We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay”
Review of Northern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Northern Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brechin
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Northern Hotel in Brechin. My friend and I stayed using a 3 night twin room including breakfast from KGB deals. I have to say that it was one of the hotels that I have stayed in.
The staff are both friendly and the keep the areas and bedroom really clean...and the breakfast each morning was out of this world....the traditional scottish breakfast included scones (flat pancakes) and plenty of tea and toast. It was presented beautifully and on hot plates.
We ate in the hotel's restaurant 2 nights of the our stay...again the food was well presented and good value for money...again beautifully cooked...they have a daily specially menu which includes a starter and at least 3 different mains along with a desert...the chef is brilliant so thank you for that.
The hotel has its own car park...this located to the side of the hotel through an arch...there are a number of spaces available and unlike another reviewer the exit is fine.
All in all we had a fantastic stay and would stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Room 107 is good since it overlooks the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazza24_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    79
    22
    6
    10
See reviews for
53
71
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Lovely food, service good. Hotel very nicely decorated. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrtitchmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Hotel location is very central on a busy road, there is some parking at the back of the hotel but it is limited. The hotel is well decorated and clean.
Upon arrival there was no one on reception so we had to wait for someone to arrive, I noticed there was rarely anyone on reception and in fact on departure the breakfast waitress had to check us out.
Our room was lovely very large, with modern fittings, in both room and bathroom. A plus was the radiator in the room that we controlled so when it turned cool we were able to turn the heat up.
We were in room 106 on the first floor and unfortunately directly above the public bar, on the first night we were only disturbed by people leaving the pub around 11.30 but on our second night there was a disco in the bar and we were kept awake untill after 1am with extremely loud music, as we had a 6 hour drive home the next day to say this was annoying was an understatement. I would have appreciated some warning by the hotel staff as they must know that this would disturb hotel guests. The problem was by the time we aware of this it was already around 10.30pm and with no idea how long the music would last we didn't want to have to pack up and move to another room so did not mention this to the staff until check out the next day, the response was "oh" !!
Food - we ate in the restaurant both nights, again first night exceptional service great food. Brilliant, first day at breakfast the same guy served us and we thoroughly enjoyed it.
What a difference then on night two when we were waiting for 30 minutes before we were served, despite having booked a table and being hotel guests. The food was still good but service not so good. Breakfast on the second morning was also a disappointment as people who arrived after us were served first after 20 minutes i had to ask the waitress for coffee, we decided we couldn't wait to be served breakfast and left.
So overall - lovely hotel, good rooms and food. Service was hit and miss depending who was on shift. Maybe a room in a different part of the hotel would have prevented a sleepless night and and given the hotel a better rating.

Room Tip: Avoid 106 its above the public bar and noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaznmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I wasnt too sure what to expect as we pulled up outside the hotel - Once inside I could see that the it was a good reflection of the interior. We stayed in a room on the ground floor which was behind the kitchen. The room itself was average but clean. The bathroom was very nice with a large shower enclosure. A point to note - our room was extreamly warm and friends that were on the same trip there all said the same. The windows do open but they are straight onto the main road so expect some noise. There was also a very very strange noise coming from the bar next door. It lasted all night and did affect my sleep. The bar is average although service was very slow. I ordered a drink and they told me to take a seat and they would bring it over. It arrived some 10 minutes later and was not what I ordered. Breakfast was very good - and there was a good selection to choose from. This hotel was average and I probably wouldnt stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid booking a room on the ground floor as you get a lot of noise from kitchen and bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InvernessSarah2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We had a super trip to a little 'gem' of a hotel in Brechin. Just a couple of minutes off the main road between Dundee and Aberdeen. Our expectations were not too high but we were more than happy.
We had a good deal for B&B - the Bedroom was quite small but was so well appointed and the other B was simply super (try the Arbroath smokie) it came with bacon, eggs and tomatoes on the side. The Continental was not set out as usual to go dry and stale - it was ordered and came beautifully served. With loads and tea, coffee, toast etc and served with a warm smile. We also had dinner on the first night we were there and could not fault it for service, quality or price.
The staff were great and Jamie the manager, was friendly and helpful and always doing what was needed.
Golf trips are catered for as well by Jamie - although we are not golfers.
We would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: There is music in the public bar on Saturdays but you can ask for a room further over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marscotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Went to stay here,while touring Scotland, a very good stopping off venue. Had a good double room which we were very comfortable in, a pleasant dinning room where we had a very good evening meal, and were very well looked after. A good Scottish Breakfast before departing, very pleasant staff who one young lady who doubled on reception as well, everbody doing there bit. Would certainly come back if in the part of the Country. Paul and Joan Bennett.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a good standard for the weary traveller
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Booked into this hotel for a couple of nights. Were advised that there may be a bit of noise from the bar since there was an agricultural show in progress. The twin room was well appointed, clean and quiet, THROUGHOUT the night. (The most noise would have come from the kitchen staff below) The restaurant provided very good, quality food; albeit some attention to detail was lacking. Nevertheless I'd be happy to book a visit in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrNoGrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brechin
5.1 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
7.5 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#1 of 5 in Montrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
7.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 5 in Montrose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Montrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
22.7 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
13.8 mi away
Airlie Arms Hotel
Airlie Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kirriemuir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Hotel

Property: Northern Hotel
Address: 2 Clerk Street, Brechin DD9 6AE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Brechin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brechin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located in centre of Brechin with 15 rooms and 5 self catering apartments.Perfect for business customers as well as families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Hotel Brechin, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing