We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, ok food”
Review of Home Restaurant

Home Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 10 Restaurants in Sorrento
Price range: $10 - $15
Restaurant details
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Great view, ok food”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We were staying in the nearby motel, so headed over for breakfast. The view of the lake was fantastic, the food was average but came in huge portions. The service was average as well. Worth checking out!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ddpomrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    25
    9
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast with a beautiful view”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Great place for breakfast. Healthy portions and the breakfast exceeded my expectations for a small town. Eggs were cooked to perfection and the restaurant provides an amazing view of the shuswap lake and copper island.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MVR154913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Food, well priced”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This diner has good, homemade fries and a nice view of the lake. Service is fast and a good place to have lunch.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jimmI43GI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
519 reviews
437 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Is this place in the same chain as other Home Restaurants?”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

What happened? I've repeatedly enjoyed the phenomenal chopped steak breakfast at the Salmon Arm location and when I ordered the same in Sorrento, I got a completely different and far inferior meal! The steak was much smaller in dimension albeit thicker but was a far cry from the Salmon Arm one. It was inordinately fatty, greasy, and borderline inedible. The surface of the shredded potatoes were barely golden while any interior taters were raw. Not just undercooked, but totally raw. The sourdough bread sure tasted like basic white to me and was burnt to a crisp. Even the coffee tasted much more acrid than Salmon Arm and had a strange almost medicinal herbal aftertaste. Very strange!

You would never think that this restaurant is in the same organization as the Salmon Arm location. I've had Big Macs on four continents and they all taste absolutely identical which is what the customer is looking for in a chain. That consistency is a lesson Home Restaurants would be well advised to learn!

I would have rated it much lower if it were not for the fact that it has an absolutely astounding view of the lake and Copper Island (originally Capri before the locals bastardized the name... Sorrento, Capri, get it?). The view is definitely worth visiting the restaurant but I'd beware about ordering anything that you actually want to eat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank metaungulate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Stopped at the Home Restaurant in Sorrento and it never disappoints. Always always good service and great food. You just can't go wrong eating here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jaxxy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Home Restaurant also viewed

Sorrento, British Columbia
Salmon Arm, British Columbia
 
Sorrento, British Columbia
Blind Bay, British Columbia
 

Been to Home Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing