We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service and Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Byram
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Byram
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Last weekend I spent two days as a guest in the Bates Hotel called “Holiday Inn Express”. I am a Priority Club member with Holiday Inn Express so I have high expectations for my choice. The service at the front desk was horrible. The toilet over filled and the desk refused to bring a plunger. “You’ll have to do that yourself, I’m busy”. When I shared my concerns at the desk I was treated with disrespect and lack of service. The rooms were halfway cleaned. I will NEVER AGAIN stay at this Holiday Inn Express. I would recommend the COMFORT INN on the other side of the interstate.

Room Tip: Keep driving!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 987DanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Byram, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear 987DanB,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Member and writing feedback about your stay. It is very unfortunate that we were not able to meet your expectations on this day due to the level of service received from our staff. Your feedback will be addressed with them accordingly to ensure incidents like this do not happen again in the future.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 68 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

Comfortable bed.. great staff... everything as it should be.. well managed. Special Kuodos to the lady that runs the breakfast, very well done at keeping everything clean, stocked, and fresh. Internet service was good... this is why I use HI Express

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This hotel was nice, but had an odd odor in our room. It wasn't just in our rooms, it was in the hallways and lobby too. The pool is indoors and clean, but indoors so everything echoes. The continental breakfast was good.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank Erica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Byram, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Erica H ,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our property. We strive to provide the best possible experience and it is great to read from our guests on how we are doing. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us monitor and improve the quality of our product and services we offer our guests.

Again, thank you for the feedback and our apologies for the shortcomings. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel was JUST ok for a quick overnight stay. When entered room, there was a horrible stench in the room. The front desk person happened to be accompanying us because our keys were not working. She indicated that the housekeeping people do not turn on the air conditioning when they are cleaning the rooms which leaves the small rooms smelling like a dirty gym.

I decided to just stay here because I would only be staying one night in this hotel. I don't know if I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kmari78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Byram, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Kmari78,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our apologies for the unusual smell of the room accommodations you received that fell below your expectations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Daytime staff is very helpful, nighttime front desk attendant leaves much to be desired. Unpleasant, rude, condescending, and acts as if working in the hospitality service is beneath her. Twice I called with simple requests and was given smart a$$ responses.

The rooms were very clean, and the bed was super comfy. Unfortunately at no fault of the hotel, it is located about 2 miles from a dog food plant. The smell is atrocious and nauseating. It's very difficult to get a good night's rest when it smells as if you're sleeping in horse stables. I won't be staying again because of that alone.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cojo31812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Byram, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear cojo31812,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I am very glad that you found the bed to be super comfortable and the rooms very clean. I humbly extend an apology for the unsatisfactory service you received from the night staff. In addition, I am sorry you were negatively affected by the smell. Please be assured that all your comments are being reviewed by the management and actions will be taken accordingly. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This Holiday Inn is brand new, very nice good central location just south of Jackson, MS... only complaint was the smell coming off the freeway, come to find out there is a Dog food processing plant near by and was disgusting, however it never quite made it to the hotel, but we chose not to eat near by we went into Jackson.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saige50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The Hotel was decent, my room wasn't even cleaned. I had to remove the last guests' bar of soap from the shower. There was fast food trash on the desk - really?? How does the cleaning crew miss that? The last guests' door keys were left by the tv. The woman at the front desk when I checked in was less than friendly. My dog has a way better personality. The woman the next morning when I mentioned everything I found wrong with the room could have cared less.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Byram, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Jeff C,

We greatly appreciate your feedback of our property. We deeply apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the poor housekeeping service and level of staff service during your stay. Please be assured that we treat this matter seriously and actions will be taken by the team accordingly. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Byram
0.3 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Byram
0.3 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Jackson South
8.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Byram/Jackson South
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Richland
Hampton Inn Richland
#1 of 5 in Richland
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Byram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Byram

Address: 5569 I 55 S, Byram, MS 39272-9799
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Byram
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Byram
Price Range: $85 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Byram 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Byram, a hotel in Byram, MS, is a brand new hotel and perfect for the business or leisure guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Byram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Byram

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing