We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly exceptional place”
Review of Casa Susegad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Susegad
Ranked #1 of 2 Loutolim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I was nervous about going to India - noise, hassle, sickness - and then we went Casa Susegad. From the moment we landed at Goa, we could not have been treated better. The building is beautiful and has been restored with passion and a a wonderful eye for detail; the setting amidst the tropical plants and trees is wonderful; the staff smile and laugh and deliver impeccable personal service; but the real stars (in addition to the dogs) are Norman and Carole. They built it, they run it and they provide a level of service that is second to none. You feel as if you are staying with old friends but beneath their effortless delivery is a tightly run organisation which provides hassle free, flexible service of the very highest quality.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 196 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

Carole and Norman truly make you feel at home. Casa Susegad is a home away from home. The friendly local staff is doing their best to fulfill your needs and their hospitality is one of a kind. I can truly recommend this place if you like to hang out with other traveller´s and meet really nice people.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyHolmstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We last stayed here in April 2011 and wondered if the standards could be kept up no need to worry! We stayed in The Sunshine Room this time which was light and airy and our fears of not having AC were proved to be groundless as we didn't need it because of the construction of the room. The whole team at Casa Susegad were just as good if not better than during our last stay from Joanita what fantastic food she cooked for us the pork vindaloo was our favourite , she cooked me tomato soup one day from scratch, despite never having made it before. Her son Joe was such a well behaved boy and also helped his mum whenever he could. We were lucky enough to be invited to his birthday party. Peter was a brilliant barman with nothing too much trouble and his wife Romana did wonders too. They volunteered to take us to midnight mass on Christmas Eve, at the village church. I enjoyed teaching their daughter Pearlcy to ride her new bike too and miss the sound of uncle uncle come help me. Alex the guy who looked after among other things the pool was brilliant putting up and taking down the canopies at just the right times during the day while his wife Sita helped Joanita in the kitchen. Their two boys Prince and Benju were a delight and we helped them on their bikes too. Rosario, Maria, Felicidad, Anita, and Florina all played their important parts in the running of the place too. It was good to see Deodita back again, after getting married and having a lovely daughter, looking after the bills. It was also fun to teach Shawn Florina's son to swim he wanted to be in the water every minute he could. Ramdas the best taxi driver in Goa was always there on time to take us on our various jaunts and Sarla kept everyone supple with her massages or if the ladies needed a manicure she did those very well too.
The fellow guests all seemed to be like minded travellers rather than just tourists and we swapped many a traveller's tale over dinner or G&Ts. The place never seemed to be crowded either even when all rooms were full.
The grounds have matured nicely and the pool was refreshing and clean. Norman and Carole looked after us with lots of suggestions for trips and we especially enjoyed Norman's famous air guitar on new Years Eve.We also liked going to the market with Norman and Carole just to see local life. The games room has had a revamp so has the bar with a lovely granite counter fitted which provides a meeting point for all the guests.
The food and drink are very reasonably priced and as previously mentioned the food especially delicious, try the masala omelette for breakfast.
It was good to go round to the houses in the local area giving out presents to the children on christmas morning and to the children's party at the local church. We ended up feeling so relaxed and just like locals. We enjoyed seeing all the household dogs and cats too they are all so friendly even if Basil and Lisa insist on joining you for your evening stroll to the village!
We miss the place so much and will definitely be back thank you everyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice but The Sunshine is a little larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redvanmorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at Casa Susegad with friends of our for just one night due to other commitments, but we all had a great time. From the moment we arrived untill we left the staff made us feel at home, nothing was too much trouble for them. We all enjoyed the home cooked food, we had breakfast and lunch by the pool and dinner in the cool and rather grand dinning room. Casa Susegad is a beautiful old Goan house which has been restored to a high standard with love, creativity and flair. We will be back but will stay for longer next time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonAnnwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Norman and Carole and the lovely team made Casa Susegad a home away from home.

Their beautiful property has been lovingly and painstakingly decorated with stunning Indian furniture and soft furnishings and the rooms, pool area and outdoor areas have lots of really cosy nooks and crannies to chill out and enjoy the best the place has to offer.

All the food we ate at Casa Susegad was fantastic and Carole and Norman had fantastic advice about everything from restaurants to day trips, jewellery to good travel reads.

We had a fantastic time in Goa but staying here was what really made it all the more special.

The only problem is it's so cosy that you don't want to leave and explore what Goa has to offer!

Room Tip: The Sunshine room is very spacious and cool which makes for a good night's sleep. It also has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had an amazing time in Casa Susegad. Everything makes this place a perfect, warm place where you feel home and relaxed from the first until the last minute of your stay. The Guest House itself is decorated with love and with an eye for every detail. The rooms are all with joyfull colours which makes you wake up with a smile. Carole, Norman and all the staff are the most lovely people, you can ask them everything, they are willing to show you around, to give you advice and do everything to make your stay an awesome experience. Breakfast in front of your room, a home made cocktail by the pool, having a great lunch or dinner, a cosy evening with games or with a chat in the bar or simply enjoying the silence and peace of the beautiful garten. Everything is possible in Casa Susegad. Casa Susegad is not in the middle between all the touristic areas in Goa (which is nice!), but still you are able to reach and visit everything in short distance. We would recommend this lovely place to everyone and would love to come back again in the future!! Thank you Carole and Norman for the wonderful time we had in Casa Susegad!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieHammy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed for five days at this lovely place, and will definitely go again.

The pluses:
- Carol and Norman are excellent hosts, as are their staff. Genuinely warm and caring, both Carol and Norman really make you feel like guests in their own home (which you are). They are also generous with their time and advice, especially since they know Goa pretty well. They're great folks, and it was really awesome getting to know them better through meals, chats etc.
- The food is all home cooked, and really pretty awesome. The mango jam, chutney and crumble desserts are absolutely phenomenal, and some of the best stuff I've had in India (and I'm based here).
- The staff are very friendly and helpful.
- The dogs and cats were great. All very friendly, none of the animals were malicious, and each with their quirks. If you like animals, they're great fun. My wife and I have fond memories of taking a walk around the neighbourhood with three dogs with us: never felt safer, though the pigs that got chased by our dogs probably begged to differ!
- The facilities are clean and pretty well maintained.
- The atmosphere is really quiet, as the location is rustic and right next to the jungle.
- No mobile reception. Great if you're really escaping work.
- The flower pot near the pool. I'll leave Carol and Norman to explain further in person.... :)

Caveats (which didn't apply to us, but which could apply to others with different tastes/preferences):
- While the facilities are clean and well maintained, and the rooms are generally nice and comfy, they are homestyle and rustic, and might not be to everyone's taste.
- Showers are also not separated from the toilet, which might be a problem for the anal and for those with OCD who hate getting their feet wet.
- Proximity to the jungle and the monsoon means there are a lot of mosquitoes, especially at dusk. The rooms have air conditioning and insect repellent, and we were ok with our own herbal insect repellent.
- Obviously, this place is not for you if you don't like dogs and cats! (but we absolutely adored the animals)

My wife and I had withdrawal symptoms after we returned to Mumbai... we definitely plan on going back again sometime!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Peijing T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loutolim
4.9 mi away
Alila Diwa Goa
Alila Diwa Goa
#2 of 39 in Salcette
1,923 reviews
10.0 mi away
Coconut Creek
Coconut Creek
#1 of 5 in Bogmalo
262 reviews
13.6 mi away
MAYFAIR Hideaway Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,319 reviews
11.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
9.1 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Susegad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Susegad

Address: House No. 589, Orgao, Loutolim 403718, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Loutolim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Loutolim
Price Range: $133 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Casa Susegad 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imaginatively restored colonial mansion house only 20 minutes drive from beaches, with all of the friendliness and charm of a rural village setting. Set in one and a half acres of beautiful grounds we are surrounded by forest and jungle in what is often described as Goa's most beautiful village. Enjoy being pampered, well fed and thoroughly spoiled and find your own meaning for Susegad. Car and driver arranged on request; spa therapies, snooker, home theatre, local walking maps, wi-fi and yoga available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Susegad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Susegad Hotel Loutolim
Casa Susegad Goa/Loutolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing