday park is situated in an outstanding location that offers a host of facilities on well-tended grounds.A very warm welcome awaits you at our family-run Holiday Park, where we are committed to making your stay with us as enjoyable, pleasant and relaxing as we possibly can.For those of you that do not want to cook in our well-equipped lodges, especially after a hard day spent at the beach or discovering the many attractions and activities that North Devon has to offer, there is always our superb restaurant and bar, where all the family is welcome.Whilst relaxing over a cool drink you can choose from a selection of simple bar snacks or from a varied menu with daily specials and separate children's menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Watermouth Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermouth Hotel Berrynarbor
Watermouth Lodges Berrynarbor, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing