We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stopover choice on our long journey”
Review of Chateau du Baffy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chateau du Baffy
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Creully
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent stopover choice on our long journey”
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Three of us stayed here in August 2012 to break our journey, as we were travelling further south.
I had read that the chateau was used mainly for school trips, so wasn't sure what to expect.
I was very pleased with our stay, yes the staff were all English and the waitresses were young and unexperienced but everyone was very helpful and we had some great conversations with the waitresses, they made a fuss of our 5 yr old, which he loved!!
There wasn't much choice for our evening meal but that is understandable, the chateau was quiet so you can't expect there to be a huge menu. We really enjoyed the food, it was typically French and very filling. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of French breads, brioches, croissants which was lovely.
Our room was a big double bed and one single bed, with our own bathroom, it was a very big room with a lovely view of the garden, I found the beds very comfy and had a great sleep.
The chateau was perfect for our stopover and if needs be I would book again

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jlynchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    39
    16
    9
    15
See reviews for
18
23
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed at the Chateau for a couple of nights this autumn.
Lovely peaceful setting, lovely grounds. Rooms basic but clean. Lots of French charm and very convenient to visit the landing beaches of WW2, Bayeaux, Caen. Paris is possible for the day by the TGV.
Staff really helpful, food good and good value for money.
Great location for Normandy visits.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annb3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were a family of 4 visiting Normandy, and Chateau du Baffy was recommended to us by friends who had stayed there before. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived there because the chateau is really impressive. Though admittedly 'tired' as another reviewer said, the rooms were clean and perfectly adequate. The chateau was lovely, the grounds were very pretty and the food was of a very good quality and you had a good choice. We all found the staff friendly ( all English speaking ) and they went out of their way to be helpful. Given that it is not an expensive place to stay, but in a great location to see all the Normandy sights, we felt we had fantastic value for money.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Chateau to others travelling to Normandy - the review that says 'a hint of French elegance at a bargain price' describes it perfectly.

Room Tip: Our room looked out to the front which was lovely. Not sure if all the rooms do or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed at the chateau with a group in September. The building is well cared for, clean and in a glorious position. Food was excellent and plentiful with lots of variety. Perfect base for exploring this delightful part of France

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stop here a few times a year as it is a perfect base for travels around the famous D Day beaches of the north west coastline. Just half an hour drive off the boat from Caen, when I don't get lost! But hidden away from the world is part of the charm of this place. Bedrooms are basic, but warm and comfy, have fairly modern en-suite facilities and always clean. You get the true Chateau feel from the grand ground floor rooms and the lovely grounds. Yes, school groups do stay here and I think it's great they get to experience a truely French premises rather than some boring box of a chain hotel someplace. But they usually go off site for the day, or keep to their own classroom and sports court and usually eat in a separate restaurant or at different times to adults, so never really a bother. The staff can be a bit casual, but always around on-hand to help out and friendly, which just adds to the relaxed feel of the place. Breakfast is plain and simple, but varied and help yourself, so I never go hungry when I stay here. And dinner is always a culinary pleasure. I always feel very welcome here, so I always go back when I am over this way, because I genuinely don't think I will find such a lovely place to stay for such good value anywhere else in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amie_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Just come back from our school trip and thought I would give some feedback. The building was great, views were awesome and lots of outside space. The cleaners were fab as cleaning up after all us us must have been a task. The biggest let down was the food. Our teachers had different food to us so they may have had nice food but ours were disgusting. Served by a very rude waitress from Manchester ( staff being rude mentioned in another review). Hardly ate all week, I had coffee for breakfast and bread for dinner ( no butter as they did not serve butter). All packed lunches were clearly made up of very poor quality food so only ever eaten if we couldnt buy anything while out. Waiting staff there should note that we are your future customers and oops we can write on tripadviser!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Honestyatitsbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandAnderson, Manager at Chateau du Baffy, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. Due to the comments on the food in several reviews, we are now revising our menus, looking for guest suggestions and collating specific feedback, to produce a new menu for next season.

We always encourage our guests to feedback directly when at the Chateau, so that if they are dissatisfied during their stay, we are able to directly address issues and to see if there is anything that can be done to improve things. We are committed to improving the service that we provide and I hope that our actions reassure you of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed at the Chateau du Baffy in September for a number of nights. This is a breathtakingly beautiful building set in delightful, secluded grounds. Yes, the bedrooms are a little tired, but they are en-suite and comfortable, with superb, full height, opening windows which flood the rooms with light. The dining room and lounge are truly magnificent rooms! Sadly, some repair work was being undertaken in the dining room during my stay, but this did not cause any inconvenience. The food was of a good standard. True, the Chateau is not a five star hotel but it does not claim to be and it does provide that taste of elegant French living at a bargain price!
The Chateau does cater for school parties but during my stay a large party was accommodated in a separate building (which I understand is normal practice) and was hardly noticeable in the Chateau itself.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverf0x16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Creully
0.0 mi away
Kyriad A Disneyland Paris
Kyriad A Disneyland Paris
#6 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
3,548 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Martin Hotel
St. Martin Hotel
#1 of 2 in Creully
76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camping Les 3 Rivieres
Camping Les 3 Rivieres
#1 of 1 in Creully
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau du Baffy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau du Baffy

Property: Chateau du Baffy
Address: Le Bourg, 14480 Creully, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Creully
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Creully
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Château du Baffy lies on the edge of the small village of Colombiers, situated between Caen and Bayeux, just 6km or so from the seaside resort of Courseulles. Guests will enjoy the best of both worlds combining a stay in the beautiful Normandy countryside with superb beaches close to hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Chateau du Baffy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Du Baffy Hotel Creully
Chateau Du Baffy Creully

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing