We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unwelcoming staff/atmosphere and poor cleanliness.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Watermouth Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Watermouth Lodges
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unwelcoming staff/atmosphere and poor cleanliness.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

I stayed in Amberwood lodge 42 with my parents, brother and his partner, my partner and 3 month old son. Surfaces in the bar/restaurant area were not properly cleaned and the staff and atmosphere very unwelcoming. Bar closes at 9:30 and restaurant stops serving food at 8:30. Asked for a chicken breast in the restaurant but recieved a chicken leg and someone else asked for a kids meal but were told they were only for kids. Bathrooms in the lodge smelly and floors sticky. Horrible smells on the balcony of the lodge aswell because of the septic tank system below. Highchair and cots provided were stored under a bed and caked in dust, yellow stain on one of the pillows, holes burnt into the ironing board. Cleanliness of the lodge was generally poor thoughout.
Sea view and location good.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Itsjustjade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Watermouth Lodges, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
We are very sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay at Watermouth lodges. The park was very quiet for a few weeks and the bar was shutting after food service, but we try to stay open if there are still people in the bar. We do try to keep a high standard of cleanliness throughout the park and would like to deal with any queries or complaints as soon as we are notified. We will check Lodges more thoroughly on changeover to ensure our standards stay high.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    71
    26
    15
    11
See reviews for
135
38
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

This year will be our third time here we love it here
So good food very good lodgers clean tidy and spotless kids love taking gran kids this year 6 of us lots of things to do looking forward to week away Andrew sue. Westyorkshire

Room Tip: Very good family hoilday
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Watermouth Lodges, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you for writing a review of your stay at Watermouth lodges. We are very glad that you have enjoyed staying with us and that you enjoyed the facilities. We are looking forward to seeing you all again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Nice clean accomadation (poplars) but could do with some updating of decor. An electric shower in bathroom would be a plus as bath is quite small and shower/bathtap combo were realy hard to set temperature for showerhead also iron was on its last legs apart from that no complants!
Bar/restarant was good value i thought but were closed tues and thurs (maybe because it was not quite busy enough?). As a result we only got around to having food on our lastnite but it was one of the best meals of the trip wish we had ate thair more. Would go back as devon is a great part of the UK and this is a desent base to visit the many places from.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mac0508, Manager at Watermouth Lodges, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Watermouth Lodges and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you for your comments on the Lodge and Restaurant. We are currently upgrading our Lodges and hope to have them all finished soon. Sorry the restaurant was closed for a couple of days the week you were here; it was because the Park was quiet for a few weeks in May. You are right! Watermouth Lodges is the perfect place to explore beautiful North Devon and Exmoor from.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

I booked this holiday for my birthday, it took me 5 hours to arrive at the destination. When I got into my accomodation, the bathroom window would not close, one of the windows in the living room would not open, someone I assume a previous guest had taken the battery out of the smoke alarm, which was left on top of the cupboard. The double bedroom was full of cobwebs, and the cushions on the sofa looked dirty. The bar/restaurant was closed every evening apart from Tuesday and Friday, I also used the leisure facilities on site, the pool and sauna were satisfactory, however the games room, was full of dust and half the machines didn't work e.g. pool table.
When leaving the property I did all the usual checked under the beds, down the sides of the sofa etc to ensure I hadn't left anything, again I discovered the double bedroom was full of cobwebs an dirt under the bed and that the sofa had crumbs and dust under the cushions, which wouldn't of been from my party because we ate at the table in the property, I felt very dissapointed at this holiday and felt like no effort had been put in by the cleaning team, the accomodation was of a minimal standard, therefore no complaint was made however it was just a let down as a birthday vacation, however the reception staff in the morning was very polite and helpfull.

Also the lodges themselves had no wifi and me and my friend both struggled to get mobile reception one of us being on Orange the other on O2.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mac0508, Manager at Watermouth Lodges, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Watermouth Lodges and would like to assure you we try to ensure lodges and other areas are cleaned to a high standard but, when reported to us, any problems will be dealt with as quickly as possible. We did close the bar and restaurant for some evenings that week as the park was very quiet, however we do accept it must have been disappointing to find any of the facilities closed and we take your comments on board. Regarding the internet, we do have WIFI connection free of charge in the bar/restaurant and games room area, this is stated in the welcome pack, however we do agree that mobile coverage is poor around the park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in an Amberwood lodge ( No.25). It was so comfortable and we loved the master bedroom with the four poster bed and ensuite bathroom ( including a jacuzzi bath). It was very peaceful and relaxing on the site. We were looking forward to enjoying the indoor pool but were disappointed to find it was so cold. The spa pool was warmer but didn't work if your 50p was slightly wet. The tennis court was in need of maintenance and a new net. We found the car parking tricky and tight to get your car in and out of its space. The bar/restaurant was reasonable and staff were friendly. We would love to return again but would want a warmer pool.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chicken1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mac0508, Manager at Watermouth Lodges, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay overall. We have looked into the pool temperature problem and it now maintains a good temperature. The tennis courts, and all other recreational facilities, have been checked and replaced, maintained as required. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012 via mobile

Had no: 1 sea view, looked great on the net but not very clean,cobwebs everywhere also dated but quite roomy! However the amenitys on the other hand I thought were very poor we paid £788.00 for the lodge and we as a family that socialise read on the net that there was a games room and a club with a pool table we found out on arrival that it did have a club but even though it closed at 10.30 the staff clearly didn't agree with the opening times and at 9/9.30pm made it quite clear they were ready to go home and on the Thursday of our holiday after a full day and a meal we came back expecting a drink in our on site club only to find it closed At 9.00pm!!!!!! not our families kind of break!!!shall not be coming again.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurence F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mac0508, Manager at Watermouth Lodges, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay at Watermouth Lodges. We did close our bar and restaurant a little early in April as the park was very quiet for a few of the weeks, however, we understand your frustration at finding our facilities closed and take your point, we will review our advertised opening times and try to make sure we open when stated in the advertising. We do try to ensure our Lodges are cleaned to a high standard and are concerned you found your lodge to be unclean; we will make every effort to improve our standards. Though we do have a problem with cobwebs at times, the spiders seem to sneak back into the lodge as soon as we have finished cleaning!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

We had a lovely break here in a 3 bed Amberwood Lodge. The lodge was spacious with 1 double and 2 twin bedrooms and a large open plan kitchen/dining/living room. The veranda was a good size with views over the grounds of Watermouth Castle.
It was a bit of a trek up to the lodge from the restaurant/pool though and at 7 months pregnant I found this a bit tiring (uphill on the way back!).
The restaurant (when open) is OK but a bit hit and miss - we had some good meals and some bad - very reasonable prices though. Curry night was very popular and the food was very good this night.
The indoor pool in great and this was our favourite bit! There is a lovely adventure playground too which our 3 year old loved.
We would definately come back here as we feel for the price we got good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familymugambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berrynarbor
0.8 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
6.5 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
9.2 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
1.7 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermouth Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermouth Lodges

Property: Watermouth Lodges
Address: Watermouth, Berrynarbor, Ilfracombe EX34 9SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe > Berrynarbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Berrynarbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With truly magnificent views overlooking the beautiful Watermouth Harbour and its famous castle, our holiday park is situated in an outstanding location that offers a host of facilities on well-tended grounds.A very warm welcome awaits you at our family-run Holiday Park, where we are committed to making your stay with us as enjoyable, pleasant and relaxing as we possibly can.For those of you that do not want to cook in our well-equipped lodges, especially after a hard day spent at the beach or discovering the many attractions and activities that North Devon has to offer, there is always our superb restaurant and bar, where all the family is welcome.Whilst relaxing over a cool drink you can choose from a selection of simple bar snacks or from a varied menu with daily specials and separate children's menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Watermouth Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermouth Hotel Berrynarbor
Watermouth Lodges Berrynarbor, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing