We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food”
Review of Watermouth Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Watermouth Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Recently had a short break here at very reasonable price. It was very quiet but we still got an excellent meal on site which was quickly prepared and delicious and looked home made! How they did that so quickly is a mystery! Pity we couldn't have stayed longer to sample more delights - the puddings looked to die for! The lodges were perfectly adequate although we chose the twin room rather than the double as there was very little leg room in the double between the bed and wardrobe, this being number 31 lodge. The ducks and a seagull visited every day as though they were used to being fed but we declined to oblige. This lodge is up about a dozen steps from the car park but the benefit of the elevated view outweighs the inconvenience. The primroses around the grounds were amazing.
Take your own washing up liquid and scourer, although there is a well stocked shop on site if you are short of anything. One gripe - the windows needed a good wash! Oh and there is a washing machine and clothes line to each lodge. management said booking direct would be cheaper than through hoseasons where we got our deal.

Room Tip: Some lodges have parking alongside; check if you don't want to climb steps from the car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moggieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wmlodge, Front Office Manager at Watermouth Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for your review, We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Watermouth Lodges. We look forward to hopefully seeing you in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 236 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed in Cedars (lodge 11) which Hoseasons had honestly described as contained and small but sufficient for a family of 3 (our youngest is 27 months). The lodge was well equipped and clean and tidy. The TV was quite small. The DVD player sat on a glass shelf which wasn't suitable for a little one running around so we had to move this out of arms reach. The rooms were small but fine for 3 nights. The beds and linen were very comfy. Overall for a 3 night, 3-4 day stay the lodge was perfect in a wonderful & quiet location. The one thing I would need to complain about was the water temp and pressure. The water was scalding and dribbled out of the shower so we had to bath (we were lucky to have the bath). The bath took ages !!! to run.

Facilities-On Friday check-in the lady on reception was very helpful. On Saturday morning a trip to the indoor pool was fun but during peak season the changing rooms wouldn't have been fun to visit. The water wasn't very warm at all so a quick dip was all we could manage. A dip in the "jacuzzi bath" wasn't worth the effort as the jacuzzi element didn't appear to work and there were no obvious buttons to press. A visit to the little shop was next and I wasn't pleased with the same lady who had checked us in as she looked at me and my son in the most judgemental manner that we were going to leave without paying, she almost levitated across the bar demanding the 60p for the Washing-up liquid! Not particularly welcoming.

The outdoor adventure playground was a great hit for us. All contained so no escapes. The bar prices were pretty much the same as all the resort pubs. £7.50 for a large red wine and a pint of Cider.

The indoor soft play area was a hit too. We had it to ourselves. However, the room is very very dated. The pool table not worth the bother and amusements from the early 80's but this was OK as we had the area to ourselves.
Overall-Good value for money at £150 for 3 nights. The lodge and surroundings were beautiful. The staff and dated facilities with exception of adventure playground were dissapointing which is why I marked down from V.Good to Average.

Room Tip: The N2 Retreat lodge looked nice from walking past with the hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Nice size modern ‘log cabin effect’ chalets set in a quiet, beautiful picturesque wooded area behind Watermouth Castle, a stone’s throw from the harbour.

The whole site is clean and very well maintained.

Good 'fairly priced' food in the restaurant. Friendly staff. Warm duvets & comfy bed. Fluffy towels.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wmlodge, Front Office Manager at Watermouth Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Thank you for your review, We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Watermouth Lodges. We look forward to hopefully seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have just come back from another lovely stay at Watermouth Lodges. After what must surely be the longest British winter in history (!), we are pleased to say our lodge ('Pines') was lovely and warm throughout. It was very cosy and comfortable, clean and well appointed, and had great views of the castle and sea.

We have been coming to Watermouth Lodges for many years now and choose to return because the standards are excellent and in our opinion, unsurpassed. The site is very peaceful, being nestled in quintessential Devon countryside, with only the sound of the resident owl to be heard at night time. Suffice to say, it is perfect for families with younger children because the site is so quiet and safe.

We very much enjoy the facilities on offer too, including the indoor swimming pool and sauna room, and the bar restaurant in the evenings. We enjoy the variety of hearty meals on offer, all of which come with a choice of fresh vegetables and salads. We are yet to find anywhere else where the meals are so reasonably priced for the quality and size.

Highly recommended (we've booked for August already!)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurence101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wmlodge, Front Office Manager at Watermouth Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is our second visit in three years here, the lodges are of good size and good value for money although the beds we found to be very uncomfortable. We ate once in the watermouth Inn on site and it was extremely average with not particularly average pricing but if you like everything deep fat fried then it would be ok but still pricey for what it is. Staff in a word are miserable and not very helpful! Would we return? probably not after having visited twice and on the second visit noticed that not a lot has been updated in way of facilities.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yatna110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wmlodge, Front Office Manager at Watermouth Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your comments. In reference to the on-site Watermouth Inn we feel that we cater for a wide variety of preferences. We serve salads, fresh vegetables, jacket potatoes and a selection of homecooked meals. In the last two years we have also invested in upgrading some of our lodges and on-site facilities. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

After reading some of the other reviews I was unsure to what we would get.

We received a warm welcome and being slightly early was pleased our lodge was ready we were in maples 32 with 2 bedrooms it was a nice lodge a good size for 4 people and a 2 year old. Everything you could need and a great central heating system. It could have been slightly cleaner there were several cobwebs around and the bed was bowing in the middle but that's a bit of nit picking and overall I thought it was a good lodge.

The facilities on site the outdoor play area was really good to keep the kids quiet and the indoor pool was lovely. The indoor play area was great for my 2 year old but not really suitable for the older kids. Again cleanliness bothered me slightly the table in this area had coke or something spilt on it on Friday and it was still there Monday morning. Also the disabled toilet hadn't been cleaned in the 4 days we were there.

We ate in the bar and the food was good and reasonably priced as were the drinks. The little shop on site was great for the things we forgot cooking oil and a tin of beans and had everything u could need.

Overall the site was good value for money and offered everything we needed with the addition of some beautiful views and a great location 10 minutes from ilfracombe and a short walk to watermouth castle which was a nice day out. I would return there without doubt.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Feelingnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wmlodge, Front Office Manager at Watermouth Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We will endevour to improve our cleaning standards. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night break at watermouth. Lodges were very modern and newly refurbished. We stayed in lodge 5 - Good for a couple, has everything you need for a short break. Lodges very small especially with having a dog with us and the wardrobes in the bedroom dont open as the beds in the way! We went out most days, woollacombe beach was lovely especially early evening when there weren't many people around - our dog had great fun running about on the sandy beach. We also revisited lynton which was just as nice as when we visited afew years ago.
The park itself was very closed down at this time of year which was abit disappointing, the bar area had chairs and speakers piled up with all the lights off and the outdoor pool was drained - it just looked abit run down but I imagine in the summer in looks nice. The only real complaint would be the staff, we are a friendly couple yet the lady was unwelcoming when we arrived and as soon as we checked in the reception was shut up and not opened again until
Checkout- the reception had leaflets and beach information which would have been useful. We were told you could knock on the room nextdoor if needed but this looked more like a private room with a closed gate outside - intimidating to go and knock. She was also rude as we left which just put a downer on our week really. We had a nice week away with lots of lovely coastal walks but probably wouldn't return here at least not
In winter/off seasons months.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kezandnom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wmlodge, Front Office Manager at Watermouth Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your comments. In reference to the pool we only open the indoor pool in the low season. We are also looking into improving our customer care standards. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berrynarbor
0.5 mi away
Grattons Cedar Lodges
Grattons Cedar Lodges
#10 of 25 in Ilfracombe
115 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
640 reviews
0.8 mi away
Langleigh Guest House
Langleigh Guest House
#1 of 3 in Berrynarbor
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sawmills Freehouse
Sawmills Freehouse
#2 of 3 in Berrynarbor
165 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Watermouth Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermouth Lodges

Address: Berrynarbor, Ilfracombe EX34 9SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe > Berrynarbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Berrynarbor
Price Range: $87 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With truly magnificent views overlooking the beautiful Watermouth Harbour and its famous castle, our holiday park is situated in an outstanding location that offers a host of facilities on well-tended grounds.A very warm welcome awaits you at our family-run Holiday Park, where we are committed to making your stay with us as enjoyable, pleasant and relaxing as we possibly can.For those of you that do not want to cook in our well-equipped lodges, especially after a hard day spent at the beach or discovering the many attractions and activities that North Devon has to offer, there is always our superb restaurant and bar, where all the family is welcome.Whilst relaxing over a cool drink you can choose from a selection of simple bar snacks or from a varied menu with daily specials and separate children's menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Watermouth Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermouth Hotel Berrynarbor
Watermouth Lodges Berrynarbor, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing