We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“no longer open. up for sale yet again.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Kings Arms Pub

Kings Arms Pub
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Fernhurst
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“no longer open. up for sale yet again.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is now closed.Reading the reviews, i'm not surprised its closed!!!! Hopefully any new owners will be more sucessful.
Shame really as setting is idyllic

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laketravellersSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    36
    19
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Now 'The Handsome Pig', no longer a source of fine food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Marco Pierre White has clearly sold on his franchise at the King's Arms in Fernhurst and it has been rebranded as a pub with a new, garish sign. I'm not sure what was wrong with the old name, as surely this serves to attract existing customers, but the main point is not to go here expecting crisp linen, lots of tables, a buzzy atmosphere and a large choice of food: it's a pub which serves some food, and that's it.

Admittedly we went mid-week in December but the place was dark and devoid of any atmosphere (or customers for that matter), and the man who turned out to be the new manager was propped up against the bar. No real welcome nor explanation of any changes - a PR opportunity missed.

The food available was only on the blackboard, and although adequate, there was nothing special or worthy of note here. The wine list to accompany the food was desperately short - only three unexciting reds, for example. Service was OK, but I do object to having to fish the tea-bag out of my cup!

I'm not sure how this establishment can survive, unless it intends to do so purely as a pub. Good luck to the new managers with this new incarnation. We won't be returning, in any event.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keithmalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Sussex
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We have had several good meals at Wheelers Kings Arms and had booked online ten days ago for tonight (20th Oct). We had a confirmation email and were looking forward to it.

A friend told us yesterday that the place had changed hands so we rang and were told it was no longer a fine dining restaurant and was now a pub that doesn't take bookings.

We have heard nothing from Wheelers and I notice that it is still possible to make an online booking for tonight.

It seems to us that there is only one question - are Wheelers totally disorganised or do they just not care about their customers.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Closed!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We travelled some distance here for a celebratory meal last Thursday (booked several weeks ago and reconfirmed only the week before!) only to find the place in total darkness! Noone had tried to contact us to let us know about the "closure for refurbishment". Today I have eventually received contact to let me know that this is no longer trading as a Wheelers of St James venue but will be reopening under another guise. I can't comment on the food or accomodation as we didn't get that far and I don't suppose we'll be going back!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Margot1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely, special evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Spent Sautday evening here having a meal with the family, and it was so lovely, relaxed and very special!
The food was excellent! Pea and ham soup that tasted divine, no processed tat here. Belly Pork, Venison and Lamb was all top qualilty and presented as you would expect; perfectly! We all went home stuffed and happy. Service was excellent, got the balance of attentive yet distant, spot on!
I would definitely recommend - it's certainly the best meal out we have had for some time!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mel.fDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Arms Pub also viewed

 
Fernhurst, West Sussex
Lurgashall, West Sussex
 

Been to Kings Arms Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing