We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the little things”
Review of Watermouth Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Watermouth Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have just returned from staying in the lodge Escape 44. The lodge design is great, but in my opinion I cannot see how 8 people can be seated in the lounge area. Cleanliness of the lodge was adequate apart from cobwebs in lounge and bedrooms, and as for the sauna bathroom the plug hole of the shower had not been cleaned for ages, found this out after water would not drain away.
States on website that it has shower/steam, plus sauna for one, sauna is great, but no steam in shower, when we queried this we was told put water on sauna coals this makes the steam (wrong). We asked for someone to come and take a look at shower, and he found out the reason why it was not working the water pipe was not connected to the part that makes the steam in the shower. Outdoor furniture not very clean needs a little tender loving care, The theme Park description is correct but don't expect a quiet holiday. Some of the staff could be a little bit more customer friendly. Stunning sea views where, not from this lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mac0508, General Manager at Watermouth Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

We are sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay at Watermouth Lodges. This Lodge looks out over the beautiful gardens at the back of Watermouth Castle. The Castle caters mainly for children under 10 years old and there are small rides that play music in the gardens. The main noise is from children laughing and enjoying themselves and the rides all close at 5pm. We do apologise if your Lodge was not cleaned properly and will ensure cleaning is done more thoroughly in the future. We do like to deal with any complaints promptly when notified, and will take your comments and suggestions on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 236 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2012

I recently stayed in one of Amberwood lodges with my boyfriend and his family. Whilst the location and views are lovely, we were dissapointed with the attitude of some of the members of staff, who were unhelpful. The food was a bit hit and miss in the restaurant, and we did not always receive what was stated on the menu! The pool table in the main bar was okay but the one in the children's room is missing some of the balls, and the air hockey table does not work. The table tennis table was not by in the indoor pool as stated, but folded up outside, so we could not use it. The lodge itself was nice but not clean enough, and there was an overall bad smell, particularly in the bathroom. The bar and restaurant closed earlier than stated, even with guests still drinking/wanting to order food. The free wi-fi in the bar was very useful but guests should be aware that there is zero phone signal available on the site on any network until you drive further into town. On one evening we wanted to rent a dvd from reception, despite a member of staff being present and watching us browse through them, she then said it wasn't possible as reception is closed, it wouldn't have taken 2 minutes for her to do it herself, as she was standing right there. I used the indoor pool, which was nice but not warm by anyone's standards, and unfortunately the jacuzzi pool did not work and we had to get a refund for the money put in. I had an enjoyable week, going into Ilfracombe and Barnstaple and making our own entertainment in the evenings, but feel that there are improvements to be made which could prevent people from re-visiting Watermouth Lodges.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauz45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Just returned from 4 nights staying in a " Maples" lodge. Arrived fairly late on Monday and received a friendly welcome. Ate in the bar and found the food to be reasonably priced and enjoyable. Purchased a few bits from the small shop too.

We looked at the outdoor pool area, which looked clean but sadly due to the awful weather, we didn't get to try it out. Our little one played happily in the outdoor play area too which although a bit dated, was safe and clean. She loved it, which is what matters after all.

First impressions of the lodge was that it was of a decent size (for 3 of us), relatively modern with a fairly new kitchen and bathroom. There is a helpful information folder provided and we were pleased that everything was in good working order, including the flatscreen tv, dvd player and the remote controls!

The kitchen was clean, of an acceptable standard with a washing-machine, cooker, microwave and fridge freezer. Everything was immaculate including the cutlery, crockery etc.

The bathroom appears to be relatively new. Lovely corner bath and a separate shower unit.

The living area is large enough but we found the floor and the furniture to be dusty. The 2 settees, which are also sofa-beds, although comfy, weren't as clean as I would have liked.

There are 2 bedrooms in the " Maples 32". One has twin beds and the other, a double. The furniture is really old-fashioned, but at the end of the day, who spends their time studying bedroom furniture! The bedrooms were clean and the bedding was too.

The main issue I have with the lodge is that it felt damp. Admittedly, it did rain almost constantly throughout our stay. However, we noticed that papers/magazines that we left out in the lounge felt damp by the end of the day. Also, the double bedroom did have a faint smell of damp to it. I looked around the lodge and couldn't see any visible damp patches, so perhaps it was just the inclement weather.

We paid around £250 for the 4 nights, so I do think it was value for money compared with other accommodation in the area. The location is great and we liked the site. I think we would stay there again, although perhaps would splash out on a different lodge.

Handy hint to anyone looking to stay here, we booked direct through their website as it was cheaper than booking through Hoseasons.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsBManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mac0508, General Manager at Watermouth Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Watermouth Lodges and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. This is a beautiful area with stunning scenery but it was a shame the weather was so wet, glad it didn’t ruin your holiday! You kindly let us know about the problem with damp in the Lodge during your stay and we are looking into the cause, though it may well have been because of the damp weather, as you suggested. Hope to see you again at Watermouth Lodges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

just came back a day early unhelpfull and unfriendly staff thats if u can find anyone, tha co called bar and restaurant shuts at 8.30/9.00 even when poeple are in there cabin was very smelly had to buy plug ins first day over all very poor will not be returning

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trevor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

We are very sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay at Watermouth lodges. The park was very quiet for a few weeks and the bar was shutting after food service but you certainly shouldn’t have been made to feel you should leave; we normally stay open if there are still people in the bar. We try to deal with any queries or complaints as soon as we are notified.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I stayed in Amberwood lodge 42 with my parents, brother and his partner, my partner and 3 month old son. Surfaces in the bar/restaurant area were not properly cleaned and the staff and atmosphere very unwelcoming. Bar closes at 9:30 and restaurant stops serving food at 8:30. Asked for a chicken breast in the restaurant but recieved a chicken leg and someone else asked for a kids meal but were told they were only for kids. Bathrooms in the lodge smelly and floors sticky. Horrible smells on the balcony of the lodge aswell because of the septic tank system below. Highchair and cots provided were stored under a bed and caked in dust, yellow stain on one of the pillows, holes burnt into the ironing board. Cleanliness of the lodge was generally poor thoughout.
Sea view and location good.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Itsjustjade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

We are very sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay at Watermouth lodges. The park was very quiet for a few weeks and the bar was shutting after food service, but we try to stay open if there are still people in the bar. We do try to keep a high standard of cleanliness throughout the park and would like to deal with any queries or complaints as soon as we are notified. We will check Lodges more thoroughly on changeover to ensure our standards stay high.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This year will be our third time here we love it here
So good food very good lodgers clean tidy and spotless kids love taking gran kids this year 6 of us lots of things to do looking forward to week away Andrew sue. Westyorkshire

Room Tip: Very good family hoilday
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Thank you for writing a review of your stay at Watermouth lodges. We are very glad that you have enjoyed staying with us and that you enjoyed the facilities. We are looking forward to seeing you all again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Nice clean accomadation (poplars) but could do with some updating of decor. An electric shower in bathroom would be a plus as bath is quite small and shower/bathtap combo were realy hard to set temperature for showerhead also iron was on its last legs apart from that no complants!
Bar/restarant was good value i thought but were closed tues and thurs (maybe because it was not quite busy enough?). As a result we only got around to having food on our lastnite but it was one of the best meals of the trip wish we had ate thair more. Would go back as devon is a great part of the UK and this is a desent base to visit the many places from.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Neil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mac0508, Manager at Watermouth Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Watermouth Lodges and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you for your comments on the Lodge and Restaurant. We are currently upgrading our Lodges and hope to have them all finished soon. Sorry the restaurant was closed for a couple of days the week you were here; it was because the Park was quiet for a few weeks in May. You are right! Watermouth Lodges is the perfect place to explore beautiful North Devon and Exmoor from.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berrynarbor
0.8 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
633 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beach Cove Coastal Retreat
Beach Cove Coastal Retreat
#2 of 25 in Ilfracombe
313 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grattons Cedar Lodges
Grattons Cedar Lodges
#11 of 25 in Ilfracombe
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Langleigh Guest House
Langleigh Guest House
#1 of 3 in Berrynarbor
228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sawmills Freehouse
Sawmills Freehouse
#2 of 3 in Berrynarbor
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermouth Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermouth Lodges

Address: Berrynarbor, Ilfracombe EX34 9SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe > Berrynarbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Berrynarbor
Price Range: $87 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With truly magnificent views overlooking the beautiful Watermouth Harbour and its famous castle, our holiday park is situated in an outstanding location that offers a host of facilities on well-tended grounds.A very warm welcome awaits you at our family-run Holiday Park, where we are committed to making your stay with us as enjoyable, pleasant and relaxing as we possibly can.For those of you that do not want to cook in our well-equipped lodges, especially after a hard day spent at the beach or discovering the many attractions and activities that North Devon has to offer, there is always our superb restaurant and bar, where all the family is welcome.Whilst relaxing over a cool drink you can choose from a selection of simple bar snacks or from a varied menu with daily specials and separate children's menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Watermouth Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermouth Hotel Berrynarbor
Watermouth Lodges Berrynarbor, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing