We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my stay”
Review of Casa Susegad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Susegad
Ranked #1 of 2 Loutolim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2012

casa susegad lives up to its name and reputation. peaceful, calm, hospitable, caring, clean, exquisite,beautiful surroundings, combined with the monsoon season in goa along with the personal touch and undivided attention of the owners and their dedicated team made my stay extremely comfortable. to add the cuisine was absolutely divine.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
Thank angela p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 199 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2012

Casa Susegad was everything we hoped it would be! The Portugese Mansion was stunningly beautiful, each of it's rooms more wonderful than the last, very colourful and full of gorgeous antiques! The staff could'nt have made us more welcome, they were warm and courtious. The pool set in lush grounds, was clean and warm as a bath. The food was delicious and our room was excellent.This is the place if you want to truly chill out and leave the cares of the world behind. Sarla who does the back massage is amazing! We would love to go back for more of the same some day!

Room Tip: The turquoise and Rose rooms are both lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelfairy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

both casa susegad and loutolim village occupy a vast space in my heart. loutolim itself is probably the most laid back place i have ever visited, its pace of life is very slow. a stark contrast to most other places i have been to in india. a walk through loutolim is one of my favourite things to do and is highly advisable. expect to see a content community carrying out a smoothly run life, be asked by locals if you need a lift anywhere and be confronted by enthusiastic children exited by your presence. i'll never forget the sight of a young girl charmingly knocking fruit out of a tree by throwing a stick on one of my walks. so typical of loutolim. its situation in goa is perfect, right in the middle. nowhere in the state is beyond visiting in a day. as for casa susegad, delicately touching. carole and norman as hosts are extremely welcoming and helpful, coupled with a superb team of friendly staff, they have nailed the market of tranquil places to stay in india. i have been told by both carole and norman and the staff, after a few visits, that i feel like family to them. the feeling is very much mutual. on each arrival i have been smacked with the sense of arriving home. it is the perfect place for switching off from the western world and all of its pressures. carole and norman will ensure your stay is a comfortable one. visit the local market with carole, share stories with norman, or just find your own quiet spot in casa susegads grounds to be alone. something you won't struggle to do. every member of staff is unique, bringing their own personable input to the table. the chef, joanita, serves food that will rival anything you've ever consumed before, you will never find yourself thinking 'that was alright'. first rate food. the ever growing number of cats and dogs, all of which possess lovable temperaments, will encapsulate even the most staunchest person with no interest in animals. whether your on a family holiday, a professional visit or a backpacker, casa susegad will offer you something. it truly is a home from home for me and i shall be taking the reigns from carole and norman when they step down

Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank thomas_swingler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

My sister and I recently stayed in Casa Susegard and I couldn't fault it at all. It was like a dream!

We were met at the airport by Ramdas' smiling face and half an hour later rolled up to the beautiful house - where Felicidade showed us our room. All of the staff really make sure your stay is amazing - and it is the little things they do that really make a difference. The other reviews reflect how caring Carole and Norman are - they have found the right balance of getting involved, suggesting activities and spending time with you, without being interfering; a hard balance to strike which they did perfectly. But it is not only them that truly made our stay - all of the staff are part of a big family and there is no better word to describe the welcoming atmosphere! And on top of that, all of this is experienced in the most serene setting; gorgeous swimming pool and gardens that just make you want to explore! Walking up the stairs in the garden behind the pool you pass the yoga carousel, the "lovers" bed and statues hiding amongst the greenery, there are various look out spots that look on the house below, a waterfall and then you reach the massage room - where I had the most amazing massage!! We also did Yoga in the morning, everyone got involved, and it was the same at dinner time - everyone ate together...tasty indian three course meals cooked by Juanita and her team! We spent a bit of time walking in the surrounding area and to the village - we went for a walk in the jungle behind the house and saw an amazing church and the village is really interesting to walk around. Anywhere we wanted to go Carole and Norman would give us good advice on what was there, and arrange for Ramdas to take us - it was so easy to organise - we went to a spice plantation (and got sprayed by an elephant!), Palolem and Patnem and Majorda is only half hour away.

I spent my birthday at Casa Susgard and I really felt special - both my sister and I couldn't believe how perfect the place was - and we were pleasantly surprised by the bill at the end - for the 5* experience it was definitely a bargain! I have great memories and hope to return sometime soon!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Previous reviews say it all. This was our first visit to India and we were not disappointed. We stayed for a full two weeks and met so many lovely and interesting guests, which made us feel part of Norman and Carole's big extended family. We loved the location, accommodation, gardens and viewing ares, inviting pool and sun beds with massive sunshades. A memorable experience is to sit with a G and T at the top of the jungle garden, accompanied by Basil the dog and his friends (and the occasional monkey above) to watch the glorious sunset. All of the staff are amazingly friendly and hospitable, with a special mention of Joanita and her exceptional food. I even had the pleasure of helping her and her team in the kitchen.
In Casa Susegad's taxi driver Ramdas' capable hands, we visited lovely palm tree fringed beaches, villages, markets and even Betty's boat trip that is well worth a mention; so much more to do in this wonderful part of India.
Carole and Norman can be justifiably be proud of this sensational oasis in our busy world, that they have created.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 911andyfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

As with all the others reviews on here about Casa Susegad, it really is not difficult to find a multitude of good things to say about Carole and Norm and their beautiful home. We arrived at Margaon station on the overnight train from Mumbai and were picked up by lovely Ramdas the driver - a short car jouney and we were soon sat outside our room on our own little terrace having tea and lunch. The local surrounding village is very nice but as we were knackered from our train journey and with very little sleep we spent our 2 days at CS doing very little other than lazing by the lovely pool and eating! The food is out of this world. Dining by candlelight with nothing but the sounds of the toads in their pond for company. A particular mention needs to be said about the smoked mackerel pate which C&N made from mackerel that they smokes themselves - it was a particular fave for me and my boyfriend. Carole and Norm are the perfect hosts - never imposing but always on hand if you want to ask anything about anything. Would recommend in an instant and seriously hope to return one day. Oh yes and one more thing for any football fans - the guests lounge has Sky Sports so we were pleased about that! (Be warned though Norm is a Spurs fan............!)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claxum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Norman, Carole and the staff make this a really gorgeous stay - added to which the house and setting are beautiful. Was worried about distance from beach - but a 20-30 min drive through lovely countryside got us there and gave a taste of village/town life which you miss if only on or near the beach. Majorda beach was great - a handful of good shacks, gorgeous clean beach and sea and quiet. Visited Patnam and Palolem, but returned very happy with our choice of location and accomodation. Lots to do in and around the Casa Susegad: fishing was obviously a real treat. Had an excellent yoga session and very good massage. Would return in a flash.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loutolim
5.3 mi away
Beleza...by the beach
Beleza...by the beach
#2 of 5 in Betalbatim
818 reviews
10.1 mi away
Casa Menezes
Casa Menezes
#1 of 6 in Goa Velha
88 reviews
4.8 mi away
Neemrana's Arco Iris Noble Home
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Siolim House
Siolim House
#1 of 9 in Siolim
238 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Casa Susegad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Susegad

Address: House No. 589, Orgao, Loutolim 403718, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Loutolim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Loutolim
Price Range: $119 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Casa Susegad 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imaginatively restored colonial mansion house only 20 minutes drive from beaches, with all of the friendliness and charm of a rural village setting. Set in one and a half acres of beautiful grounds we are surrounded by forest and jungle in what is often described as Goa's most beautiful village. Enjoy being pampered, well fed and thoroughly spoiled and find your own meaning for Susegad. Car and driver arranged on request; spa therapies, snooker, home theatre, local walking maps, wi-fi and yoga available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Susegad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Susegad Hotel Loutolim
Casa Susegad Goa/Loutolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing