We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Hideaway”
Review of Casa Susegad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Susegad
Ranked #1 of 2 Loutolim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Fairly close to the airport and beaches, this small, delightful hotel is the perfect way to spend your last day and night in Goa.
The rooms are large, comfortable and full of interesting objects - as is the house itself.
The pool and gardens are delightful, and the food and service excellent.
Unfortunately, the owners were away when we were there, as I would have liked to have met them.

Room Tip: There are only four bedrooms and they all face on to the pool, gardens and hillside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnelestergeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 197 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

We spent a wonderful week at Casa Susegad and loved every minute. Loutolim is a quiet village with lovely walks through the streets lined with Portuguese houses. Casa Susegad has been beautifully restored by Norman and Carole. The rooms are lovely and comfortable and cleaned every day. We had our meals served on our terrace. Joanita's food is delicious. We had dishes from Goan Curries to salads to toasties and even a chip butty. Try her baby sweetcorn in batter and her bimbly jam dip mmmmm. Joanita tried to serve what we wanted if we didn't feel like a large meal. The gardens are amazing and very interesting with an abundance of birdlife. We spotted many birds just sat on our terrace (loved the bird who came to drink and bathe in the pool). Carole and Norman are a lovely couple and made us feel very welcome. Peter looked after us at the bar and made great cocktails. A walk around the grounds was always accompanied by Basil and the lovely Lisa two of the resident dogs. All in all a fantastic placed to unwind and relax especially on the massive sunbeds around the pool,

Casa Susegad is about a 30 minute taxi ride from Cavolossim and Benolim beach which is beautiful.

Looking forward to returning to Casa Susegad in the near future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at Casa Susegad three nights in March 2014 .
The house is located in a small , peaceful village which feels very authentic and is definetely not crowded with tourists .The “Casa “ looks very elegant , both the outside and the interior , especially the dining and leisure areas made a deep impression on us .The garden is very , very nice ,too and there is a swimming pool , all backed by a hill and woods .
On arrival we were greeted warmly by Norman and Carol and appointed the Rose Room .The room is pretty basic for the price we paid ( 267,73 euros / Rs 22,275 for three nights ) and there was no hot water in the mornings but it features a lot of antique furniture and an extravagant design .The room price is including a modest breakfast but if you are still hungry then you can order from the menu e.g. 2 pancakes , a couple of toasties or a porridge for Rs 250.- each .We didn’t like that the rooms cannot be locked from the outside so when we took a day trip to Mollem National Park we were forced to leave the room open and there is no safe either, which means that all your stuff remaines unguarded. On the other hand, “Casa “ feels safe and staff members are usually busy in the garden.
As to the lunch and dinner you don’t really have to look for a restaurant outside as Casa Susegad offers these for Rs 1200.- per person per meal ( not cheap as for Indian standards , the meals are not big but they are fresh and you can request in advance particular food be made for you , which is nice especially for vegetarians or vegans ). Just bear in mind that all the food and coffee served to you has to be paid for, which might not be clear to some, as there is no information in the room about rates (except for additional breakfast dishes ) and the staff offer you drinks and biscuits throughout the day.
Casa Susegad has definitely a great potential and it advertises as “the art of elegant idleness “ but in fact if you desire some privacy you might find joyful laughs from the bar beginning early in the morning and going on until around midnight as well barking and monkey-chasing dogs a little disturbing. Each room has its own terrace but since they are not separated from one another anyhow you might feel “surrounded “ by your neighbours. Norman and Carol are very social and warm people and they visited our terrace multiple times a day to chat and it was fun , but when they started to pop their heads into our room it felt like they were too present.
We would recommend this place to people who look for a homestay rather then a hotel , and don’t mind paying inflated rates.As Norman says : you can live like a king here, if your pockets are deep enough. The place will also be fascinating to those interested in the colonial architecture.
Thank you Norman and Carol for taking care of us and good luck !

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank India Travel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casasusegad, Owner at Casa Susegad, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank-you for your review. We wish to clarify a few small points for the benefit of future guests-

Breakfast tea/coffee, fruit juice and a main course breakfast is included in the room rate. Extra dishes are available at a nominal rs250.

11am and 4pm, a choice of teas and freshly filtered filter coffee is served with cookies, also included in the room rate

Lunches are available from rs275

Formal 3 course dinner is rs1200

Although very rarely requested in the past 7 years, room keys are available on request.

We are saddened whenever we hear that someone's stay has not lived up to their expectations and wish you well in your future travels. warm regards, Carole and Norman Steen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I was incredibly impressed by this boutique small hotel/homestay which gave me a chance to see a little of life away from the beaches of Goa. Ideal as a first or last stop for the airport due to its great location in a small village. The warmth of the welcome from Norman and Carole set the tone for my 3 day stay and add this to comfy rooms,all individually decorated with flair and imagination. Then add fantastic home cooked food, a swimming pool, a jungley backdrop complete with monekys, lovely gardens and various pets and this place becomes a real gem. I thought the owners were lovely people and being able to share their home even for a short time was a very special experience

Room Tip: choose your favourite colour !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seaprincess2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My family stayed at Casa Susegad in January and we had a lovely time, the rooms are very comfortable and the bathrooms very spacious with lovely hot showers, the pool area surrounded by trees is very relaxing and we enjoyed the best cocktails I have experienced in India whilst watching monkeys playing in the trees. The management is fantastic and the service very personal, the staff went out of their way to ensure that our stay was beyond perfect. The food was delicious and the dining and bar areas very pleasant. We were travelling with a baby and were provided with the use of a cot and a car seat which we have found not always available at other Goan hotels where we have stayed. We also enjoyed a massage in a secluded area in the grounds of the hotel whilst listening to the wildlife. I would thoroughly recommend staying at Casa Susegad.

Room Tip: All of the rooms that my family used were equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsElvins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed in Casa Susegad last week for unfortunately only 1 night. We went there after a 10 days yoga retreat on the Patnam Beach and I admit I was a little sad leaving our beach paradise. Once arrived, I just felt at home. Beautiful place with very nice rooms (and hot water!), lovely meals. Staff and owners make your stay even more special... We started the dream with a lovely visit of the 5 steps gardens... Just go and get spoilt!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ceylan589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Not your usual hotel, all sparkle with little sincerity, no this is the real thing.
Carol and Norman are genuinely welcoming and take great pleasure in getting their guests settled in and feeling at home and welcome from the start.
We loved every minute of our four day stay and were looked after and spoiled, with great company, food, snacks and their detailed knowledge about Loutolim and many of its residents and history.
We usually dine out in the evening but every one of our four evenings was a gastronomic treat, with wonderful home cooked food, served alfresco outside your room or in the communal dining room. Whichever works for you, works for your hosts and staff. All the staff are lovely, including the resident pets. Keep it up Carol and Norman. We hope to revisit soon.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SandG P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loutolim
4.9 mi away
Alila Diwa Goa
Alila Diwa Goa
#2 of 39 in Salcette
1,927 reviews
11.8 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,333 reviews
11.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
MAYFAIR Hideaway Spa Resort
5.3 mi away
Beleza...by the beach
Beleza...by the beach
#1 of 5 in Betalbatim
800 reviews
9.1 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Susegad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Susegad

Address: House No. 589, Orgao, Loutolim 403718, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Loutolim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Loutolim
Price Range: $133 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Casa Susegad 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imaginatively restored colonial mansion house only 20 minutes drive from beaches, with all of the friendliness and charm of a rural village setting. Set in one and a half acres of beautiful grounds we are surrounded by forest and jungle in what is often described as Goa's most beautiful village. Enjoy being pampered, well fed and thoroughly spoiled and find your own meaning for Susegad. Car and driver arranged on request; spa therapies, snooker, home theatre, local walking maps, wi-fi and yoga available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Susegad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Susegad Hotel Loutolim
Casa Susegad Goa/Loutolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing