We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Northern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Northern Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brechin
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Real friendly staff. Great value for money. Room was nice and clean and good size. At breakfast there was a good variety and the cooked breakfast was excellent. Room rates were reasonable. But check with hotel before booking on the Internet. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GavinBridger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 243 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

Spent two nights at this hotel, and had a really good time, great food, comfortable bedroom, with a great manager and support staff, apart from one, a restaurant waitress who is clearly in the wrong job. We have never been served by a waiter or waitress with such a bad attitude. Curt, unfriendly, rude, with little or no attempt at communicating with customers, who, by the way, actually pay her wages. The worst part was when Laura was handing back change to my wife at the bar, without so much as a please or thank you, and instead of politely handing the change back, she deliberately dropped the money into m wife's hand, which made my wife feel belittled. Even when she brought the meals to the table, there were no smiles, or courteous exchange wishing us to enjoy your meal, Laura only spoke the name of the meal, placed it on the table, and walked off. Neither did she come back to see if we were enjoying our food.
I spoke to the manager, and advised him that we would come back, but only if Laura was no longer working there. We have never been treated like that by anyone, but we were disgusted by the treatment, and our advice would be to give the hotel a body swerve as long as that excuse for a waitress still works there .

Room Tip: The rooms we saw all looked appealing, it was ony spoilt for us by one person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline N Ia... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Visited recently in a party for lunch. Staff were friendly and the food was very nice, chosen from a wide selection. Comfy environment perhaps a little under lit but it was a dark thundery day! All in all an establishment I would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

arrived for family meal staff very abrupt and seemed uninteresred waited ,were given 1 menu between 4 of us after 10 mins were told we had menus long enough we were asked "what do you want " very abruptly,Our drinks were slammed on table then 45 minutes later our starters eventually arrived.although all the tables after us got starters before us.Waiting staff never smiled ,bill was slammed on table ,were never thanked for our custom,Have been before and liked it but after this nightmare will never be back.Food was edible but not up to usual standard.A waste of money!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scotsmale36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Eaten here a few times over the past year as a couple and with a large family group and the food has always been very good. A large menu suitable for everyone, modern and clean environment. Staff are friendly, service is a bit slow but good food is always worth waiting on!
Limited parking in hotel car park. During my last visit my car got blocked in by another customer parking his car, staff were very helpful and tracked down the driver for me, thanks. Plenty street parking available outside.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank KingCharlesScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Have never stayed here, but we have eaten here a couple of times and been delighted both times. Comfortable seating, reasonably wide menu choice, good portions of well cooked food, excellent service, and keenly priced. If you're looking for a nice meal in Brechin I don't think you'll be disappointed by the Northern.
The last time we ate here it was a family meal for 12 and they put tables together to make a big square, rather than a long thin table, so conversations were carried on round the whole table, not just with the people next to you. Very effective and very thoughtful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Engineer-Chappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

The staff are very helpful. The food was really good, both breakfast and evening meal where the choice and quality exceeded expectations. Desk in toom could have been bigger.
Will stay again next time in area.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CNC-expert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brechin
5.1 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
571 reviews
7.5 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Montrose
317 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Town House Hotel Arbroath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
13.8 mi away
Airlie Arms Hotel
Airlie Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kirriemuir
130 reviews
7.5 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#1 of 5 in Montrose
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Hotel

Address: 2 Clerk Street, Brechin DD9 6AE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Brechin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brechin
Price Range: $104 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located in centre of Brechin with 15 rooms and 5 self catering apartments.Perfect for business customers as well as families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Hotel Brechin, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing