We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be cleaner!!! Unfriendly staff after 21.00 hrs bar!! Really????”
Review of Watermouth Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Watermouth Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Had no: 1 sea view, looked great on the net but not very clean,cobwebs everywhere also dated but quite roomy! However the amenitys on the other hand I thought were very poor we paid £788.00 for the lodge and we as a family that socialise read on the net that there was a games room and a club with a pool table we found out on arrival that it did have a club but even though it closed at 10.30 the staff clearly didn't agree with the opening times and at 9/9.30pm made it quite clear they were ready to go home and on the Thursday of our holiday after a full day and a meal we came back expecting a drink in our on site club only to find it closed At 9.00pm!!!!!! not our families kind of break!!!shall not be coming again.

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank Laurence F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mac0508, Manager at Watermouth Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2012

We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay at Watermouth Lodges. We did close our bar and restaurant a little early in April as the park was very quiet for a few of the weeks, however, we understand your frustration at finding our facilities closed and take your point, we will review our advertised opening times and try to make sure we open when stated in the advertising. We do try to ensure our Lodges are cleaned to a high standard and are concerned you found your lodge to be unclean; we will make every effort to improve our standards. Though we do have a problem with cobwebs at times, the spiders seem to sneak back into the lodge as soon as we have finished cleaning!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 236 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2012

We had a lovely break here in a 3 bed Amberwood Lodge. The lodge was spacious with 1 double and 2 twin bedrooms and a large open plan kitchen/dining/living room. The veranda was a good size with views over the grounds of Watermouth Castle.
It was a bit of a trek up to the lodge from the restaurant/pool though and at 7 months pregnant I found this a bit tiring (uphill on the way back!).
The restaurant (when open) is OK but a bit hit and miss - we had some good meals and some bad - very reasonable prices though. Curry night was very popular and the food was very good this night.
The indoor pool in great and this was our favourite bit! There is a lovely adventure playground too which our 3 year old loved.
We would definately come back here as we feel for the price we got good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familymugambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We got a good last minute discount here, so great value.
Lodge wasn't spotless but it was comfortable and spacious (amberwood).
Arrived late and manager very accommodating and staff all round very helpful and friendly, typical of Devon!
Site is small enough to feel rustic and location idyllic. Lovely warm pool and restaurant good and convenient.
Closed in Feb but don't forget to visit the castle next door. Great old fashioned attractions which our 3 small children find enchanting!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LMJEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Having never stayed at such a small site before we were a little worried but, it was wonderful. We booked an Amberwood lodge through Hoseasons, Number 37 for a few days in the February half term. A four poster with spa bath en-suite and a tv for the master bedroom. A very well presented double for the second bedroom and 2 singles for the 3rd. The later rooms shared a bathroom with a shower. The lodge was so clean, the cooker was brand new, as were the carpets, sink and washing machine. The finishing touches just made it, curtains with matching cushions, little painted flower pots in the bay window etc, everything was appealing on the eye. The indoor pool was very clean and as warm as any public indoor pool we've been in. The Jacuzzi cost 50p a go, but when 6 of you can sit and relax in a very hot bubbly tub, its worth it. The children in our party were 10+ but we saw very young children, toddlers and babies enjoying the pool with their parents. We wouldn't hesitate to book again as we adored the peace and quiet of this resort. We also feel the prices quoted in their brochure are far better value than many lodges we have looked at. Even the lodges with an outdoor hot tub are only around 1200 for a week in the holidays(bargain).Keep up the good work and we will keep coming back Watermouth.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I wanted to write a review to let people know what a great place this is. We have been 6 times to Watermouth Lodges and have been at Xmas and at Easter.

The first time we went was a xmas and have never looked back. If you want to get away from it all at xmas then this is the place to go. Its peaceful and relaxing and a great place to unwind.

We have stayed in Lodge 40, 42, Maples 34, The Retreat, Paradise and all lodges are of excellent quality. It depends on what luxury you want as to which lodge to go for. I can recommend all of the ones we have stayed in.

Its a family run park and everyone is very welcoming and its nice to see them year after year.

The restaurant/bar is really nice and serves lovely food. The staff can't do enough for you. Even open for drinks on xmas day!!

The pool is great and the surroundings are very pretty. Only a small walk down to the small harbour. Its about 10 mins into Ilfracombe. Go to Dollys Tea Rooms for a nice Cream Tea.

All in all a great place. Xmas wouldn't be the same with spending it at Watermouth.

Thanks to Carol, Jane & Mac and the staff

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmurphy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed in 'No.2 The Retreat' during the October half term. On arrival the lodge was short of some towels, after approaching the Reception were told couples are expected to share a towel, I don't think so after spending over £730 for the week. The general cleanliness was not up to our standard. The windows appeared to have never been cleaned. The dust collection under the sofa's and beds was substantial. On arrival the bathroom required bleaching as the smell from the drains was unbelievable. The Jacuzzi Bath had missing and inoperative jets. Most of the coffee cups were chipped and the kettle had a mind of its own. The broken trike mentioned in a previous review is still there, and the outdoor pool, despite being closed less than a month ago was green and had many tiles missing, this should be condemned. On the positive side the Restaurant provided good food at a reasonable price. With more attention to cleaning and maintenance this could be so much better.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luckystarWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Had a fantastic 10days in lodge 11,at watermouthlodges,the girls running the restaraunt are brilliant,good food and service,the lodge was clean,warm,and comfortable,and what a great county devon is for a walking hol,hope to go back next spring.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tedwalkerrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berrynarbor
0.5 mi away
Grattons Cedar Lodges
Grattons Cedar Lodges
#12 of 25 in Ilfracombe
115 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
658 reviews
0.8 mi away
Langleigh Guest House
Langleigh Guest House
#1 of 3 in Berrynarbor
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sawmills Freehouse
Sawmills Freehouse
#2 of 3 in Berrynarbor
170 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Watermouth Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermouth Lodges

Address: Berrynarbor, Ilfracombe EX34 9SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe > Berrynarbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Berrynarbor
Price Range: $86 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With truly magnificent views overlooking the beautiful Watermouth Harbour and its famous castle, our holiday park is situated in an outstanding location that offers a host of facilities on well-tended grounds.A very warm welcome awaits you at our family-run Holiday Park, where we are committed to making your stay with us as enjoyable, pleasant and relaxing as we possibly can.For those of you that do not want to cook in our well-equipped lodges, especially after a hard day spent at the beach or discovering the many attractions and activities that North Devon has to offer, there is always our superb restaurant and bar, where all the family is welcome.Whilst relaxing over a cool drink you can choose from a selection of simple bar snacks or from a varied menu with daily specials and separate children's menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Watermouth Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermouth Hotel Berrynarbor
Watermouth Lodges Berrynarbor, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing