We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very special and nice stay at Normandie!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau du Baffy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau du Baffy
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Creully
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very special and nice stay at Normandie!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

This Chateau is very special, charming and calm.
It stays in a very nice place, with a lot of nature at the meaddle of a very old, small and picturesque medieval city.
It's also very close to the beaches and others cities with all things about II War.
If you're looking for a luxury chateau it's not what you're gonna find. But its ok according to the price.
Chateau is a little old, but that can be charming.
It's not that easy to find. You're really gonna need a car and a GPS. But it's perfect if you want to visit beaches and smalls cities in Normandie.
Staff's very kind.
Internet not free.
Beakfast is good.
I really want to come back!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dri_turista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    38
    16
    9
    15
See reviews for
17
23
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Three of us stayed here in August 2012 to break our journey, as we were travelling further south.
I had read that the chateau was used mainly for school trips, so wasn't sure what to expect.
I was very pleased with our stay, yes the staff were all English and the waitresses were young and unexperienced but everyone was very helpful and we had some great conversations with the waitresses, they made a fuss of our 5 yr old, which he loved!!
There wasn't much choice for our evening meal but that is understandable, the chateau was quiet so you can't expect there to be a huge menu. We really enjoyed the food, it was typically French and very filling. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of French breads, brioches, croissants which was lovely.
Our room was a big double bed and one single bed, with our own bathroom, it was a very big room with a lovely view of the garden, I found the beds very comfy and had a great sleep.
The chateau was perfect for our stopover and if needs be I would book again

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jlynchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed at the Chateau for a couple of nights this autumn.
Lovely peaceful setting, lovely grounds. Rooms basic but clean. Lots of French charm and very convenient to visit the landing beaches of WW2, Bayeaux, Caen. Paris is possible for the day by the TGV.
Staff really helpful, food good and good value for money.
Great location for Normandy visits.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annb3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were a family of 4 visiting Normandy, and Chateau du Baffy was recommended to us by friends who had stayed there before. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived there because the chateau is really impressive. Though admittedly 'tired' as another reviewer said, the rooms were clean and perfectly adequate. The chateau was lovely, the grounds were very pretty and the food was of a very good quality and you had a good choice. We all found the staff friendly ( all English speaking ) and they went out of their way to be helpful. Given that it is not an expensive place to stay, but in a great location to see all the Normandy sights, we felt we had fantastic value for money.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Chateau to others travelling to Normandy - the review that says 'a hint of French elegance at a bargain price' describes it perfectly.

Room Tip: Our room looked out to the front which was lovely. Not sure if all the rooms do or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed at the chateau with a group in September. The building is well cared for, clean and in a glorious position. Food was excellent and plentiful with lots of variety. Perfect base for exploring this delightful part of France

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stop here a few times a year as it is a perfect base for travels around the famous D Day beaches of the north west coastline. Just half an hour drive off the boat from Caen, when I don't get lost! But hidden away from the world is part of the charm of this place. Bedrooms are basic, but warm and comfy, have fairly modern en-suite facilities and always clean. You get the true Chateau feel from the grand ground floor rooms and the lovely grounds. Yes, school groups do stay here and I think it's great they get to experience a truely French premises rather than some boring box of a chain hotel someplace. But they usually go off site for the day, or keep to their own classroom and sports court and usually eat in a separate restaurant or at different times to adults, so never really a bother. The staff can be a bit casual, but always around on-hand to help out and friendly, which just adds to the relaxed feel of the place. Breakfast is plain and simple, but varied and help yourself, so I never go hungry when I stay here. And dinner is always a culinary pleasure. I always feel very welcome here, so I always go back when I am over this way, because I genuinely don't think I will find such a lovely place to stay for such good value anywhere else in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amie_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Just come back from our school trip and thought I would give some feedback. The building was great, views were awesome and lots of outside space. The cleaners were fab as cleaning up after all us us must have been a task. The biggest let down was the food. Our teachers had different food to us so they may have had nice food but ours were disgusting. Served by a very rude waitress from Manchester ( staff being rude mentioned in another review). Hardly ate all week, I had coffee for breakfast and bread for dinner ( no butter as they did not serve butter). All packed lunches were clearly made up of very poor quality food so only ever eaten if we couldnt buy anything while out. Waiting staff there should note that we are your future customers and oops we can write on tripadviser!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Honestyatitsbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandAnderson, Manager at Chateau du Baffy, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. Due to the comments on the food in several reviews, we are now revising our menus, looking for guest suggestions and collating specific feedback, to produce a new menu for next season.

We always encourage our guests to feedback directly when at the Chateau, so that if they are dissatisfied during their stay, we are able to directly address issues and to see if there is anything that can be done to improve things. We are committed to improving the service that we provide and I hope that our actions reassure you of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Creully
0.0 mi away
Ferme de la Ranconniere
0.0 mi away
St. Martin Hotel
St. Martin Hotel
#1 of 2 in Creully
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camping Les 3 Rivieres
Camping Les 3 Rivieres
#1 of 1 in Creully
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau du Baffy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau du Baffy

Property: Chateau du Baffy
Address: Le Bourg, 14480 Creully, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Creully
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Creully
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Château du Baffy lies on the edge of the small village of Colombiers, situated between Caen and Bayeux, just 6km or so from the seaside resort of Courseulles. Guests will enjoy the best of both worlds combining a stay in the beautiful Normandy countryside with superb beaches close to hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chateau du Baffy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Du Baffy Hotel Creully
Chateau Du Baffy Creully

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing