We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a real find !”
Review of Hotel Burgevin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Burgevin
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sully-sur-Loire
Certificate of Excellence
North Ferriby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“a real find !”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

If you're looking for a hotel anywhere in this area, please, do yourself a favour, and don't look anywhere else - this hotel is fantastic - spotlessly clean, it looks like it's brand new, but is around 150 years old, and still in the same family ! The decor is extremely tasteful and modern, without being over the top, it has a good car park at the rear of the hotel, with small, very well tended garden. The manager (I think), was extremely helpful and friendly, and English, and took us directly to our large, well equipped, and very comfortable room (room 20).
There are a number of restaurants and cafe's within a couple of minutes walk, as is the village centre, but I strongly urge you not to go to the pizzeria next to the bridge - awful.
We will definitely stay there again, when we are in the area, and would even go a fair way out of our way to do so - it really is that good

Room Tip: we were taken to view our room before deciding on it - a nice gesture, but no risk when the rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark2856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    45
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
112
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We arrived in Sully quite late and had no problems at all in finding the Hotel which is very well located close to the Chateau.We were greeted by what is assume were the owners who were really friendly in a genuine sort of way as opposed to the American "Have a nice day" sort of welcome.
The hotel has very secure parking and is very well presented The room was very nice and the bathroom was as good as any I have encountered.There are tea/coffee making facilities in the room and the air conditioning works very well .We had a drink in the small bar which is a very nice, comfortable and quiet place. Every contact we had with the owner and staff was a very pleasent experience I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinjoecurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Worth every penny. Our room was brilliant, clean and with a brilliant large bathroom, very comfortable. The gentleman who received us, who i assumed was the owner was lovely, and gave us a complimentary drink of our choice, as our room was a little late being ready. Parking is free and so is Wifi. Close to the beautiful castle of Sully-sur-loire. Highly recommended! One shame is that there was no restaurant, as the restaurants in Sully aren't great! They would do very well with one im sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzannahruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uttoxeterstaffs
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Fabulous. Definitely worth a stay. A beautful and very modern room. We have high standards and this met them. On the same trip we stayed (for a second visit) at the equally lovely Diderot in Chinon. Another great stopover point on our journey to and from Spain.

Good points: free parking. Good local restaurant (Castle pub). Wonderful evening walk around the castle which is very close and beautiful.

Room - great. Very modern. Our girls moaned about sharing a double bed in the family room and said it was too hot because the air-con unit was in our half of the junior suite - but then teenagers need something to moan about don't they? We were able to close the door on them! Hurrah.

The temperature on our side of the door was perfect.

Great walk in shower. Lovely modern bathroom. Exactly to my taste.

Good wi-fi mollified teens somewhat. We will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank uttoxeterstaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have stayed at the burgevin on business several times. The hotel is exceptionally clean and comfortable. The rooms are excellent, high quality finish , towels very luxurious, beds very comfortable and showers excellent. Room and especially bathrooms very spacious. reception very welcoming, english speaking, bar with a wide range of spirits and wines. The only reason why the score is 4 not 5 is that I found the breakfast a bit too simple, the fruit looked a bit past it's sell by and there's no toaster so toast wasn't an option. For those used ot a continental breakfast I'm sure it was more than adequate but an omlette or scrambled egg on toast would have been nice or some peeled fruit, fruit yoghurts instead of just natual etc. Just a little more choice. There was a kettle so a cup of tea was able to be made. In fairness I asked for egg and got a boiled egg
and maybe if I'd asked for an omlette it would have been done. Overall I'd recommend a stay here, it's a cut above a lot of the big name hotels.

Room Tip: Even the rooms on the road are lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel has been refurbished to a very high standard – the spacious air-conditioned bedrooms are extremely attractive and well equipped, and the public rooms are modern and elegant. The owners are particularly friendly and helpful. There are some downsides to the hotel, but they are beyond its control. The location is not particularly pleasant, and Sully (despite its impressive chateau) is a slightly dowdy town, not as well served as some of the regions more touristy spots when it comes to inviting shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CambridgeSarahBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I normally have much to say in a review, but for this lovely small family hotel it has all been said before!

We cannot agree more with previous reviews; right from the owners and their welcome and friendliness, the young English man on reception (who we guess is the son-in-law) who was a great help when booking, the lovely ambiance of the place, the secure parking, the location, the lovely rooms, the high standard and quality everything was just lovely. We only had an over-night stay but could happily have stayed longer. We had only arrived a few moments when the owner disappeared over the road to a good local restaurant to see if he could get us a booking for the evening, sadly it was fully booked.

I would guess many guests en-route further south use this hotel time and time again, I certainly would.

Room Tip: We booked a double superior room, had big bed and walk in shower. Room 20 on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JazzJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sully-sur-Loire
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Closeraie
Hotel La Closeraie
#2 of 4 in Sully-sur-Loire
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Henri IV
Hotel Henri IV
#3 of 4 in Sully-sur-Loire
58 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostellerie du Chateau
Hostellerie du Chateau
#4 of 4 in Sully-sur-Loire
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Empreinte Hotel
Empreinte Hotel
#1 of 31 in Orleans
380 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hotel Le Rivage
Hotel Le Rivage
#1 of 5 in Gien
125 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel La Capitainerie
Hotel La Capitainerie
#2 of 2 in Chateauneuf-sur-Loire
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burgevin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burgevin

Property: Hotel Burgevin
Address: 11 rue du Faubourg Saint Germain, 45600 Sully-sur-Loire, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Sully-sur-Loire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sully-sur-Loire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Burgevin 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'HOTEL BURGEVIN has been completely renovated.The Hotel in composed of 16 air conditioned roomsincluding 1 room with access for people with reduced mobility.Bedding 160x200 or 180x200, Flat screen LED TV, TNT -Canal + -Canal Satellite, office desk, mini bar, telephone, internet access (WIFI), safe.Bath room with shower 100x100 or shower and bathtub.Business centre.Secured entrance and parking, video surveillance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Hotel Burgevin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing