We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”
Review of St. Martin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St. Martin Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Creully
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel during a weekend visit to Normandy just before Christmas 2012.
The hotel building is amazing, just look at the pictures!
The bedroom was comfortable, well furnished and warm. The bathroom was clean.
The evening meal was of a very high standard as was the wine on offer. French locals told us this hotel is famous throughout Calvados for its cuisine - they were not wrong! Breakfast was simple (cereal, yoghurt, fruit, croissants etc) with fruit juice and coffee (and they had decaff!). The staff were helpful and friendly and the overall cost very reasonable. The Christmas decorations in Creully were stunning which was an added bonus as was the friendly tabby that seemed to be sitting just outside the hotel entrance whenever we went in and out. We would recommend this hotel to you - it was a great experience!

Room Tip: All rooms are double glazed so even the rooms overlooking the road are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieS1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 79 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were calling into Bayeux before moving on, and we had stayed in the past at the Logis in Crepon, but this caught our eye, and we stayed overnight.
Cruelly is a small, pretty, typical Normandy village, easy access to the coast, and Bayeux, and the Hostellerie St Martin was the old market hall, but now an excellent hotel.
The rooms are small, which is no surprise, with the bathroom even smaller, but it is clean and comfortable, and fully meets an overnight stay.
The dining experience I can only comment as excellent, a considerable and wide ranging choice,which should meet all tastes..
There is an extensive range of wines, but are expensive, so a class maybe the better option.
English is spoken which clearly helps is certain cases. We were there on a Monday night, and the dinning room was practically full, in a hotel with only eight rooms. Clearly popular with local residents.
The breakfast was very poor, one of the least of choices we can recall in all our visits to France.
However it would not stop us using St Martin again, and I certainly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clementMonmouthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

This is not a review for the hotel itself, but for the hotel's restaurant.

We were staying at Ferme de la Rançonnière in nearby Crepon, and passed by the St. Martin Hotel on a trip into Creully to go to the local grocery store. Looking at their menu, we decided to eat there for dinner that evening after a trip to Mont St. Michel. What a wonderful choice we made!

The owners of the hotel are twin brothers that not only seated us, but took our orders and served our meals. They speak perfect English, and took the time to sit and chat with us like were long lost friends.

The food in their restaurant was amazing. The appetizers of local oysters and another of prosciutto were extraordinary. The main courses of salmon, pork and steak served with fresh vegetables, and potatoes were amazing. The wine cellar is extensive and reasonably priced and the brothers took the time to go over some choices of local vintages and make superb recommendations of wine to go with our meals and apéritifs after we had finished. We ended up going back there the next night for dinner as our final meal in France.

C'est Manifique!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We only stayed for one night due to the close proximity to the ferry port at Oustreham (about 30minutes drive) but really wish we could have stayed longer. The room was small but clean and tidy. The hotel and restaurant is owned and run by two brothers who speak perfect English. We had a set meal from the restaurant 3 courses for around €13.00 which was delicious .This really was an enjoyable place to stay ,just having a beer outside the hotel on a warm summers evening in Cruelly is something I remember for a very long time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joakki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We enjoyed a very pleasant stay here. The room was enormous and very comfortable. The service was excellent. We had dinner there and enjoyed an excellent meal with good wine. Breakfast was good too and all in all this was a very good place to stay and excellent value, particularly considering its proximity to the D-Day beaches.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grannywalescc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We had a very pleasant stay in this old hotel which is an excellent base for this part of Normandy. The room was a decent size, clean and although a little basic was nicely decorated. The en-suite was clean and had a decent shower above the bath. The breakfast was typical continental and fine and all the staff were very helpful. We used the beautiful restaurant each night and the menu was vary varied and beautiful food at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staffsmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2008

This lovely hotel is a part of the Logis de France concept. Situated just a couple of minutes (10-20) outside Bayeux it makes a perfect starting point for excursions in the neighbourhood.

The rooms are very nice with a personal touch. The building is old with narrow stairs to the top floors making big bags a bit of a problem, but the rooms are worth the trouble. The hotel is clean and has a privat parking area for approx 5-6 cars. The castle of Creully is situated right behind the hotel and has an other parking area with free parking. There is a small supermarket next to the hotel.

Being a part of Logis de France the hotel provides an excellent dinner restaurant with good value menues!

The breakfast is a small (really small) Frence-style breakfast with 2 pieces of white bread, tea or coffé and a jam.

I liked the hotels:
* Dinner restaurant
* Situation
* Helpfull staff
* The price

I disliked:
* No shower curtain in the shower
* The small breakfast
* The early latest check in (1800) if not other arranged

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank dgjohansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Creully
1.8 mi away
Domaine de la Ranconniere et de Mathan
1.3 mi away
Chateau du Baffy
Chateau du Baffy
#2 of 2 in Creully
107 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#2 of 2 in Courseulles-sur-Mer
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Le Mulberry
Le Mulberry
#3 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
192 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Bayeux
Ibis Budget Bayeux
#1 of 1 in Nonant
703 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel La Rosiere
Hotel La Rosiere
#2 of 2 in Tracy-sur-Mer
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Martin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Martin Hotel

Address: 6 Place Edmond Paillaud, 14480 Creully, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Creully
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Creully
Price Range: $72 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Martin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of our 12 rooms offers all the comfort in the warm antique furniture decor. For information all our rooms are in the 1st or 2nd floor, and we have no lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your St. Martin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing