We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We can't wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Albergo Diffuso Antica Dimora del Gruccione
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Santu Lussurgiu
Certificate of Excellence
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We can't wait to go back”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

It's hard to know where to begin in describing how wonderful this place is. We could tell you that the service is excellent (it is) or that the rooms are clean (they are), but what makes this place special is almost ineffable. From the moment we arrived, it felt as if we had become privy to some kind of secret.

Staying here was the highlight of our two week honeymoon in Italy and Sardinia. The hotel is spread across a few buildings in the center of this medieval village, but the central home has remained in the owner's family for five generations. You can feel the history as you walk up the staircase (you can see the indentation of a million footsteps). Our room was comfortable and overlooked a garden. But while the house is lovely and the accommodations were everything we needed to relax and sleep well, the draw of Antica Dimora del Gruccione is undoubtedly the food.

We dined each night under the apple tree in the garden, where the chef Roberto prepared a multi-course dinner entirely from locally sourced ingredients, and Lucilla gave us excellent wine suggestions and talked with us at length about the hotel, food, and traveling in the US. (Locavores take note: Roberto is the real thing. He goes out in the mornings to nearby farms and makes that evening's dinner with whatever he finds - the food could not possibly be fresher and more seasonal.) Among many courses our first night, the highlights for us were the most perfectly delicate zucchini fritters, fresh figs with pecorino, Sardinian durum wheat pasta with local beef, and lemon cream with bee pollen. On our second night, we had, among other things, a salad with quail eggs, sheep's milk cheese and anchovies, a wonderful risotto, and local beef with fennel and black peppercorns. Nothing disappointed in the least. After dinner, we were treated to homemade apertifs, like Roberto's recipes for mirto and absinthe with wild mint.

If you want to stay in accommodations that are utterly unique, eat food that borders on the transcendent, and meet some of the most delightful hosts imaginable - we recommend Antica Dimora del Gruccione.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bing830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    50
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
25
130
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We loved our stay here. We had the incredible dinner three nights in a row and hardly saw the same type of dish twice. Roberto and Lucilla made us feel special in the best, kindest way. Food is a slow experience here, leaving time for each locally grown dish to be truly savoured. We ate for over 3 hours every evening and never felt stuffed. Great wine recommendations made for a perfect culinary experience. The rooms and the hotel all have oodles of character. For us, this was perfection.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9wout9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culemborg
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This hotel is set in the somewhat sleepy but beautiful town of Santu Lussurgiu. It's a very nice place to relax (with a beautiful green shady garden). The rooms are beautufully designed, comfortably (with AC) and clean. But the real prize is chef Roberto Fore who cooks dinner for the guests every night. All plates are culinary and honest Sardinian gems, with a wine card that contains the best of Sardinian wines. Roberto cooks with passion and skill (his desserts are heavenly) and shares his enthousiasm for local food. I had the best suckling pig I've ever eaten (or will eat probably). And Roberto, thanks again for that 2005 Surreau!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sneaky_Pete66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

If you are thougtful, appreciative, and sensitive, you will want to spend some of your life's precious nights here. This hotel is an heirloom, and must be appreciated as such. Those looking for fast action might look elsewhere. The action here is in the detail, and in that respect it is one of the most fabulous and agreeable places I have ever visited. Dinner, harvested, collected, rooted, cut, found locally in the woods, by the streams, in the valleys - is the stuff that storybooks are made of. Nearly three hours in the garden, under the lemon tree, surrounded with fresh herbs and passion flowers, made a dinner not a meal but an experience of pure joy and subtle amusement (the latter in reference to a lemon mouse dessert that was other-worldly). And breakfast might have floated in with the morning dew -- pure, gentle, and sublime. I am a romantic but jaded too from life in New York -- I don't buy in easily or patiently, but this is the real thing. Anyway, come to this place patiently and tread gently, look at, feel, smell and embrace the details, and you will be richly rewarded.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

my first impression of the place was great - an old palazzo quite taken care of, with old features intact, and we were provided with a good (oddly modern and slightly dysfunctional) room which had an excellent bed.
The staff are the direct descendants of the original owners of the property.
Our stay there was good but I wished there had been more information available about the town and surroundings - perhaps suggestions regarding local products and places to see and opening times of the shops, influence of the festivities in the town, etc.
The dinner was fair and fortunately not very expensive. Although we were asked if we had any dietary restrictions (we did), they weren't respected. It is to be highlighted that they follow the slow food concept, only local products used, therefore the limitations are easier to understand. The breakfast was very very good. The internet should be facilitated.
So, excellent moments mixed with some unpleasant details.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ullcosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Santa Lussurgiu is a lovely, bustling hill town northeast of Oristano where the church bells ring quarterly from 6 am to 11 pm and the residents make an emphatic point of greeting you on the streets. Within this is the Antica Dimora Del Gruccione and its lovely green courtyard filled with herb pots, lemon trees, two precocious cats, and (at least for a while) a sweet foundling lamb. The food was outstanding and unique in that the meal was a succession of sumptuous small plates rather than the typical antipasti-primi-secondi march. All were amazing, and a few—imagine a perfect, salty sun-dried tomato dressed with fermented sheep's milk and herbed bread crumbs—stand with the best tastes I've experienced since moving to Milan a year ago. Even if your stuffed (or worried about becoming stuffed!), don't miss the amazing array of pecorinos and artisanal beef sausages, or the chef's incredible homemade mirto and other digestivi. For all this, the nightly mezzo pensione rate seemed like stealing.

Guests should bear in mind that this is a hill town with narrow lanes, meaning you will need to park your car a block or two from the hotel and port your luggage (over cobbles, where suitcase wheels are little help). If you will need help, best to leave it in the car until after you've checked in and had a chance to request assistance. This is also an old home -- a spectacular one -- that requires navigating several flights of stairs and uneven floorboards. I found it charming in the extreme but someone with balance or mobility problems may not.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erinleemartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2012

A gem. We were met at the door by the owner holding an adorable, white lamb. She ushered us into the beautiful stone courtyard of her grandparents' home and enveloped us in the warmth and sweetness of her family. They are a 'slow food' establishment with the astonishing and delicious food that you hope for but rarely find. We had wild garlic, wild asparagus and wild artichokes foraged by Lucilla and the chef, the characterisitic red beef of the region, many local cheeses, innumerable delicious small appetizers and home-made aperitifs. We only stayed two nights and I wished we had spent days there.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santu Lussurgiu
13.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Sa Pischedda Bosa
0.1 mi away
Sas Benas
Sas Benas
#2 of 4 in Santu Lussurgiu
80 reviews
16.2 mi away
Aquae Sinis Albergo Diffuso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hotel Bella Vista S'Archittu
11.1 mi away
Is Arenas Resort
Is Arenas Resort
#1 of 1 in Narbolia
341 reviews
13.4 mi away
Isola Rossa Resort
Isola Rossa Resort
#2 of 15 in Bosa
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Diffuso Antica Dimora del Gruccione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Diffuso Antica Dimora del Gruccione

Property: Albergo Diffuso Antica Dimora del Gruccione
Address: Via Michele Obinu 31, 09075 Santu Lussurgiu, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Oristano > Santu Lussurgiu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Santu Lussurgiu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Diffuso Antica Dimora del Gruccione 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Albergo Diffuso Antica Dimora del Gruccione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Diffuso Antica Dimora Del Gruccione Santu Lussurgiu, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing