We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White House
Certificate of Excellence
KwaZulu-Natal
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Very spacious rooms, crisp white linnen and fluffy towels, the little extras were greatly appreciated. Erica and Steve made us very welcome and the breakfast was excellent.
We had dinner one night at the Old Green Man Pub just across the road - would NOT recommend as food was dreadful, rather go to the George just up the road.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zini6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    29
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
151
15
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

well what can I say absolutely excellent what a start to our weeks holiday Stayed one night here before moving north. Erica and Steve have worked hard, room was excellent, comfortable bed, well decorated. Breakfast was just right before starting a long drive to our next B&B

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve25th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
459 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

A friendly welcome awaited us when we stayed at The White House on a Saturday night. We were given Room 1 which was beautifully decorated with a lovely kingsize bed, towels nicely folded and arranged on the bed, and some lavender laid out on the pillows. Then there were the four pieces of delicious chocolate fudge and a small bottle of white wine. It was a hot day but the small French doors into the garden were open to let a cooling breeze through. The shower, though noisy, was a nice one with great water pressure. Unfortunately one of the two pubs was closed for refirbishment while the other was booked out for a function. We found a very nice restaurant in Woburn, though - Galloway's. Breakfast at The White House came with a range of options from full English through to pancakes through to eggs on toast - plus cereal etc. the only negative was the coffee which had little to no flavour. Otherwise a very nice place to stay. Recommended.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gfsc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed at this B&B for 2 nights while attending a wedding in the area. We had a very nice welcome when we arrived. We stayed in room 1 which was nice and spacious with access through french doors to the garden. The room was very clean and tidy, shower was a great power shower. Also nice touches of free small bottle of wine, fudge, fruit and bottled water. In other places we have stayed these are available at extra cost. We also made use of the free WiFi that was available.
There was only really 1 car parking place available off the road alongside the owners, but plenty of on road parking outside, The road itself was very quiet and not a problem.
There are 2 eating places in the village within 200 - 300 mts away, although the old green man one was closed due to being refurbished. We had a nice meal in the other one "The George" which was an Italian. Its a good location for a variety of places in the area and we would definitely recommend it for it's location, excellent room, service. and it's breakfast was excellent.
It's a very quiet village with only a farm shop and the 2 pubs.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We were in all very happy with the stay and could really recommend this very tidy bed and breakfast for it's location, excellent room, service. and it's breakfast was excellent and the personal touch with fruit and wine in the room etc is always appreciated.

But, the cigarette smell from the owners was terrible. Although they only smoke in their "area" the whole house suffered from many years of smoking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife and I agree with all the 5* reviews. Had a very friendly reception. Stayed one night when visiting Bletchley Park ( also excellent). Room comfortable and clean and well appointed. Breakfast superb in nice dining room overlooking part of attractive garden. Very near the A5 but no traffic noise. Would certainly stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Room 4 off hall way so no stairs to negotiate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed here for one night this week, prior to playing golf at Woburn. We absolutely agree with all the positive comments of other reviewers, particularly noting those little extra touches that make a stay special. There is a very good Italian restaurant st The George, just a short walk down the road. Additionally, Woburn golf is only a five minute drive away - so very convenient for that pastime!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Brickhill
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
3.7 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
2.6 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
5.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#4 of 34 in Milton Keynes
1,303 reviews
6.9 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
#3 of 34 in Milton Keynes
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Property: The White House
Address: The White House Watling Street, Little Brickhill, Milton Keynes MK17 9LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes > Little Brickhill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Little Brickhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White House provides comfortable accommodation in the pretty little village of Little Brickhill.Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, this Bed and Breakfast is ideally located. Conveniently placed a few miles outside of Milton Keynes, it is the perfect place to relax after a busy day. It is also perfectly situated for the many attractions that the area has to offer. Bletchley Park, once Britains best kept secret, is very close by, also Woburn (Golf Club and Safari Park. Restaurants, pubs, theatres and cinemas are not hard to find, and for the more energetic, there is rock climbing, skiing, snowboarding and indoor skydiving, as well as great cycle routes and countryside walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing