We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and warmhearted”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Albergo Diffuso Antica Dimora del Gruccione
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Santu Lussurgiu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We loved our stay here. We had the incredible dinner three nights in a row and hardly saw the same type of dish twice. Roberto and Lucilla made us feel special in the best, kindest way. Food is a slow experience here, leaving time for each locally grown dish to be truly savoured. We ate for over 3 hours every evening and never felt stuffed. Great wine recommendations made for a perfect culinary experience. The rooms and the hotel all have oodles of character. For us, this was perfection.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 9wout9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 212 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

This hotel is set in the somewhat sleepy but beautiful town of Santu Lussurgiu. It's a very nice place to relax (with a beautiful green shady garden). The rooms are beautufully designed, comfortably (with AC) and clean. But the real prize is chef Roberto Fore who cooks dinner for the guests every night. All plates are culinary and honest Sardinian gems, with a wine card that contains the best of Sardinian wines. Roberto cooks with passion and skill (his desserts are heavenly) and shares his enthousiasm for local food. I had the best suckling pig I've ever eaten (or will eat probably). And Roberto, thanks again for that 2005 Surreau!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sneaky_Pete66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

If you are thougtful, appreciative, and sensitive, you will want to spend some of your life's precious nights here. This hotel is an heirloom, and must be appreciated as such. Those looking for fast action might look elsewhere. The action here is in the detail, and in that respect it is one of the most fabulous and agreeable places I have ever visited. Dinner, harvested, collected, rooted, cut, found locally in the woods, by the streams, in the valleys - is the stuff that storybooks are made of. Nearly three hours in the garden, under the lemon tree, surrounded with fresh herbs and passion flowers, made a dinner not a meal but an experience of pure joy and subtle amusement (the latter in reference to a lemon mouse dessert that was other-worldly). And breakfast might have floated in with the morning dew -- pure, gentle, and sublime. I am a romantic but jaded too from life in New York -- I don't buy in easily or patiently, but this is the real thing. Anyway, come to this place patiently and tread gently, look at, feel, smell and embrace the details, and you will be richly rewarded.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

my first impression of the place was great - an old palazzo quite taken care of, with old features intact, and we were provided with a good (oddly modern and slightly dysfunctional) room which had an excellent bed.
The staff are the direct descendants of the original owners of the property.
Our stay there was good but I wished there had been more information available about the town and surroundings - perhaps suggestions regarding local products and places to see and opening times of the shops, influence of the festivities in the town, etc.
The dinner was fair and fortunately not very expensive. Although we were asked if we had any dietary restrictions (we did), they weren't respected. It is to be highlighted that they follow the slow food concept, only local products used, therefore the limitations are easier to understand. The breakfast was very very good. The internet should be facilitated.
So, excellent moments mixed with some unpleasant details.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ullcosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Santa Lussurgiu is a lovely, bustling hill town northeast of Oristano where the church bells ring quarterly from 6 am to 11 pm and the residents make an emphatic point of greeting you on the streets. Within this is the Antica Dimora Del Gruccione and its lovely green courtyard filled with herb pots, lemon trees, two precocious cats, and (at least for a while) a sweet foundling lamb. The food was outstanding and unique in that the meal was a succession of sumptuous small plates rather than the typical antipasti-primi-secondi march. All were amazing, and a few—imagine a perfect, salty sun-dried tomato dressed with fermented sheep's milk and herbed bread crumbs—stand with the best tastes I've experienced since moving to Milan a year ago. Even if your stuffed (or worried about becoming stuffed!), don't miss the amazing array of pecorinos and artisanal beef sausages, or the chef's incredible homemade mirto and other digestivi. For all this, the nightly mezzo pensione rate seemed like stealing.

Guests should bear in mind that this is a hill town with narrow lanes, meaning you will need to park your car a block or two from the hotel and port your luggage (over cobbles, where suitcase wheels are little help). If you will need help, best to leave it in the car until after you've checked in and had a chance to request assistance. This is also an old home -- a spectacular one -- that requires navigating several flights of stairs and uneven floorboards. I found it charming in the extreme but someone with balance or mobility problems may not.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erinleemartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

A gem. We were met at the door by the owner holding an adorable, white lamb. She ushered us into the beautiful stone courtyard of her grandparents' home and enveloped us in the warmth and sweetness of her family. They are a 'slow food' establishment with the astonishing and delicious food that you hope for but rarely find. We had wild garlic, wild asparagus and wild artichokes foraged by Lucilla and the chef, the characterisitic red beef of the region, many local cheeses, innumerable delicious small appetizers and home-made aperitifs. We only stayed two nights and I wished we had spent days there.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is worth the drive up windy roads and into the tiny cobbled streets of this medieval village where we were suddenly glad of our small rental car.

The welcome was friendly when you finally found the door, and Lucilla was happy to speak English (her mother speaks German as a second language) and let us know the history of the villa which has been in her family since her great-great grandmother. She has returned from Italy to Santu Lussurgiu with her boyfriend, the chef, to help her mother run this beautiful house as a hotel.

Our room wasn't in the main house but in the next lane behind it, and it was always interesting walking through the house and feeling the history, and seeing the wonderful ways each part was used. The bedroom was fitted with Art Deco furniture, and had a good en-suite. Be sure to take your own shampoo, conditioner, etc. - nothing supplied but soap. We didn't find air-conditioning and had the windows open somewhat, so insect repellent would have been a good idea.

Dinner was served in the courtyard under the lemon trees and consisted of a number of antipasti dishes including lovely quails egg on home-made bread with shredded truffle, then a beef prima, followed by a delicious desert. It wasn't served until after 9 pm and went on for a couple of hours so was an experience in itself, but one to be prepared for! We found it hard to stay awake but we didn't want to miss anything.

Church bells from all over the town woke us up for breakfast - which again was a feast. Everthing was home-made or sourced locally. The chef is obviously a baker at heart since the sweet cakes, bread, etc. were wonderful - and what a selection!

This is a rustic house with charming details so don't expect perfection in all things.
WiFi is available on the ground floor at a small premium.
Parking is near the church, or where ever it is possible to fit a car among such narrow streets.

Altogether a great opportunity to catch a glimpse of how life is, and was, lived in the interior of this lovely country.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santu Lussurgiu
0.1 mi away
Sas Benas
Sas Benas
#2 of 4 in Santu Lussurgiu
83 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hotel Lucrezia
Hotel Lucrezia
#2 of 14 in Oristano
194 reviews
16.1 mi away
Aquae Sinis Albergo Diffuso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel Su Baione
Hotel Su Baione
#2 of 2 in Abbasanta
167 reviews
14 mi away
Casa Pisanu
Casa Pisanu
#8 of 14 in Oristano
54 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Sa Pischedda Bosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Diffuso Antica Dimora del Gruccione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Diffuso Antica Dimora del Gruccione

Address: Via Michele Obinu 31, 09075 Santu Lussurgiu, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Oristano > Santu Lussurgiu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Santu Lussurgiu
Price Range: $98 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Diffuso Antica Dimora del Gruccione 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Albergo Diffuso Antica Dimora del Gruccione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Diffuso Antica Dimora Del Gruccione Santu Lussurgiu, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing