We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid the accommodation- food good”
Review of The Kings Arms

The Kings Arms
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Fernhurst
Price range: $4 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The current owners Johnny and Annie Portman have had The Kings Arms since May 2013 and have since then been striving to bring this pub back to a traditional country pub with a few modern twists! Nestling in the South Downs, The Kings Arms is a traditional English country pub in an historic timber framed building, dating back to the 17th Century. This Grade II listed building has been lovingly restored to its former splendour with modern touches offering a taste of how a real pub should be in a relaxed yet professional environment welcoming travellers and locals alike. Why not sit on one of our sofas by a cosy fire in the winter or in our large beer garden with stunning views in the summer months. If you want to extend you stay with us, we also have six en suite rooms in a converted stable block. Why not explore the surrounding area which is home to the Cowdray Estate famous for polo and golf, Goodwood Racecourse and also a number of beautiful National Trust walks and cycling routes.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid the accommodation- food good”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Room 6 reeked of dreadful drains - the smell hit us in the face when I was shown to my room. The loo roll holder was wonky and covered in rust (see photograph), as were the shower selves. The towel rail heater was broken and hanging and the carpet was dirty. The room was cold and damp and it was pouring outside and there weren't any other rooms available and it was a Saturday night - i'd never get anywhere else. The bathroom was basic, rather like a Premier Inn, and the TV tiny. The cost? £100 a night.

The staff were very well mannered, my evening meal was good and service excellent and the manager had the grace to give me a 50% discount on the accommodation because of the drains. I didn't deal with the other deficits. But I'd never return to the accommodation.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vanessa j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    36
    19
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Marco's Fare”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The battered fish was superb and for that I'll go back.
Easy parking. Calm atmosphere. Friendly, willing service with a smattering of forgiveable errors.
Reasonably priced. We've paid more for less at the local pizzerias.
Locally there are mixed opinions and reviews about this restaurant. It may not be the Wheeler's of old but when it comes down to the fish and chips, a little of Marco's magic has definitely infused through.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nothing special !”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We went here with my parents for a birthday dinner with a deal from Travelzoo. From the outside the restaurant looked lovely, but the very dark decor inside made it feel very oppresive inside.

The food was nice, but nothing that blew me away. The service was poor and slow and the staff didn't seem to know what they were doing.

If you didn't have a voucher for this meal then it would be very expensive for what you get.

All in all a disappointing experience and not something we will be repeating.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hallows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great gastro pub break”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is my first ever review on Tripadviser, having used the site for years I've never felt inclined to actually write a review.
However, The Wheelers is a lovely spot that offer fantastic value, great service, good food, landscaped gardens and perfectly adequate rooms.
We stayed on a Friday night for the dinner, bed and breakfast package that was fantastic value at £139 for two people. The dinner was great, all three courses were delicious and the service provided by the girls in the restaurant was excellent. We booked a late dinner at 9pm due to the fact we had a hot air balloon trip booked and they were perfectly accommodating.
We would certainly stay again.
The rooms were basic but perfectly comfortable, with quality soft furnishings, tea & coffee facilities and luxury toiletries.
Only slight criticism is the large stain on the carpet in room 6 and the kettle which was already filled with water and the lack of hand rail in the shower as the only thing to hold onto was a scolding hot tap.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MinalBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not up to scratch”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This restaurant needs Marco to shake it up. The lighting is very poor, difficult to read the menu, bill, etc. Even the staff had difficulty keeping track of orders in the gloom. (One tea light per table).
We went on a Travelzoo voucher offer, so had a limited menu (no issue with that,to be expected), but felt that the overall experience was dissapointing, and we were embarrassed at entertaining our friends at such a poor place. Starters were fine, though not inspiring, we ordered vegetables with the main course but were only served half measures until we complained and then the balance appeared. The dessert was either stilton or choice of three puddings - we were informed one was not available, but no alternative was offered - surprising as there were probably 20 diners there all evening and it is supposed to be an a la carte restaurant. Just perhaps we were second class Travelzoo citizens.
There were only 3 waiting staff on (Tues evening) and service was poor. Had to wait ages for coffee, ages for the bill, which took three attempts by the manager to get right, The manager was around all evening but did not acknowledge guests, and after all our frustration with the bill he just left it to the poor young waiter to apologise profusely. The fact that a cover charge was levvied was also a dissapointment. The waiting staff, while enthusiastic, were in my opinion not sufficiently trained to the level that this restauranrt is aiming for. No offer of pouring wine, even the white in an ice bucket behind my wife - we had to get up and do the waiter's job.
This restaurant seems to me like a classic case of a franchise organisation becoming too big, and the franchisees just not being up to the standards originally envisaged. I hope Marco goes in sometime to sort the place out. I would not recommend this restaurant based on our experiences on 11 Sept 2012.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaxwellCoopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Arms also viewed

 
Fernhurst, West Sussex
Lurgashall, West Sussex
 

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing