We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“the cottaged will never be bettered”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Brechin, Angus, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

gtoneeye
Gretna Green, United Kingdom
1 review
“the cottaged will never be bettered”
Reviewed April 25, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

we as a group spent three days at the old school and as bowlers we travel all over the country and we have stayed in many cottages but this one will never be bettered comfortable homely well equipped warm

Date of stay: April 2015
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2015
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future if you are competing in this area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piggywigg
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderfully equipped and comfortable cottage!”
Reviewed April 9, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our long weekend here. Nick and Fiona (owners) couldn't have done enough for us...including fresh flowers and a delicious chocolate cake on arrival!

The cottage is equipped to a very high standard with really comfy beds and en-suites for all rooms.

We'll definitely be back!

Date of stay: April 2015
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret...
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy Retreat.”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a wonderful 3 weeks in The Old School at the end of January/beginning of February. Our hosts were very accommodating to our needs, and very flexible with our booking dates. It was the perfect location for my husband to commute to and from Aberdeen on business and it was a great place for us to entertain our friends and family. The house was always warm and cosy despite the typical Scottish winter weather during our stay. We loved all the personal touches, the home made coffee cake awaiting us on our arrival, the open log fire, the well equipped kitchen and the general ambiance of the house. We would love to stay there again and have no hesitation in giving it 5 stars.

Date of stay: January 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2014
We were both delighted that you enjoyed your stay despite the very variable weather you had to endure.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill L
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just a perfect home away from home.”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Old School was easy to find and Nick was waiting to greet us. The house has been renovated to a really high standard and the kitchen is especially well equipped. The photos don't do the house justice and the roll top bath in the master ensuite was a lovely touch. The kids (ages 5-13) all loved the place and wifi worked faultlessly, which is essential for kids these days. Our hosts were helpfull and were happy for us to host a family get together and there's was plenty glasses to cater for extra. We will try and book again and I have no reservations recommending the Old School.

Date of stay: February 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The genourous space to relax
Liked least: No plastic tableware for young kids
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan O
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This is quite simply the best house to stay in with the best landlord and lady living next door. They are kind and attentive even putting up a Christmas tree to welcome us.
All the furniture is very comfortable and all the bathrooms and showers in superb order.
The kitchen is completely equipped. As a cook myself I could not fault it. The washing machine and clothes dryer work very well and quickly if need be. The house is warm and always welcoming.
It is suited for entertaining and our guests are always very impressed by the very high standard of everything in the house.Invariably the first remark is:"Gosh! This is fantastic." They are correct.
It is indeed simply FANTASTIC.

Date of stay: December 2013
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona D
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A well modernised deceptively spacious old school house”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

The schoolhouse has been recently modernised and everything is very well presented and immaculately clean. We were greeted by the owners who were very friendly and helpful. The house had everything that we could need and with 2 teenangers we made good use of the wifi. It is in a very peaceful area and I liked the large windows in the property which makes it feel very light and spacious. There are lots of things to do in the surrounding area, we even saw dolphins on a walk along the coast. I would recommend this property.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dragonbre...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Having stayed here recently during a business trip to Aberdeen, I would definitely recommend it to others and am considering coming back with my family in the near future. The area was quiet and peaceful yet easily accessible by the A90. The place itself had a great living space, perfect for socialising and the bedrooms were spacious and comfortable.
The landlord was very friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.