We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, spoilt at the end”

Hostellerie Saint Martin
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Creully
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $64
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good food, spoilt at the end”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

The restaurant serves quality Normandy food, with the snails a particular highlight. However at the end of the night one of the staff ordered us a taxi flr the 5 minute drive to our hotel, and allowed us to leave in it, without mentioning that the cab had run up a 25 euro tab driving to the restaurant. Upon arrival at our hotel we were outraged to be presented with an extortionate bill, which we refused to pay. It was disgraceful, not to mention unfair to the driver, that the restaurant staff failed to make the charges clear to any of us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RotherhitheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
legrandnormandie, Responsable relations clients at Hostellerie Saint Martin, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Firstly, we are unfortunately not a taxi agency.
I'm really confused about the misunderstanding, but the taxi of creully explained you before coming to the restaurant, it would be difficult to find a taxi, and that may be expensive, then when the waitress served you, you ask a taxi, she phoned several taxi agency to find a taxi, creully, courseulles, and then bayeux, it seems to me she said to you that could cost expensive.
So it's not our fault if you pay an expensive taxi.
Regards
Legrand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    72
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Spent an evening here last october with family who live close by. The food was so tasty and what you hope to have when you dine out in France (which is not always the case!) There was a couple of different menus, all very reasonably priced. The waiter who looked after us couldnt have been more helpful or friendly in a very low key way. Also the restaurant itself is beautiful with its vaulted ceilings and quirky pieces. Would love to return there if I get a chance again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Row3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“creully”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

cruelly is a very picturesque town with its hotel in the middle.
stayed here 2 times, in the restaurant i ordered snails as a starter and was astounded when it arrived as a pie. it was amazing and washed down some calvados.
truly scrumptious.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wayham2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woerden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Normally we never eat in a hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

But we drove by and saw the restaurant. Then we just made a reservation for that night. And we weren't dissapointed after all! It's a very nice restaurant in a beautiful village Creully (with a little castle).

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marnix_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere in old Normandie stone vaulted building.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

A superb restaurant with extensive menu of Normandie classics and a great wine cellar, stone statues watch over you as you choose your delights, some of them quite comical, the gated wine cellar adds a superiority to the surroundings. Delicious food served by attentive staff - never had a bad meal in 20 years - the fish soup and its accompaniments are great, the seafood platter starter is good for seafood lovers but be warned if your party has to watch you devour the plate its takes over an hour to do justice to it all. Main courses are varied and all good, desserts finish off superbly your lunch or dinner - if you feel it was all too much they do have a Hotel where you can sleep off all excesses and carry on your schedule next day but for those with a programme take the trip to St. Gabriel de Brecy and visit the chateau, which is quite small in comparison with Loire Chateaux but well worth the experience of feeling that your 7€ has bought you a place of standing even for the two hours you may pass here to walk off that succulent meal.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NormandieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hostellerie Saint Martin also viewed

Courseulles-sur-Mer, Calvados
 
Asnelles, Calvados
 
Courseulles-sur-Mer, Calvados
Courseulles-sur-Mer, Calvados
 

Been to Hostellerie Saint Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing