We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Susegad
Nearby Hotels
$43
$28
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Treebo Aqua Blu(Calangute)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sincro Hotel(Margao)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveler rating
183
11
4
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
11
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscats and dogswonderful hostssunshine roomrecommend casahome from homeperfect retreatcooking tipsexotic birdsgorgeous roombeautiful househead massagecarole and normanhomemade peanut butterswimming poolmassage roomidyllic placewestern ghats
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 201 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2009

The hotel's motto is the art of elegant idleness, and if that is what you are after, this is it. This hotel is small - 4 rooms only, has very friendly staff, wonderful food, a beautiful pool, and some rooms for use by all the guests - snooker room, dining room and lounge, in a converted old portuguese farmhouse. All on the edge of the jungle and you can occasionally see the monkeys swinging up in the trees.

We were more active than some of the guests, and this is a good base from which to explore. We hired a scooter and went diving, to the odd beach, to a spice farm and Old Goa. All are 15 to 40 mins away, but you could equally take a taxi. Having said that, given the hotel is such a lovely retreat, we became pretty lazy pretty quickly.

What this hotel is NOT - it is not a luxury corporate hotel chain, swarming with British, Russian or other tourists. Bliss. I read the one average review this hotel received and I think the negative comments about the bathroom water, staff, cleanliness and lack of peace are inaccurate and/or precious.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterandharriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Casa Susegad was the perfect place to end our holiday in India. Carole and Norman are great hosts who have transformed what was a run down old Portuguese farmhouse into a small delightful guest house.
The rooms are beautifully decorated and adorned with antique furniture and ornaments from all over India. The bed was superbly comfortable and the bathrooms are spacious with modern fittings. The best feature for us, however, was that the rooms open straight out onto the gorgeous swimming pool.
The rest of the house is fitted out to a very high standard with copious antiques and plenty of design flair. All the public rooms including the snooker room, dining room, sitting room and kitchen are cool and welcoming and you are encouraged to feel very much as though it is your home during your stay.
The food was imaginative, plentiful and beautifully presented. Every member of staff was happy, friendly and efficient.
The hotel surroundings are well kept and it is great to see so many butterflies and dragonflies. The peacefulness of the area is wonderful.
At this point we have to confess that we were guilty of not leaving Casa Susegad during our entire stay as it is so relaxing but we do know that the beach is not far away and there are other interesting excursions one can make from the house.
With regard to the previous review, we were concerned about some of the comments before staying. We can confidently say, however, that the hot water took 50 seconds to come - we timed it. The breakfasts were huge and the bathrooms are wet rooms and so the shower is designed to flow onto the floor.
Would we return to Goa, probably. Would we return to Casa Susegad, definitely. If you want peaceful surroundings, great food and service, wonderful hosts and elegant interiors Casa Susegad is to be highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2009

I am afraid I am going to be a party pooper, when I look at all the other rave reviews. But I hope my frankness will cause change, because my partner and I enjoyed many aspects of our 5 night stay. It's just that the reality of this place does not live up to the goal that the hosts, Carol and Norman have set themselves. Their brand motto is "The art of elegant idleness". Well, for one thing, the work you have to put in to keeping the bathroom floor dry with the provided mop isn't my idea of a holiday. The bathrooms are ridiculously planned - as big as, if not bigger than, the bedrooms and the shower just showers all over the floor. "We are really encourage our guests to be conscious of their use of water," says Norman in a tone of voice that suggests he has been on some new age course. All very well, but you have to run the water and waste the water for a good ten minutes before it even starts to feel warm. I feel Carol and Norman are a shade out of their depth. The toilet seat was broken. Both my partner and I cut our heads on the shelf by the shower, because the shower head is so close to the wall that you have to lean in to get the water and the shelf is so close to the shower. A large sun parasol broke before our very eyes - the wood was rotten. There are a myriad servants, but they are not adequately supervised: there are cigarette ends left in ashtrays on the terrace and old glasses on tables and the workmen repairing a terrace area shout across the courtyard. Not exactly relaxing. There is something slightly self-conscious and mean-spirited about the way they run the place. We were staying in the "Rose Quartz" room. That meant some sparkly Rajasthani fabric on the bedcover and cushions. But we never saw that again after day one: after making its rose quartz impact it was replaced by some dull, slightly frayed cover and no cushions. And breakfast. A great menu, but suddenly we became aware that it was a case of cereal OR eggs! Hello! The food is otherwise good, so a mean English breakfast just doesn't tie up - certainly not with the "our home is your home" pose. It is also not a place for non-smokers. Norman is chain smoking all the time. You are enjoying a cup of coffee outside your room. Norman comes to chat. That's fine. But the cigarette ends mount up visibly. Yugh! I could go on. This place could be lovely, but it is like Carol and Norman have moved to Goa for a change of lifestyle (and boy do you hear enough about that) and the hotel issue is added on. But the hotel issue is not cheap by Indian standards - 8,500 rupees per night (full board). They need to shelve their lifestyle for a few years more until the staff are fully trained and reliable, get more hands on and open their eyes to all the little and big problems that running a hotel involves. Especially a hotel with such pretensions. The place is fine for a one night stay on the way to or from Goa airport. But 5 nights was too long.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank IntrepidHector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casasusegad, owner at Casa Susegad, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2009

Dear N&L, We do not normally respond to the impartial views of our guests but, in this instance, we feel that we should clarify a few issues for the benefit of other readers.

You arrived with us tired and in low spirits having been flooded out of your booked accomodation following a night of rain that left everyone in the state with much clearing up to do. (We overlooked one ashtray and 2 plastic glasses on a distant coffee table, for which we apologise.)

We are saddened to find that we were unable to afford you an appropriate environment in which to rescue the remainder of your time in Goa. We are pleased however to note that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay here.

We have to accept that the informal atmosphere at Casa Susegad is not for everyone.

Your views are perfectly valid and we appreciate your frankness. Readers may, however, wish to be appraised of the following-
 While none of our staff are formally trained they serve our guests with heart and soul and have been with us from the beginning of our venture. They are as committed to the comfort and enjoyment of our guests as we are. We are extremely proud of their achievements and are happy to note that, even with your exacting standards, you award 4 out of 5 marks for their service. For this and your generous tip, we thank you on their behalf.
 All of our shower water is collected in grey water tanks and is used to water our gardens, (water conservation is very important in Goa). Hot water is provided via solar powered heaters, the nearest to the Rose room being no more than 5m away – even allowing for plumbing certainly no more than double that. I think that your estimate of 10 minutes for water to reach you is a little exaggerated…
 There are no broken toilet seats or any other damage in our bathrooms, which are designed on the Indian wet room style with Hindware and Jaguar fixtures and fittings.
 We are sorry for the cut to the forehead that one of you sustained, although we are still at a loss to figure out how….
 The cost of your double room was in fact rs7650, not rs8500 per night as you were given a 10% discount for your 5 night stay. For the benefit of other readers this includes early morning tea or coffee, full breakfast (anything you want), morning tea/coffee with cookies, 3 course lunch, afternoon tea/coffee with cookies and a four course dinner. We are pleased to note how much you enjoyed our food.
 We take the health and safety of our guests very seriously. Our patio umbrellas were sourced from the best supplier we could find in India, Loomcrafts (see their excellent web site). We were horrified when one of the arms supporting a canopy simply broke away as they are of 4 inch square steamed beach construction. These umbrellas, which are barely 6 months old, were immediately removed from the pool area and Loomcrafts are replacing the wooden poles with stainless steel in compensation. Smaller umbrellas are already in place for our guests.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you both for your gift of 2 beautiful music cds and hope that you are happy with the vanilla and spices that Carole sourced for you.

We hope you continue to enjoy your travels in India.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2009

Let me begin with a confession. As I write this, my mind is wandering, my heart misses my 5 warm and cuddly new friends and I am in an extremely relaxed and satiated mood. And it is with great confidence that I can say anyone who spends a weekend or more in Casa Susegad will come away feeling the same.
A side of Goa that is underexplored unraveled itself at this palatial Portuguese mansion. The half an hour drive to the house gave us a first glimpse of the lazy and laid back village of Loutolim. Pretty houses with rolling estates attached to each one dating back to the Portuguese settlement time give this place a princely feel. Our hosts Norman and Carole, just like the place, are an epitome of charm and warmth. The couple’s lovely dogs greeted us upon our arrival. Although otherwise scared of dogs, it dint take me more than an hour to overcome my fear and fall in love with them and their unique personalities.
Our room (the Sunshine Room) was the largest of all the four rooms that the couple let out to guests. Fine Rajasthani furniture adorns all corners of the room. The Steens have achieved a perfect blend of rustic appeal, unique elegance and the modern comforts of daily life in the rooms.
Morning tea and breakfast was bliss. Surrounded by natural beauty and a spectacular array of birds, butterflies and monkeys, we found it difficult to move from the breakfast table. Our sumptuous meals prepared with extreme thought and served by the charming girls at Susegad made it all the more difficult to stir away. Our wonderful hosts checked about our meal preferences in advance and ensured that everything was top notch and to our liking. The meat that is cooked here is carefully selected and fresh. We were pampered with a gorgeous array of crab, chicken and fish dishes, sinfully tasty deserts and the most amazing tea and coffee (sourced from the famous Chickmaglur coffee estates). But one can’t stay away from the inviting pool for too long, which draws and invites you to take a dip, also serving as a wonderful way to cool down. Beach beds are meticulously laid out every morning and are a super way to relax and ‘do nothing’.
The villa being extremely vast and spacious, we dint feel the need to venture out much! The front porch, the lounge, the billiards room, the pool area, the aromatic kitchen are just some of the various options to lounge and relax in. The couple has a well stocked kitchen bar and with the unique “Honesty Bar” concept, guests have the leisure of just walking and picking out a drink to sip by the pool. A walk through the village on one of the evenings was extremely rewarding and our hosts educated us about the history of the village and the various families that reside in it.
Selecting a good place to stay is never an easy process, it can often be quite difficult to strike a balance between quality and price. But Casa Susegad lives up to all expectations and makes you want to stay on much longer than you initially set out to. A perfect birthday! Thank you Norman and Carole! And my love!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RubyViks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

after a wonderful flight with kingfisher airlines we arrrived in colva ! best description is the rubbish dump of goa ! we walked out of one hotel and found a nice budget one - but were not happy ! we hired a tuk tuk for a whole afternoon and went looking for a new hotel (4 hours worth lol) - whilst discussing hotels at the tate bar we met a couple "norman and carole" they told us about their hotel which is pretty unique ! there was a brochure behind the bar and we read it and decided to give it a go and booked from the saturday for 10 nights - when we arrived on the saturday morning we were greated by norman and carole and to our fortune found we were the only ones staying so pick a room ! we chose the sunshine room which is nothoing less than amazing ! (look at their website !) after an afternoon of relaxing in our pool ! and a lovely dinner on our terrace ! we fell asleep on a soft pocket sprung mattress _ thank god ! the next morning we had coffee on our terrace and our waitress brought the breakfast menu ! whilst eating our breakfast and taking everything in there was a loud crack in the trees and down came the monkeys straight from the jungle behind ! they swung and jumped onto the roof of the house next door it was amazing ! for the next days every day was an experience ! watching the humming bird every morning on the bushes next to us to walking to the village where pascal owns the local bar ! and of course the samosa man mmm best ever tasted ! norman even treated ken to an india shave and head massage one morning (better known as a head slapping lol) what can one say we had our own lounge with large tv and sat channels - our own dinning room ! and our own snooker room ! best of all was the pool and just watching the dragon flies and butterflies everyday - and of course our eveing walk to the village when there was always monkeys around ! (wait for the crack of the branches) fantastic food, perfect hosts and a wealth of memories can we say more !!!! If you ever stay here ask Norman to "LOOK AT THAT" he will understand lol.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken8190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews