We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super spacious house and garden.”
other travelers have booked this property
The Old School
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old School
Converted Primary School The Old School
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
The Old School
Converted Primary School
The Old School
Sitting Area with Open Fire
Spiral Staircase
Kitchen Area
Master with Kingsize bed and en suite bathroom
Double with Double bed with en suite bathroom
Double with 2 single beds plus en suite
The back garden and view
View from back garden
View from the back garden
Local Visitor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Brechin, Angus, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jacquelin...
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super spacious house and garden.”
Reviewed August 20, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Old School is a fabulous holiday home for a family being very well equipped and spacious. En-suite bathrooms to each bedroom was such a benefit with three children. Plus the large garden [with bbq available] was great for tiring kids out in the evening. Great location; easy access to coast [Montrose had great play area for kids by the beach], Dundee had lots to do on a rainy day, and the Angus glens. We loved Peel Farm craft and coffee shop at Lintrathen near Kirriemuir, super large shop in converted barn and near Reekie LInn waterfall walk. Loved riverside walk at Blairgowrie too and Cargills restaurant on riverside.
Many thoughtful touches at The Old School such as toys, book case and of course the coffee cake! Will look forward to returning, highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray B
Kent, England
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic, relaxing stay.”
Reviewed July 6, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We booked the The Old School as part of an extended holiday to celebrate the wedding of a close friend (more like family really). We started in Pitlochry before moving to Careston for the second part of the wedding. As the reception was starting at 16:00hrs, we were allowed to book in early so we could get ready (thank you Fiona for getting the place ready in time). The whole house was spotlessly clean and in very good condition.

My wife and I stayed here with our 2 adult sons so having all 3 bedrooms with their own en-suites was very useful. The water pressure is not very good however but Fiona did warn us about this and said a plumber was due to sort it out after we left. Hopefully that has now been done.

The house is beautifully renovated and decorated and has everything you could need for a weeks stay in the country side. Despite being in the country, it has easy access to Brechin and the main roads but is far enough away to not hear anything. If you need anything you only have to ask Nick or Fiona who are excellent hosts.

One of the things we like is peace and quiet which is just what this house offers. There is a good wi-fi connection at the house for those that need that, however getting a mobile phone signal is very hit and miss. There is no landline but when I mentioned this to Nick, he said he had one if guests requested it. I would recommend requesting one as if the worst came to the worst and there was a fire or other emergency, there would be no way to summon help. Sadly, we only mentioned this as we were leaving but it's there if you want it.

Our friends in Brechin were very impressed with this holiday home and will encourage other family and friends to use it (as we will). We thoroughly enjoyed out stay at the Old School and will definitely use it again.

Thank you Nick and Fiona for a fabulous stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location
Liked least: Lack of water pressure
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gino_coco...
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Truly fantastic holiday accommodation ”
Reviewed April 10, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second visit to this beautiful holiday cottage and it certainly won't be our last. Beautifully presented, spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. Quite fantastic. Totally loved the gorgeous coffee cake and Spring flowers which greeted us on our arrival. These extra touches show a great deal of thought and care from the owners. Would encourage anyone looking for holiday accommodation in Angus to very quickly book this one! Quite simply, you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2016
It was lovely to see you back for a second stay, we were sorry however that we couldn't do anything about the weather. Thank you for the kind remarks and we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laticslad...
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“TOP RATE ACCOMODATION”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely cottage with a high standard of decor.I could not fault it.Probably the best self catering cottage I have stayed in over the last 20 years.Friendly helpful owners who even baked a cake for our arrival.Would definitely stay there again.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2015
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and that the weather was almost kind to you, it would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrmac
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty Perfect”
Reviewed May 28, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This house is just beautiful! It really has it all - especially if the sun shines!
The house is a stunning conversion from an old school house. Each bedroom has its own ensuite AND another bathroom downstairs. Everything is just so clean and new looking but I know its been up and running for at least a few years. The lower floor is an open space with a fab lounge area, a dinning area and then a superb kitchen. I wish my house looked like this! Over all excellent facilities, a garden shed with lovely outdoor furniture, a BBQ (;o)) and even bikes to go out on or even just around the massive beautifully kept lawn! The owners are extremely friendly, helpful and even bake you a yummy coffee cake on arrival! Thank you Nick and your lovely wife for a wonderful stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2015
It was a great pleasure to have you and you friends to stay, and I am very glad that you had a glimpse of the sun during your stay and were able to make some use of the garden furniture if not the BBQ. Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A-Wood201...
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Fantastic place for any length of stay”
Reviewed May 16, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Myself and some colleagues stayed at the Old School for over a week, and we do not have a single complaint. Nick and his wife were extremely welcoming, the house itself is modern, clean and very spacious and the beds are really comfy.

There's a large garden with nice views, ample space for parking and it's easily accessible from the main road - although you feel like you're in the middle of the countryside.

All in all a great stay and would highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness and space
Liked least: Internet signal wasn't always great, but it wasn't a bit issue.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2015
Hi Alison, Both Fiona and I were delighted that you and your team enjoyed your stay at the Old School, Careston.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gtoneeye
Gretna Green, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“the cottaged will never be bettered”
Reviewed April 25, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

we as a group spent three days at the old school and as bowlers we travel all over the country and we have stayed in many cottages but this one will never be bettered comfortable homely well equipped warm

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2015
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future if you are competing in this area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing